We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
473
406
254
117
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
406
254
117
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior bungalow arenal volcano costa rica hot springs mud bath horseback riding stayed for two nights beautiful view standard room zip line spring pools rocking chairs pura vida lilliana cabin trail guide
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The little houses are a cool idea, but it is not the best rooms you can get for the price. The location is good and I like the staff. We did the Atv tour and the canopy tour. I enjoyed leaving the hotel more than staying in the hotel.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jollyfiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose F, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Guest,

A cordial greeting from all the staff of Montaña de Fuego and many thanks for your comment, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your visit again in this paradise in front of the Arenal Volcano and the relaxing hot springs.
I commented that we are in a process of remodeling our facilities, to improve the experience of our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Jackeline in reception was fabulous. Christine was also very helpful too. Property was beautiful and the hot springs were awesome. It was great to have them and mud right on the property. Could not have had a better view of Arenal. Rooms were clean but a could use a little freshing.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SDFensterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose F, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Best regards and thank you very much for your comment, we are glad you enjoying your stay with us and hope to visit again in this paradise by the Arenal Volcano and the relaxing hot springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The grounds were very nice and well cared for. The room(223) was large and the bed was comfortable. The only down side to the room was it was connected to another room and you could hear almost everything coming from the other room. luckily we had respectful neighbors that went to sleep at a reasonable hour. The other down side to this hotel is the 3 hot springs pools were not very hot at all, they were not even luke warm. The Jacuzzi was also not hot and not even warm. This was a bummer after hiking the Arenal area all day. But the staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was well done with your typical Costa Rican food(spotted chicken). My wife and I would stay here again for the price we paid, hopefully next time they will have the Jacuzzi and pools at a better temperature.

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe rooms if possible to avoid noise from other rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose F, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Guest,

A cordial greeting and thank you very much for your comment which is very important for us, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your visit again in this paradise in front of the Arenal Volcano and the relaxing hot springs.

Your comments are very important for us to be able to improve, our pools are thermo-mineral and not exactly hot springs so its temperature is not equal being lower and depending on external factors, however we try to look for an ecological or natural solution to the power to hot temperature.

We have two Jacuzzis, one outside of natural temperature and another that is inside the spa (no cost for its use for our guests) which is always maintained at a fairly warm temperature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This place is beautiful. The staff is amazing and it is located at a perfect spot to see the volcano! I would really suggest staying there to relax and get to see all the great places around it. It's near the Lake and other parks.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joserE8680KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose F, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Best regards and thank you very much for your comment, we are glad you enjoying your stay with us and hope to visit again in this paradise by the Arenal Volcano and the relaxing hot springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

My sister and I went for a long weekend to relax and were not disappointed. It's not the easiest place to get to (bring Dramamine for the ride to/from the airport!), and the shuttle ride was very expensive ($80/person, each way), but once we got to the resort it was very enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful.

The staff was very friendly and our room was clean and adequately sized. There were only two overhead lights in the room and no lamps, so it wasn't great for reading. The views of the mountains and countryside from the room were lovely, and the beds were clean and comfortable. A chair would have been nice.

The on-site restaurant was very good; the flambé dessert was particularly tasty, and there was a nice selection at the breakfast buffet each day.

The spa was fairly spartan; the treatments were nice, but you have to walk through the lobby wrapped in a towel to get back to the changing rooms, which were theoretically single-sex but which in practice were unisex. Many of the treatments feature wraps or masks that need to be washed off in the changing rooms, so it was a little weird to be walking around covered in massage goo. The water pressure in the spa showers was also not great.

The pool bar was expensive and the food was not great, but the service was friendly. The pools were clean and nice for relaxing.

There are quite a few restaurants in the nearby town of La Fortuna; there's a shuttle from the hotel but it only runs a couple of times per day, although a taxi is not too expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose F, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Guest,

Best regards and thank you very much for your comment, we are glad you enjoying your stay with us and hope to visit again in this paradise by the Arenal Volcano and the relaxing hot springs.
About the spa we take a note about your comment and try to change in the future to be more confortable and private.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews