We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Don't expect frills or luxury at this hotel, but expect fairly clean rooms and beautiful grounds that can be enjoyed from the porch of your own cabin. I believe there are both regular rooms and individual cabins available at this hotel, though we stayed in one of the cabins. The doors do not seal tightly and there may cracks in the walls that allow bugs and lizards in. It wasn't a huge problem for us, but we kept towels rolled up near any visible openings to the outdoors so we could avoid an issue. We also had some trouble with the key for our door but the staff was glad to help resolve that for us quickly. All in all, I was pleased with the experience for the price we paid. To spend about $80/night, you can't expect much so I was happy to have a clean room, great view of the volcano just outside our door, and easy access to explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lavas Tacotal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were not impressed with this hotel. We had a lower room (1st floor on a 2 room building) and found that the window in the bathroom was open to some of the operating mechanical equipment for the hotel. The noise was so loud we had to close the window and the bathroom door in order to sleep. The staff in the diningroom stood around and did not offer any service except to tell us that we should go elsewhere for dinner (we had booked this hotel because there was an on site restaurant). While the room was kept clean by the housekeeping staff, the hotel is definitely showing wear. We went to the pool for a swim and found a chair at the bottom, we moved it ourselves even though there were staff standing around. The loungers at the pool were all broken. I say look elsewhere, you can do better.

Room Tip: The rooms are facing each other, no privacy. This seemed strange because their is a beautiful view...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A beautiful property, but practically empty except for tour busses. None of staff seemed to speak English. Restaurant completely empty, except during breakfast it was swamped with tours. Practically no wi-fi.
Terrific view of Arenal Volcano, but it's done nothing for at least a year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDBAlbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Not sure what happened here, but what remains is unsettling. The grounds are manicured to perfection. The rows of "mini-cabins" with a glass wall facing the volcano provide an excellent view of the cloud shrouded Arenal volcano. The rooms are basic, clean, and functional and the beds comfortable. The emptiness and non-functioning pool bars give the place an eerie post-apocalyptic "life after people" feel. The breakfast was basic and while the coffee and fruit were fine, the eggs/rice/beans were cold from sitting in non functioning steam trays.

If you are looking for solitude and fasting - this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here for one night to give us an opportunity to explore the area around the Arenal Volcano. The cabins were comfortable with a great view of the volcano. The beds were adequate. The property has lots of open space with various plants and trees making it a very green setting. If you are there expecting luxury, keep looking. This is a great place to sleep and from which to serve as a base for exploring the area. The evenings are quiet and relaxing. It is not a "pool and sun" type of place. The breakfast in the restaurant was pretty basic but again, adequate. The wifi is only available around the restaurant. This would probably not be a place for kids but adults seeking some quality quiet time in a beautiful setting should enjoy this property.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.1 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
6.8 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#25 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
8.3 km away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
7.3 km away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavas Tacotal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavas Tacotal

Address: 10 Km West from downtown La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 2772-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 4,433 - ₹ 5,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavas Tacotal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Lavas Tacotal you can enjoy the natural greatness of the Arenal Volcano. Its amazing conic shape and constant volcanic activity, the Arenal Volcano is one of the most important attractions in Costa Rica. Walk through trails of solidified lava, ride across exhuberant forests, the activity of the Arenal Volcano during the day or by night. The amazing spectacle of incandescent lava flowing from the crater is truly breathtaking. The hotel amenities includes air conditioning, maid service, pool, restaurant, tennis, bar, laundry, spa, 24 hour security, souvenir shop, and private parking. handicap facilities, and non smoking rooms are also available. The room amenities includes cable TVs, balcony, safe deposit boxes, telephones, mini bars, and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lavas Tacotal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavas Tacotal Hotel
Hotel Lavas Tacotal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing