We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience and customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours

Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 68.98*
and up
Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Desafio Adventure Company is a family-owned and operated tour outfitter and considered Costa Rica's premier "one-stop-shop" for adventure travel. We offer high-quality rafting tours, canyoning, mountain biking, hiking, birdwatching, kayaking, stand up paddling, horse riding, transfer services, conservation programs, volunteer opportunities and much more. We have two rules at Desafio: 1) Be Safe and 2) Have Serious Fun! Look for us near the Arenal Volcano with centers of operation in Monteverde, Tenorio/Guanacaste, San Jose and Playa Samara! Let us take you to the land of raging, tropical rivers, active volcanoes, deep, jungle canyons and isolated beaches!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chino, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience and customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

All of our tours were booked through Desafio and I would highly recommend them. They have everything so well organized and the guides were all great. They were always on time and served meals with all of the tours we did with them. Guide were very informative and were determined for us to have fun on all of the tours. Great experience!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,554
    197
    47
    24
    28
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We did this tour with Desafio Tour company. You started off driving in the bed of a 4 wheel drive vehicle down a long dirt road until we reached what they called the canyon house. This is where we left all of our stuff while we were actually doing the rappelling. It was raining on the day that we did this tour so it was a bit cold. Depending on the weather I would bring a jacket which you can leave with your stuff so you don't get it wet. You will be rappelling down waterfalls and trekking through canyons and walking in water so make sure you wear clothing and shoes that you are ok getting soaking wet and walking in. We went in the dry season, so the water level was pretty low. Not sure what the waterfalls are like during he rainy season. For us it was mainly rappelling down rock walls and not so much waterfalls. It was still an amazing tour and a lot of tun. The tour ended with a long walk back up to the canyon house where lunch was served. There were restrooms and a place to change into dry clothes if you wanted. They had a camera man do the tour with us to snap pictures a long the way. You could purchase the CD at the end for $25. They got good pictures and the disk included 50 plus pictures so it was worth the price.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

These people are awesome! We bought a Groupon and it was the most amazing vacation ever! All the people were knowledgeable! The helped us plan our vacation! The canyoneering and the zipline were the experiences of a lifetime! I highly recommend this company if you go the Costa Rica!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ncblueeyz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic activities and trip planning services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

When we decided to visit Costa Rica I began researching ideas for things to do. All of the various activities/adventures offered by Desafio sounded fantastic and the 600 previous reviews on here speak for themselves.

What also caught my eye was the fact that Desafio offers travel planning services. Having only booked airfare at this point, I decided to give it a shot. Greg proposed an extremely thorough itinerary for all 9 days of our trip stopping in La Fortuna, Monteverde, and Carrillo/Samara. This was the perfect mix of relaxation and adventure that we were seeking. We offered some feedback on the initial itinerary and worked through our budget and preferences. Within a few days we had a revised itinerary that sounded great and very competitively priced.

At this point Greg/Desafio handled everything: booking our hotels, transfers (which were always prompt and courteous). and activities (some of which were Desafio-run, some of which weren't). It ended up being an awesome trip. We were thinking about doing a large group tour but for a minimal price increase we had an entire trip tailored to exactly what we wanted.

Canyoneering was as fun as everyone claimed it would be. Great for beginners and a (safe) adrenaline rush. Whitewater rafting on the Sarapiqui was intense but also loads of fun. Our guide Luis kept us entertained the entire trip and managed to pull me out of the river within about 5 seconds of falling out...The pictures also came out great and were worth every penny they charged.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank illini1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We did the Rio Balsa rafting trip. I originally booked Rio Toro but got a call from the company an hour before pick-up to say that the river levels were too low. They offered to re-book on the Rio Balsa or to try another day, and we chose the Rio Balsa. However we got another call an hour later to say that the Balsa trip wasn't running either (for the same reason) - not our day! We ended up re-booking the Balsa for the next day and the trip went ahead. They processed the refund (price difference) immediately - very efficient.

For the trip itself, all was good. They were 20 mins late for the hotel pick-up, but that was due to another party and they were duly apologetic. The short journey was as advertised. We'd all rafted several times before and the pre-put-in training was as expected. The river level was very low (dry season) which made the ride a little bumpy at times, but we had a blast at the top. All the action is in the first part of trip, with the latter half a little too calm for my liking. Our guide was great and kept us all moving - a few sticky moments but we got through it. He also pointed out some nice wildlife (Sloth, Iguanas) along the way. We took a fruit stop on the river on the way down, then stopped for a reasonable lunch on the drive back, where we got to view/purchase the photos they'd taken - these were very good and decent value - $25 for a DVD with 20 or so photos.

Overall, I thought this was a good trip and was very happy with the company - the only reason I didn't give a 5 is that I feel the latter half of this raft trip is a little boring.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ben_gale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Desafio Adventure Company - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing