We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
springfield, illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is simple yet wonderful. The grounds take my breath away, the hot springs are warm and romantic, the food is delicious, the staff are helpful and friendly, and the views are amazing. We had 4 people in one room and did not feel cramped at all. You will enjoy this hotel and remember it always.

Room Tip: We were in Room 5. It was close to reception and breakfast and had a great view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiredawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,475
    298
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
667
821
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. I was a bit nervous arriving after 10:30pm, not knowing who would be around to check us in, but low and behold Julio was there to greet us. He came to our shuttle with large umbrellas as it was raining and escorted us to our room. The villa itself was gorgeous. Each stands alone, perfectly facing the volcano. I enjoyed coffee each morning on our private porch. Each of the staff members, from the receptionists, waiters (Larsen!! our favorite), bartenders (Shirle and Albert) and spa masseuses, were extremely cordial, helpful and genuinely kind. Where else do you hug your waiter and bartender at the end of your stay??? The food was great, rooms and grounds were well kept, and the quiet peacefulness felt like we had the place to ourselves. Perfect for relaxing and spending quality time together. Would HIGHLY recommend staying here - I hope to come back sometime!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2shea04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was my favorite hotel in Costa Rica (room #20). Each room is clean, well-decorated, modern, and secluded for privacy but still connected. I had never seen a layout like it, and it was awesome.

The hot springs were great (not crowded), the pool was nice, and the staff was super friendly! The food in the restaurant was great, reasonably priced -- would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is an ideal place for those that enjoy nature and relaxing. Not your average Hyatt or Hilton :)
The hotel is located in the foot of the Volcano Arenal. It has its own hot springs. The water is heated from the lavas of the Volcano. The bedrooms are individual cabins. Ours had 2 queen bed. Everybody is extremely cordial. Loved the place
thanks!

Room Tip: I booked at expedia. I am sharing some pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betinalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in room #15 around the end of May. Eliomar was very helpful with checking us in and booking tours. We both booked massages from their new spa and it was very relaxing. We also really enjoyed their natural hot springs and it was never crowded. Beds were comfortable and our room was quiet. If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs because the birds might wake you up in the morning. We saw plenty of birds around the ground including flycatchers and hummingbirds. Internet in rooms can be spotty just like other posters have said, but works better the closer you are to the lobby. I recommend bringing your own computer because their lobby computer disappeared after the first day (not sure where it went). Be advised that the in room safe is not big enough for most laptops, but you can leave it at the front desk. The grocery (Super Christian #4) was conveniently located down the road to pick up drinks and snacks. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher number rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hulamaiden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,827 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,245 reviews
2.1 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,371 reviews
2.0 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,804 reviews
3.9 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,711 - ₹ 14,453
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing