We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful first visit to costa rica”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C G
La Grange, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful first visit to costa rica”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 6 ( 2 adults and 4 kids ranging in age from 10-17) stayed here for the first part of our trip to Costa Rica. The property was lovely. The house was clean and well stocked with fundamentals for cooking, eating etc, but why would you? Paul and Rosie provided delicious meals. The coffee/smoothies and breakfast was such a great way to start the day. We also had dinner a couple of times which was equally as good. We regret not eating there more. They offer a small menu with a variety of choices for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is included in your stay. Dinner is a charge, but reasonable and well worth it. I think the families best meals were at Casa Cielo. The house had 3 good size bedrooms and the master bedroom and balcony were an oasis.
Paul helped with planning activities and general questions before and throughout the trip. We booked our excursions through Paul and everything was great. I was initially trying to book everything myself through trip advisor and it became too overwhelming. It was nice to be able to hand that over to someone who had some inside knowledge about the area. After our excursions it was always nice to come back to our home away from home and unwind at the pool. Paul and Rosie ( and family) were so welcoming and definitely made our stay there memorable. I would highly recommend choosing Casa Cielo for your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSE2
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Stunning house, amazing hosts”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been lucky enough to stay in some amazing houses around the World, and Casa Cielo is at or near the top of the pile. The house is so much better than the photos suggest (although I understand that they will be replaced soon). The owner Paul built the property and the quality of finish and attention to detail are fantastic. The master bedroom (and bathroom) both have amazing views of Arenal volcano and you can even see it from the shower in case there is an impromptu eruption. All of the beds are enormous - two kings and one queen fro memory - and very comfortable. The real star is the outside area. There is a beautiful garden, a wonderfully designed pool and a large sitting area.

Breakfast is included in the rental. There is a choice of a number of options, accompanied by a huge plate of fresh fruit. Amazing!. Paul provides the option of other meals at a surcharge. We had dinner every night of our stay and the quality and quantity of the food was excellent. We would highly recommend this option. Paul also helped us arrange all sorts of excursions, from horse riding to zip lining locally.

Paul and his family have achieved something very special in Casa Cielo. If you are considering a villa in the Arenal / La Fortuna area I would be amazed if you were able to find one better than Casa Cielo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything
Liked least: The state of the roads!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheaJones
Rumson, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Perfecta!”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Cielo was an amazing home for our vacation. It provided plenty of space for 4 adults & 5 kids with a spectacular view of the volcano, a gorgeous pool with great bird watching, & gracious hosts in Paul & Rosie. The meals were generous & delicious and the home was clean, thoughtfully decorated and stocked with a kitchen full of everything we might need. Paul was extremely helpful before and during our trip with quick response times regarding directions, activities, and basic questions like where to get gas or find the closest bank. Our trip was spectacular & Casa Cielo proved to be a fantastic home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dropthumb
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent. Beautiful and well appointed house with pool, fantastic service.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed three nights, two couples and five children. I am an expat North American living in Costa Rica and I can tell you that Paul and Rosie provide the very best of what this area of the country has to offer. Their local knowledge was priceless when selecting our activities and the house itself was an amazing retreat with plenty of space in and out. The breakfasts and dinner that we ordered were outstanding and so generous with the amount of food! Pro tip- buy some rum and freeze your leftover breakfast fruit for cocktails in the blender found in the kitchen in the evenings. The house is appointed with a kitchen ready for cooking with all appliances, oils and spices. Beautiful view of the volcano off the back of the house along with bird feeders and outdoor bar area make for a wonderful spot to unwind after a day of horseback riding and waterfall hiking. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit the Arenal area. Pura Vida.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis of comfort with generous and friendly service”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family of 5 (3 sons aged 23, 20, 17) stayed at Casa Cielo for three nights while visiting Arenal area. Casa Cielo is comfortable, spacious, clean and well-equipped. The pool area is perfect for meals and lounging, and the upstairs open-air porch is lovely. Bedrooms are spacious, beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and modern. Wi-fi is effective and consistent.

Paul is the ultimate host, making sure you have what you need without being intrusive. The level of service was exceptional. Paul provided solid information and driving directions whenever asked. The house was fully stocked with the groceries we requested and an itemized bill was provided. Rosie even donated a t-shirt to my niece when we went zip-lining because it had rained and Paul warned us of possible oil splatters. Paul filled our car with gas knowing that we would be leaving for Liberia after a full-day horse-riding adventure.

Rosie's cooking is exceptional. We had some of the best meals of our 11 day vacation while at Casa Cielo. Daily breakfast was included and we each ordered to our personal preferences. Every breakfast was served at our requested time and started with fresh fruit, fantastic coffee and freshly squeezed juice. Lunches and dinners were available on request. We had tacos one night and pizza another -- both amazing.

Although driving in Costa Rica is a bit of a challenge overall, we found this area to be no better or worse than the other areas we had driven and Paul's maps supplemented our GPS well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and service
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing