We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Rate and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Cahuita
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Rate and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was my third trip to Arenal/Fortuna. Since I was travelling alone I decided to stay in town in order to be close to restaurants. I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel Fortuna considering the quality of the rooms and the low room rate (especially during low season). Enrique at the front desk was very helpful. I will definitely stay here my next trip to Fortuna.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    210
    73
    19
    6
See reviews for
51
178
94
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel was a great location if you were interested in walking about downtown La Fortuna. It is a bit of a stretch from the volcano and all of the natural hot springs, so you are going to have to cab to and from those places. There is a WIDE variety of food options located downtown and a laundry shop right across the street from the hotel with great customer service. There is a free breakfast every morning but the only down side to that is that it is located in the lobby, which can become very humid and hot as it is an open lobby. The staff is great and the rooms have good views of the volcano (rooms with views cost a bit more) at an excellent location. In my opinion, it is a great stay at a central location in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Pay for the Volcano view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesusCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for the price. It has a nice lobby area and great staff who speak perfect English. The rooms are nice with good air conditioning and we didn’t hear any street noise (we were level 4). The bed was comfortable though the fitted sheet kept coming off which was annoying. The shower had good pressure and temperature though with no barriers it makes the whole bathroom floor wet, the curtain doesn’t help. The restaurant was convenient and the food was ok. The hotel is clean and well looked after and the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

While the room was basic, the staff made our stay great. Menrique, at the front desk, went above our expectations of helpfulness. From tour booking, rental cars, extending our stay, and directions, he was fantastic. He definitely made our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

As the title says this hotel has very (capital, underline, bold) rooms. We had a triple. It was small. Not the most comfortable beds and the pillows were lumpy and/or hard. However, I wanted a hotel in town that we could use as a base for our daily exploring and this hotel was perfect.

The location was exactly what I was looking for. We could walk to the adventure companies, to get ice cream, to have coffee or a beer at a local soda. We had a great view of the volcano from our room.

I can't say enough about the staff. Manrique, Carlos, Julio were all helpful, talkative, fun to just sit and chat with. Manrique booked one tour for us and was very helpful when we were deciding what else to do.

This is the place to stay if you want convenient location and excellent service. Just keep in mind the rooms do not offer much in the way of comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 km away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#32 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#28 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 km away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,553 - ₹ 6,167
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing