We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Luna was WONDERFUL!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Casa Luna was WONDERFUL!!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I was overwhelmed by the number of hotels near Arenal National Park and was not sure where to stay. But I was VERY pleased with my choice to stay at Casa Luna.

The grounds were beautiful, with all the lush foilage on the property. Each room felt very secluded in the way they situated buildings on the property. The buildings consist of 4 separate rooms (but the rooms do not share walls, just floor/ceiling). We didn't notice much noise at all during our 2 nights there (and I am a light sleeper). Since the hotel is outside of downtown La Fortuna (a couple km south), there was not a lot of noise on the property from trucks or roads. This also allowed the birds to be more comfortable visiting the property, allowing it to be a very relaxing experience.

The rooms were very nicely decorated and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. I especially enjoyed the view of Arenal volcano when we woke up and the sounds of all the birds visiting the flowers. We were in building D and had an upper room, which provided better views than lower rooms.

The restaurant food was excellent, and priced very reasonably (for lunch and dinner). Breakfast selection was huge as well (multiple types of fruit, scrambled eggs, sliced meats and cheeses, bread, butter and jellies, cereal, juices, coffee, rice, and black beans). The wait staff were friendly and spoke some English, which helped when we had questions and didn't know the appropriate Spanish.

Reception staff were also very helpful, always friendly, and gave good recommendations for nearby activities and restaurants in town.

Although there was supposed to be Wifi in the rooms, the signal was not strong enough to use in the room. Sometimes it was strong enough on the balcony, but it was best in reception or the restaurant.

**And just an example of how they think about their guests...they provide a complimentary umbrella to use...just in case! We didn't need it, but it was nice to know there was one available to use.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Ms Melinda

Thank you Ms Melinda for taking the time to write such a great review about your recent experience with us. We at Casa Luna take our guests’ feedback very seriously. We are extremely happy that you had enjoyed our hotel and restaurant it was a real pleasure to serve you. Your comment is very much appreciated for us and other fellow travelers.
We are very pleased that you had a great time at our hotel and that our location was important for you.
Your comment motivate us to keep improving everyday. You are now part of our family.
Thank you again for your valued feedback, and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Valenciano
Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    414
    69
    15
    4
See reviews for
322
677
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice clean hotel with extremely friendly, cordial staff. Great views of Arenal volcano and beautiful grounds. Highly recommend using the spa.
Room for improvement:Better lighting in rooms and hair dryer in rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Samir

We appreciate your posted review and thank you for choosing Casa Luna on your last visit to the Arenal area. Please know that we take your candid comments very serious Now we are looking into options for change the lights of the rooms and in this year we will implement safes,hair dryer and irons in the rooms.
We strongly believe that by listening to our guests is the best way we can improve ourselves.
Thank you again for your valued feedback, and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Paul Valenciano
Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel property was incredibly beautiful. The buildings have a colonial structure with a slight Spanish touch. The room was clean with the basic amenities. The bed was confortable with fresh sheets every day. The breakfast was good. Tipical Costarican fare. The hotel is only a mile walk to the town of La Fortuna, where you can find many restaurantes and bars. The hotel is extremely quiet and filled with a lot of charm. The receptionist was very helpful in tour options, eventhough I had already plan my days in La Fortuna. The view of the vocano was amazing. The key to a great view will depend on the weather. Some days may be cloudy but for most of my trip the sun was coorperative. The hotel is also very close to the Ardenal Waterfalls. The pool was nice and the Spa is well worth the value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Mann Wynton

Thank you for that amazing comment. It truly inspires and motivate us to improve everyday. We have shared your comments with our staff and they are very happy to know what you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel as much as we enjoyed serving you. Best wishes with your travel business.
It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us, you are now part of our family and we would love to have you back.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

WOW!!! BE CAREFUL WHEN BOOKING! Booked a trip to costa rica's Casa Luna through groupon to have every number on the website out of service. I called costa rica directly to get the wrong email address 6 times. Two weeks later received a reply from someone (yay) to book for 2 months later (boo). We tried to work it out through email. No luck. No reply with legiimate answers. Called to cancel with groupon the same day and thankfully salvaged what we could on a last minute vacation to Southbeach's hotel Shelly and had a blast! Upon return I had received an email two days after we would have been in Costa Rica with the cancellation policy form to be signed and what forms to fill to book. Now the owner wants a copy of passport and a credit card to charge us full price...... can you say SCAM!!! Beyond frustrated

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Propietario at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We do not work directly with Groupon, the name of the agency is called Costa Rica Descents, we only provide hosting service, we are not directly affiliated with Groupon is not appropriate to say that you used the hotel when it is not true. We are dissappointed because we are not responsible for such situations. What would happen if you have a business and some agency do advertising of the hotel? who is responsible for advertising, agency or hotel?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The room was clean but the shampoo and conditioner were not replaced or refilled. We had to ask. The food (both breakfast and dinner) was great. We had a dinner twice there. The views are beautiful though the volcano view is not as good as you look at from the other side. The hotel is very close to the La Fortuna waterfall, which is a great place to visit. The staffs were very friendly and did their best to help. Yes, it was noisy but those were the nature sounds, which I liked but my wife didn’t. You can access WIFI from the pool, restaurant, and the reception. However, we could not connect them from our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Customer

Thank you for your excellent comment and we will take the necessary steps for give a excellent service to our guest. Compared with the shampoos and soaps we apologize greatly for this small and unusual error.
Thank you for the review of the restaurant, we are in a process of change in this area (staff, food, menu, service) and every day we improve even more to provide better service to our guest.
Thanks again for your comments and look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
6.1 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
6.0 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,145 - ₹ 14,187
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing