We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service that pushes for 2 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Service that pushes for 2 Stars”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Pros: - Great view and location with respect to the volcano - Decent renovation for what looked like a tight budget, beds and rooms are comfortable. Good Restaurant, Great Spa.
Cons: - They claim to have wireless internet, they do not, only on the lobby area, and it was out 3 out of 4 days of our stay - The front desk manager was 'rude' for lack of a better word, unable to properly explain the incorrect billing that was made at booking time. - Management has the most ridiculous rules for employees and patrons, which make it seem like they are going out of their way to create a hassle filled experience, which the staff cannot correct due to poor management. - The hotel rooms are far and spread apart, if you don't have a car don't stay here, the hotels 'inner coach' service was constantly delayed, taking 30-40 minutes to pick us up on more than one occasion and it took 3 calls to the front desk to sort it out. - The laundry service ruined a piece of clothing and refused to pay for it.

Room Tip: Close to the pool and restaurant if you don't have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    567
    186
    42
    34
See reviews for
557
437
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

After reading a lot of reviews before booking, I'd have to say I got exactly what I expected. The resort is very impressive!
Pro-s There are multiple big pools with water slides; I was worried it would be filled with children but it really wasn't. There were many different hot springs including several that felt rather secluded which was nice. The farms on the resort were also really cool- butterfly farm was my favorite, the frog and croc farm also must sees. I also enjoyed the little lizards that ran around the property, the koi fish pond, all the plants/wildlife. The food at the restaurant was quite good, a tad pricey but tasty and wait staff was nice. Also they have a room near check out to hold your bags if you stay past 12pm check out.
Cons- The rooms are def outdated but I since I knew this was coming I wasn't too bummed (New sheets and curtains would do wonders! They seemed so out of place for the resort) I also would have to say that the wifi was only half reliable, the wifi by the wet bar was great but the wifi at the check in desk often went out often. Some of the female staff at the front desk were kind of not helpful either, when I would ask why the wifi was out they would say "Its just like that sometimes" or "It's out yesterday, today, and tom" even if it was working yesterday or tom. When we asked for a cab after hours to be called it was like pulling teeth, that their cab service ended at 10 and we would have to call someone else, but they didnt have a local taxi # or a phone book and we couldn't dial out local numbers from our own room- but eventually they did call a cab for us. And one man that worked front desk was super helpful all the time, even let us ride into town with the hotel staff once for free- so it's not all of them that are like that.
In the end I def would stay again, the grounds are really worth every penny and it was affordable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

the resort is beautifull, a lot of space ,gardens,a pool bar,spring warm water.
a wonderfull view to arenal volcano.the breakfast was wonderfull.the room are spacy and clean.

Room Tip: try to find a room not far from the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcrespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I spent one night in this resort and wished we had stayed there our whole trip. The resort is in a beautiful location very close to the Arenal volcano and has awesome views of the lush green landscape. This eco friendly resort uses a solar energy to provide power to the rooms and to provide heat for the water in the rooms. The hot spring pools were absolutely amazing, I mean how can you beat a waterslide into a hot pool with a swim up bar? This place also has several attractions on site including a butterfly garden, frog garden, leaf cutter ant exhibit and alligators. They also have a full service spa and a great restaraunt. I wish I was back there now, it was really a highlight of our trip and was the perfect place to relax after hiking to the top of the Cerro Chato and back. If you make the trip to Arenal, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maygann11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeRoy, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, not crowded during the Easter Break. WOW! 7 pools and 1 we had to ourselves! Pool bar our favorite, warm water, slides, comfy seating areas and great smoothies. I do not understand the nit picky other reviews, so what you have to have a card for pool towels, that is good no stealing! And they are energy conscience having room keys for AC and lights, wish US hotels did this-do you really need your AC on when out of room? Paying $50 deposit for safe not a biggie. Good meals, wonderful surroundings, heaven and close look to volcano best value for the money in all of Arenal!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior although you have to use a shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalvay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
1.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
5.0 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Property: Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,658 - ₹ 11,312
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing