We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

It's tough to add much more to all the other reviews posted here, but I just wanted to add my thoughts on what a wonderful place this is. The grounds were really beautiful and it was like staying in a little piece of paradise. The location was great - close enough to town, but also quiet enough to be away from it all. The service was amazing - Eliomar was so incredibly helpful and was always willing to help book any tours (with no additional cost). The food was very good and reasonably priced. We ate breakfast there every morning, plus had one lunch and one dinner, all of which were great. Since it is "low season", the property was pretty quiet so there were times we had the pool or hot springs all to ourselves.

A truly fantastic place that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,442
    294
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
649
803
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

El Silencio provides everything you look for in Arenal.
A beautiful natural garden, an amazing view of the volcano, great food, hot spring and a very comfortable room.
Our favourite activity was waking up early and having a walk in the garden trying to take pictures of the humming birds (quite impossible though as they move soooo fast!). We even saw a Jesus Christ Lizard running on the pool!
The breakfast is great and we had a really good quesadilla for lunch.
Apart from its natural beauty and good location, El Silencio has the best staff ever. Front desk and the restaurant personnel are so kind and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burcu Sayar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We knew the reviews were good and that the place looked pretty, but we were so impressed with how gorgeous the grounds were, how nice the room was, how awesome the hot springs were and how kind the staff was. We loved how they fed the birds so you could see such a variety swing by for some food and clean everything was. We cam with our adult children and they loved it. We would highly recommend the campo and will hopefully get to come back some day.

Room Tip: I don't think you could have a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My son and I recently traveled to Costa Rica before he went off to college. We planned a six day trip and Hotel El Silencio del Campo was our first lodging. I waited until the trip was completed before reviewing any of the hotels or activities.
I read the reviews before booking this hotel and was very happy with our choice.
The room and bathroom were clean and large. We stayed in the middle of the property close to the pool and thermal spring. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. My wife is a birder and would have loved to have been here with us - many birds on the property. Each room has a small patio at the entry way. It was a great place to sit and have coffe and relax from a day filled with activities.
The meals we had at the hotel were fantastic and the menu varied everyday.The prices were reasonable. Breakfast is free and there are many choices.
The staff was ALWAYS there to help.
The hotel is located outside of La Fortuna, but it was easy to book day trips and take a taxi into town.
It was well worth the money and if I came back to this area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkjkmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This was the first of several hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica. I was at first hesitant to give this a 5 /5 vs a 4/5 until we had something to compare it to such as our stay at Blue River Resort and hot spring which was a disastrous stay as that hotel is neglected and the multiple problems are an indication of the neglect. (you can read my review on Aug 12 2012 on that resort and why not to stay there).

Elio at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The grounds and views of the volcano are absolutely breathtaking! The rooms are clean and spacious and have a patio table and chairs at the entrance of your room.

The hot spring was amazing! We also got a massage at the spa. My wife really enjoyed it.

The breakfast they offer is really good. We ate dinner for two nights out of 3 nights we stayed. Prices are reasonable and I enjoyed the food. I would recommend going to eat at Soda Hormiga which is located in Fortuna. Its a small local shop, but quite inexpensive with really good food.

I would definitely stay here if I was back visiting Fortuna and wouldnt even bother checking other places. Two thumbs wayyyyy up!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
2.1 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.9 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,790 - ₹ 18,564
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing