We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Cloudforest Ecolodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic Cloudforest Ecolodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We had a perfect stay at El Silencio which is located right in a cloud forest. Our kids loved it (eight year old girl and 13 year old son) and there is an incredible amount of activities from horseback riding, waterfall hikes, spa, and zip lining/river rafting/rappelling (located nearby). The scenery is amazing. We also did a volcano hike and hot springs visit. The food was superb and this is a hotel that takes Eco tourism to heart - organic produce much of it grown/raised (trout on location - fresh eggs that the kids can gather inthe am - and they support the local town and school. Each of the private bungalows comes with it's own hot tub. The whole facility was well thought out and well maintained. We had massages in the spa as well and they were great.

Hate to sound too positive but it really could not have been better. Most of all, the staff from waiters to the office staff to our own personal ecoguide were all super friendly and professional. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikenealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    290
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
637
791
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for two nights in February 2012 and had a wonderful time. The cabins are nice and clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and waiter was so friendly. The hot spring is very welcome after a long day out walking and also lovely first thing in the morning! The grounds are very pretty and birds amazing. Wish we had booked an extra night but will know next time!!

Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in cabin #8 in January 2012. I usually choose the #1 hotel on tripadvisor in a given area, but we wanted to stretch our dollars this trip to rent a car and do more activities. I could not be happier with that decision because this hotel was great.

We got stuck in the states thanks to USAirways and "plane maintenance issues that couldn't be resolved." So we lost our first night at Hotel El Silencio and were incredibly bummed. I emailed the hotel to let them know we were arriving a day late. I asked them if we could have some kind of credit towards other things at the hotel since we paid ahead of time and they gladly obliged. So nice of them, they definitely didn't have to do that. We ended up getting massages and I also got a pedicure and facial (they were running a special for a free facial and another service at half price). Our massages were in a little tent down by the pool. I think my husband may have overheard they're building a new spa though? I can't remember. Regardless it didn't matter where it was because the massages were awesome.

Cabin was great... had a nice breeze with both windows open each night. Spacious and clean. Table on the front porch of the cabin was nice. Grounds were pristine and quiet. Lots of fun birds to see (wished I knew more about birds). Hot springs were neat, nice to have the bar back there too. Restaurant food was pretty good. We also went into town to eat a few times. Lots to do in the area and the people at the front desk were very helpful in arranging activities for us. If you want to stretch your dollar and still get great service, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tew21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Date of stay: Feb 9th – 11th
Weather: sunny and scattered clouds
Room 7
Pros: Breakfast, hot spring pool, grounds, front desk staff, great landscaping and volcano view, cleaning staff, and room(not the best, but very comfortable for the price)

Highly Recommended Activities in order of rating:

Munado Adventure Zip Lining (safe, fun guide, $62/person, great views)
Arenal Hanging Bridges (no guide needed, $25/person, great views (waterfall , volcano, and wildlife)
Free Hot Springs near Tabicon ( free!, heated river with wading pools- didn't want to leave)
Arenal 1968 ($10, okay enjoyment nothing spectacular) If I could redo it I would have hiked the LaFortuna falls and Cerro Chato

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilfletch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

What a great place to stay. Even though the volcano was covered in clouds the entire time, we still enjoyed everything about our stay. (And we did have a wonderful, clear view of the volcano on the drive to La Fortuna, so we didn't feel we were missing too much.) The room/cabin was comfortable and spacious. We had most of our meals in town, but the breakfast at the hotel restaurant each day was tasty and plentiful. Staff were helpful and friendly. And the spa--we loved it. There were three of us, and we each went for at least one treatment (I had two). Some reviewers have advised getting a cabin back from the main road. And while this is probably a good idea, you don't need to be all the way at the back of the property to be shielded from road noise. We were about halfway back, or maybe even less, and we had no issue with road noise at all--and we would have noticed if there had been noise. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and would quickly recommend El Silencio del Campo to others. If you're driving from the Monteverde area, keep a sharp eye open a few miles before you get to town. The hotel is just before an ugly monstrosity of a tourist hotel on the left, and you could easily miss it as you gape at the tastelessness of its neighbor. Once you are inside the grounds, though, you are in another world.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
2.1 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
1.9 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,165 - ₹ 20,499
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing