We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hammocks, volcano views, tico breakfast included”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I thought this place was nice. It's quiet, clean, and tucked away from all the noise of the town. You have a view of both Cerro Chato and La Arenal from the property. I didn't use the swimming pool, but the breakfast was delicious and filling. You have the option of asking to dine-in (for lunch or dinner), or you can walk to the supermarket to purchase something to eat. There are also a few Sodas nearby to grab a bite.
We stayed only a few nights, and spent most of our time hiking to the waterfalls or rafting in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 and had no troubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biancadene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we definitely enjoyed our time at this rustic lodge. While small, the room has everything you need. (No a/c, but the fan is enough.) The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool is just the right size.

The owner, Miguel, was very kind and hospitable. He helped us with all of our questions and assisted us in setting up all of our activities. In addition, Miguel's wife, Carmen, makes a great breakfast for only $4.

If you are looking for something extravagant, then you will want to look elsewhere. However, if you want a quiet, outdoors feel with just enough comforts and a great price, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guggs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My friends and I stayed one night. For the price we paid, it was fine. It's in a natural setting, and it's very quiet. It was fine for a place to sleep one night, have breakfast in the morning and move on. I wouldn't want to stay here multiple nights. The rooms are small and there are no amenities. We had 2 adjacent rooms. One was buggy, the other was not. The breakfast was filling, the owner was very helpful and his wife pleasantly served breakfast. It was in the midst of a lovely area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedwig1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The rooms here are decent and breakfast is included (which is amazing -- 4 stars for the breakfast), but the owner was rude and I would not go back to this place for that reason.

To make a long story short, the owner was very rude to us upon our arrival to the lodge despite the fact that the private taxi he hired failed to pick us up at the airport and we had to make other arrangements.

In addition, when we arrived (exhausted) at the lodge, the owner proceeded to argue with us about a miscommunication about a tour we booked through him. My friend wanted to do some outdoor activity/tour, but I did not, but the owner had already booked for 2 people. He proceeded to angrily tell us that we were making him lose money because he had to put a deposit down for both of us. He then told me that I would have to help him "lie" to the tour guides in the morning by telling them I was sick or in an accident and couldn't go on the tour. My friend and I were so shocked at his attitude because we had JUST arrived after a 3 hour drive, delayed flight, and failure on his part regarding the taxi that was suppose to pick us up.

The owner was civil to us for our remaining time that we were there, but despite the decent lodging and good breakfast, I would not stay there again. There are a few other lodges in the near vicinity that looked just as good as this one. I would recommend staying elsewhere to avoid the moody owner of this one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 551Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed in similar cabinas in different places in 2 1/2 weeks in Costa Rica. Whereas we were happy with all other accommodations, this one we couldn't wait to move on from. Our cabina was very small and smelly. Asked about the smell, the owner offered a spray can against it. As the ceiling fan also didn't work, we were moved to another cabina. In 2 nights we killed 3 cockroaches, one we found in our bed. The bed was just bad.
Maybe more disappointing than all this was that the hosts here were the least helpful and least friendly Costa Rican hosts we met. We had the sense the hosts were unhappy doing what they did and we never felt welcome here whereas this is something Costa Ricans are generally so good at.
There are a few other lodges on the same road close by which look nicer and more professional. My fiance stayed at one of them before I arrived and loved it. Unfortunately it was full when we got there and we decided, to our regret, to try this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndRecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
12.3 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
851 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
665 reviews
2.3 km away
Selina La Fortuna
Selina La Fortuna
#21 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
70 reviews
1.7 km away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 81 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Address: Road to Rio Fortuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-75, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 2,360 - ₹ 4,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing