We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fortuna - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We liked the location - just outside of the city with beautiful grounds. We did have a car though, so we could drive everywhere. Without a car this location might not be ideal. We enjoyed the high ceilings and the overall atmosphere of this place. The staff was friendly and everything was clean and efficient. Our room was right next to the reception desk which was not ideal. This meant we had to keep our curtains drawn (the only window looked into the reception area) and of course the sound of staff setting up in the early morning is something to consider. The sound of the roadway is also something to consider - I actually found a white noise app to help us sleep through that. But overall, this place was really cute and we used the small pool and lounger, with a great view of the volcano. We spent two nights here for the purpose of exploring the area and this was a perfect location for that. Note, that if you're a fan of cream or real dairy in your coffee, you will be hard pressed to find it. They only offered a powder of something that isn't even dairy-based (a tasty breakfast is included). There were a few people smoking at the pool which was not our preference - not sure if this is something they permit. There was no ice machine, but they did get us ice from their freezer when asked (they just have little ice trays, so don't expect more than a cup full). They did let us put some of our items in the fridge, so they were very accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the volcano, with their own seating area outdoors - a better choice than those faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tereztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you for your fair comment, we do the best we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017

This hotel is a prime example of bad taste, so ugly and so noisy, and the pool is a joke, it should be advertised as a pool for children, and to top it all, the receptionist has a bad attitude! There are much better places to stay in town for the same price, this hotel should not be more than $30 per night!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tierra-Magica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We had to change our reservation due to a snow storm delaying our departure from home. I telephoned as soon as I knew we wouldn't make are expected arrival. However, due to their cancellation policy, we lost out deposit of $120. Once we got there they were able to shift our two night reservation by a day and gave us a room for our second night at a slightly reduced price. The staff spoke English well and were extremely helpful in booking a couple of tours for us. We had a room on the front of the hotel which was clean, had wifi, ac, tv and private bathroom. Beds were comfortable. The only negative comment I might have....the road in front, although not big, had a great deal of traffic which was noisy at night. Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel. The grounds were well kept and if you were lucky, you might see a tucan! We didn't, but did have fun watching leaf cutter ants parade through the side yard. On site is a small pool which we enjoyed sitting in. The breakfast was included in the rate and was your choice of a good typical Costa Rican breakfast or toast and fruit. Other than the road noise, it was a good experience. It is a bit out of town, which was no problem for us as we had a car. We took a guided night hike in a reserve that was within walking distance that was fun. We also hiked Cerro Chato, great fun, give it a go!

Room Tip: many rooms view Arenal Volcano but will experience road noise, the quieter rooms won't have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Many thanks for your recommendations.

We try to do our best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

the hotel is located 3 km from citycenter. It is 40 minutes walking. 20 minutes is difficult because there is no pavement and you have to walk beside the road. But there are taxies for 5 USD and buses for1 USD to city. Rooms are nice. There is hot water and flat TV. Breakfast is nice, typical with coffee and juice. There is a little swimmingpool. The staff are really nice and helpfull. They make an effort to make your stay pleasent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Sir, Your comment gives us reason to move forward.

Thank you so much.

Rogelio Daniel.
Manager.
Hotel Jardines Arenal.
Our Goal: Make happy customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the place and had made a reservation through Hostelworld. The hotel decided that they would not honor the price from Hostelworld. They wanted to charge an additional 10 dollars per night and said that this is their final offer or we could leave. It didn't matter that we showed him the confirmation we had received. Since we had already made a deposit through Hostelworld we had no other option than paying or we would lose the 38 dollar deposit as well. The man in the reception was very aggressive and did not allow us to speak to his manager. Avoid this place!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank IndiaWiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogeliodaniel, Gerente at Hotel Jardines Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

It's sad to see people so badly grateful, our hotel is a humble home, but it has the necessary to be quiet, we have: air conditioning, flat screen, hot water, coffee marker, safe, private park, and swimming pool, it is not possible that you do not value our services. HostelWord told us you were 2 people and who paid $127 for 3 nights, at the end were 3 people and charged $84, is this fair?

I'm sorry for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
90.8 km away
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
#57 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
9 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
122 reviews
3.6 km away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#28 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
91 reviews
3.1 km away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
683 reviews
2 km away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardines Arenal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardines Arenal

Address: Main Road to La Fortuna | 2 Kilometer east of Banco de Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 2,463 - ₹ 5,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jardines Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardines Arenal Hotel is a quiet place, surrounded by beautiful wildlife, located only 2 kilometers east of the park of La Fortuna, San Carlos, Costa Rica. It is a perfect place to enjoy with your family or your friends. Our goal is to provide quality service and excellence, thus making customers happy. We guarantee a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests. Jardines Arenal Hotel has very pleasant rooms, set in two categories: standard and superior. Equipped with air conditioning, private bath, safety deposit box, cable TV, hot water and some with an extraordinary view to the Arenal Volcano. Also our rates include a rich typical breakfast, consisting of the famous gallo pinto, egg, sour cream, platano, tortilla, orange juice and coffee; ideal to start the day in the best way. Also Jardines Arenal Hotel features private parking, restaurant (on request), WIFI, gardens and an information center where you can get everything you need to book tours, transportation or hotels nationwide. We try to cover all areas to provide more ease and comfort to our customers. Seize the opportunity to visit the famous Arenal Volcano area, known worldwide for being a beautiful place with wonderful views and relaxing hot springs. In addition to many other activities like canopy, canyoning, bridges, rafting, kayaking, bicycles, etc. Enjoy an unforgettable ride while you receive the attention that you deserve and rest in a unique and welcoming place. In Jardines Arenal Hotel we are waiting to make of your vacations an extraordinary and enjoyable time. Our Goal: Make customers happy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Jardines Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardines Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing