We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in Arenal.”
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Certificate of Excellence
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel in Arenal.”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel had been recommended and booked for us by Carlos Jimenez, of Monteverde Welcome Center and Casa Batsu. It was an excellent recommendation. We had a superior room facing Arenal Volcano, which loomed above us. We had a beautiful garden right outside our door and only a short walk to the swimming pool and huge outdoor jacuzzi. Our large room had very comfortable beds, a refrigerator, and the huge bath had hot and cold running water (not always available in Costa Rican hotels) and a combination jacuzzi, bathtub and shower. The complimentary breakfasts were quite good as well. You could have your choice of an American, Costa Rican or Continental breakfast. We were close to a laundry and Baldi Hot Springs and Resort. We think that this was an excellent location on the main highway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    163
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
175
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Due to the very thin walls we could not sleep the first night (people chatting, watching TV etc - there was a constant noise, even impossible to sleep with earplugs) and wanted to complain at 10.30pm. However, the reception was closed.

The next morning we complained to the manager and were expecting him to solve the problem. Instead of simply upgrading us to another room, he wanted to charge us and did not show any interest in finding a solution to the problem (we even offered to pay half of the price for the upgrade). This experience ruined our stay in the hotel; which is - overall - okay regarding the rooms, breakfast etc. Conclusion: If you expect a certain degree of customer service, do not go there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTravelXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, the staff initially seemed confused when I was checking in, but all was well, and the had my reservation. We stayed in one of the bungalows because the rest of the other rooms were booked, but I'm glad we did. I found them to be very cozy (though yes, the lighting seemed insufficient at times) It does get loud with the nature surrounding you, but it wasn't enough to prevent us from sleeping or anything. I read that there are ATV tours out of the hotel, and saw the ATVs, but never heard them. We had a gorgeous view of the volcano right from out window! Unfortunately clouds sat atop the volcano for most of our stay, but the pool, jacuzzi, and grounds were lovely. Breakfast each morning was delicious!! The first two mornings there was a buffet, however the day of our departure there was only a limited a la carte menu, which was slightly disappointing. There is a grocery store within walking distance, which was very convenient, though we did have a car. Overall it was a beautiful place to stay in a great location if you plan on staying in the la fortuna area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djenah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed March 17-20. Had excellent weather. We were in the cabins. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Great location from town. Very good food and fairly priced. Grounds very pretty and pool and hot tub clean and comfortable. Nice people. Sky Trek a bit of a trip over poor roads., but worth the trip. Baldi Spas just down the road. It was a good value. $35.00.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was a 2 star hotel but it felt like more. It was good enough for our needs and had a beautiful view of the volcano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that came with your stay was very good. This location was very close to town and the hot springs. I highly recommend this hotel for the money this was a great deal and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac43346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
172 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
242 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
318 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
2.7 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,396 - ₹ 6,206
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing