We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March in La Fortuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“March in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weeklong trip to Costa Rica. Our first stop was in La Fortuna and we were fortunate enough to find a room at Magic Mountain. It provided one of the cleanest and more modern Hotels in the area. They have one of the best locations, with great views of the Arenal Volcano. Each room has a balcony facing the pool with the Volcano in the background. Wonderful breakfast included with nice restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Their happy hour provides a great transition from a full day of activities, and we enjoyed ours from the swim up bar at the pool. I would recommend for anyone staying in this area of Costa Rica. Rutledges from Texas

Room Tip: Standard rooms have plenty of room but the corner suites give you a bit more room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutledges_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    301
    94
    24
    14
See reviews for
188
325
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Missed the view of the Volcano due to clouds but has nice garden pool area for relaxing and two for one happy hour at the pool bar.

Nice rooms with terrifc outlook,

Room Tip: Ask for a view toward the pool and volcano which are no the same side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiskatinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeForest, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days before heading to the beach. We had a nice room, I was a little disappointed with two double beds instead of a king and there were little tiny bugs in the bathroom but they didn't bite so no worries. The bartender at the pool was very nice and we enjoyed trying to speak Spanish as she was learning English. Overall it was a nice place to stay!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We enjoyed this smaller hotel. It had a great view of the volcano. We also really enjoyed the pool area. The pool was a bit cold but the pool and entire area around it was very clean and in good condition.

We had very good food at the pool area and in the restaurant.

The room was nice, my only compliant was that there were tiny little bugs in the bathroom. I chalked it up to being in the tropics, but it was annoying none the less.

The hotel was also easily accesible to the town.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisanddenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were on a Caravan tour - loved this small hotel, amazing views, nice refrig, 5 blocks to a grocery store to buy wine, beer or liquor. Unfortunately, as some have said, the hot tub is COLD - the reason why is that the heater is BROKEN. What a shame as there are two hot tubs with a spectacular setting. The buffet has few choices, one am all the food was cold and another am the only cereal (this is a tour of 44 adults) was fruit loops!!! With a few impovements, this could be a perfect hotel, unless you like the big properties. The volcano is right out the window and all the grounds are beautiful, with even a guard walking around the property.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good - tho on a busy street we did not hear any street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
5.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
5.1 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
5.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,593 - ₹ 13,876
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing