We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Arenal nayara is amazing. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSBs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,945
    241
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
489
2,345
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff. We forgot to mention in the reservation that we needed feather free bedding but they were able to accommodate the change. They asked us to wait an hour for them to prepare the room so we went to the restaurant for lunch. When we arrived at our room, we found out the reason it took so long to accommodate the change was because they had decorated our bed with flowers and towels in heart shapes and spelled love in petals. It was amazing to come into room and see. There was also a complimentary bottle of champagne with two glasses waiting for us.

The rooms were amazing. We were in a suite room with a porch that included a Jacuzzi, a table with two chairs, a hammock and two Adirondack type chairs with foot stools. From our porch, we had an amazing view of Arenal volcano. The view was breathtaking that we spent much time there. There were two showers--one indoor and one outdoor (private). The water pressure was strong and there were two different sink areas with mirrors to get ready.

The staff helped us select different excursions that met our needs and were a lot of fun. We were glad that we chose the excursions that we did. There was a phone that dialed directly to the states for free and free internet however we did not use them.

The food in the main restaurant was delicious. We were not disappointed at all. The sushi bar had amazing ceviches, especially the tuna. I wished I had asked for the recipe. The sushi itself was okay. I was told that the sauce on top of the salmon roll was supposed to be spicy and it was not at all. The rainbow roll was good but nothing special. Food was not included in the hotel room stay and we found the prices slightly high for sushi. Yet considering the fish was brought in from the coasts, it was not unreasonable.

We did not make it to the pool or spa during our stay so I can not rate them other than say the areas looked great. When we left, we were wishing we would have extended our stay there longer. The place was special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Wow.
We discovered Nayara on Trip Advisor when we typed in 'Costa Rica'. We were sold by the opening photo of the volcano when we clicked on to their website. We were then encouraged by the description of the hotel and facilities and others reviews.

We were not disappointed.

I won't bore you by repeating what others have said about the rooms (they are lovely and the outside shower is fun and the rooms are cleaned twice a day with attention to detail and a lot of care). I'll try to keep my review to what is not shown on the website.

Firstly, no one told us how lovely the people are in Costa Rica. The staff at the hotel were delightful. Not just polite and helpful, but friendly and fun. The people really were the icing on the cake for us.

We found the food at the restaurant to be excellent, and the wine was splendid too. Oooh...and the desserts...I don't even usually eat dessert but I ate it every night. We kept meaning to travel into the town to eat, but knew that we were guaranteed a good meal nearby, so stayed decidedly unadventurous, which is very unlike us. The sushi bar had great food too, so we really didn't need to travel far. Oh...and breakfast...don't get me started. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and Nayara provides a top class buffet breakfast. Choose from a variety of cereals, a huge variety of fruit, pastries, cookies and other baked goods, local fare of rice and beans and baked plantains, traditional western foods such as scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, bacon, juices, teas, coffees...my mouth is watering. All included in the price, so eat and be merry. I gained weight on this trip and i'm pretty sure most of it was gained at the breakfast table (with a spectacular view of the volcano when the clouds are absent, which they were for us on our last day - perfect).

What else can I say about the hotel? Oh...the wine bar! Cool - they give you a little card that you slot into the wall above a rack of wines. You then select a bottle of wine and your desired measure - a 'taste', a half glass, or a glass and your room is charged accordingly. It's a great way to sample numerous wines. I wish they had a bar like that in Chicago.

I suppose I should mention that I'm a saddo who set my alarm and got up early to go to the gym every day (well...I had to do something about all the food I was eating). I wandered to the gym and ran on one of two (always empty) treadmills. The gym is nicely equipped and in my experience, always empty. It has a couple of treadmills, a large weight machine (my boyfriend had no trouble using that) and a stationary bike and an elliptical. Perfectly adequate considering no one was ever there. Oh...and running on the treadmill, you are looking into lush jungle-type flora. Actually - the whole resort is set in stunning tropical gardens that add to the intimacy of the environment. Simply gorgeous. The spa is next door to the gym and is splendid. We went in for the couples massage, which consisted of an excellent full body massage, followed by a very thorough facial and then a milk jacuzzi (with fruit and a glass of ice-cold white wine provided - nice touch). Top class.

So what tips do I have? Simply these:
Eat at the restaurant and try the sushi bar too.
Go to the wine bar and sample some wines.
Go to the spa - you won't be disappointed.
Relax and enjoy.

As for tours:
The hanging bridges is something that should be done early in the day and definitely with a guide. We saw monkeys, a sloth, a tarantula, 2 snakes and numerous birds, most of which we would not have seen had our guide not pointed them out.

The volcano walk. Although you won't actually walk on the volcano itself (no one but officials and scientists can), it's worth it for the view. We saw a couple of toucans (again...the guide spotted them and we had a lovely clear picture looking through his telescope).

The Sky Trek. This is not a canopy zipline. This is not for the faint of heart. This is HIGH and long (the last zipline is 1/2 a mile long). It is absolutely worth doing. We had a couple in our group who were in their 80s. If they can do it, you can do it. Just check with your children...it really is high.

We had a wonderful time at Nayara and in Costa Rica in general. Tabacon may have hot springs, but it is huge compared with Nayara and so not as remote feeling and romantic and you can visit Tabacon without actually staying there - I would definitely go to Nayara again. I would just stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We had a suite. It had a full volcano view and was around the corner from the spa - pretty lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachaelAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Nayara for 3 nights the end of January and had a good time. It was our 3rd visit to the Arenal area, and although the volcano is dormant at this time, we still enjoyed the beauty of the region. There's plenty to do. Nayara is situated so that the rooms have good volcano views, and it's fun to sit on your private deck and watch the clouds go by hoping it will clear enough to see the volcano in its entirety. We would suggest that the rooms that are located a distance away from the main dining area and reception may be a better choice than the ones closer; ours was one of the latter, and we found it to be noisy. The rooms are attractive but a bit too dark for our liking. As for the food, it's good but not great. We went into La Fortuna one evening and dined at Don Ruffino's which came highly recommended in other trip advisor reviews. Frankly, we were disappointed, but we aren't sure we ordered the right things from their menu......maybe we should have gone back for a second dinner; however, we ran out of time. The staff at Nayara is very nice and helpful. Over the years, we have come to love the Arenal region, and if you have a car, driving around the lake with a stop at the German bakery, might be a fun side trip......the hike across all the suspension bridges was a definite highlight as well.....great exercise and interesting wildlife and birds along the way. If you do the raft trip on the Rio Penas, be sure to ask if the water is high enough; it wasn't when we did it, and the poor guide had to get out of the raft many times to steer it over the rocks. A better choice by far is the tour to Cano Negro; you are sure to have wonderful wildlife sightings and a fine selection of interesting birds. It's a favorite of ours! All in all, I would say we had a very good experience, and the friends we were traveling with really loved it; it was their first trip to Costa Rica. They also liked their spa treatments; we did not have those so cannot comment on them.

Room Tip: R ooms that are not close to the reception and dining areas.....they are too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Nayara while visiting some friends in Costa Rica. This place is wonderful. The room is spacious and nicely decorated. It has a large bathroom with indoor and outdoor showers. The porch has chairs (or hammocks) and a jacuzzi.

The staff was very friendly and always helpful. The pool area is comfortable and the swim up bar is great. The food in the restaurant was so good we never went into La Fortuna to eat. Try the Hanging Bridges Tour when you go.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lobby. Sometimes they have parrots that talk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JubileeBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.2 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
792 reviews
1.8 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,380 reviews
2.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,854 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,845 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,393 - ₹ 46,582
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing