We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
72
63
25
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
63
25
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water will stay there again road noise great view of the volcano recommend this hotel rooms are nice the hotel staff tour company location is great costa rica ac arenal internet clouds grounds flowers
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This hotel is a prime example of bad taste, so ugly and so noisy, and the pool is a joke, it should be advertised as a pool for children, and to top it all, the receptionist has a bad attitude! There are much better places to stay in town for the same price, this hotel should not be more than $30 per night!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tierra-Magica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We had to change our reservation due to a snow storm delaying our departure from home. I telephoned as soon as I knew we wouldn't make are expected arrival. However, due to their cancellation policy, we lost out deposit of $120. Once we got there they were able to shift our two night reservation by a day and gave us a room for our second night at a slightly reduced price. The staff spoke English well and were extremely helpful in booking a couple of tours for us. We had a room on the front of the hotel which was clean, had wifi, ac, tv and private bathroom. Beds were comfortable. The only negative comment I might have....the road in front, although not big, had a great deal of traffic which was noisy at night. Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel. The grounds were well kept and if you were lucky, you might see a tucan! We didn't, but did have fun watching leaf cutter ants parade through the side yard. On site is a small pool which we enjoyed sitting in. The breakfast was included in the rate and was your choice of a good typical Costa Rican breakfast or toast and fruit. Other than the road noise, it was a good experience. It is a bit out of town, which was no problem for us as we had a car. We took a guided night hike in a reserve that was within walking distance that was fun. We also hiked Cerro Chato, great fun, give it a go!

Room Tip: many rooms view Arenal Volcano but will experience road noise, the quieter rooms won't have the view
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Many thanks for your recommendations.

We try to do our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

the hotel is located 3 km from citycenter. It is 40 minutes walking. 20 minutes is difficult because there is no pavement and you have to walk beside the road. But there are taxies for 5 USD and buses for1 USD to city. Rooms are nice. There is hot water and flat TV. Breakfast is nice, typical with coffee and juice. There is a little swimmingpool. The staff are really nice and helpfull. They make an effort to make your stay pleasent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side of hotel
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sir, Your comment gives us reason to move forward.

Thank you so much.

Rogelio Daniel.
Manager.
Hotel Jardines Arenal.
Our Goal: Make happy customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the place and had made a reservation through Hostelworld. The hotel decided that they would not honor the price from Hostelworld. They wanted to charge an additional 10 dollars per night and said that this is their final offer or we could leave. It didn't matter that we showed him the confirmation we had received. Since we had already made a deposit through Hostelworld we had no other option than paying or we would lose the 38 dollar deposit as well. The man in the reception was very aggressive and did not allow us to speak to his manager. Avoid this place!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank IndiaWiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

It's sad to see people so badly grateful, our hotel is a humble home, but it has the necessary to be quiet, we have: air conditioning, flat screen, hot water, coffee marker, safe, private park, and swimming pool, it is not possible that you do not value our services. HostelWord told us you were 2 people and who paid $127 for 3 nights, at the end were 3 people and charged $84, is this fair?

I'm sorry for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

There were 17 in our group that stayed here. We stayed here 6 years ago and came back here again in the beginning of November 2016. The price was right, the food was great, the rooms were comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. We basically just slept here, had breakfast and were on our way during the day. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016
Google Translation

Gracias don Rick, para nosotros es un gusto hacer clientes felices.

¡Buen viaje!

Saludos,

Rogelio Daniel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews