We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Tabacon is one of the best here in arena Costa Rica…. watching the volcano is amazing. One day is not enough to spend our night here. The food is great i can't complain about it! the falls and the hot spring are clean. but be sure before diving in the spring check if you tolerate the temp because its hot!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyheart6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear ladyheart6

we are extremely honored to be distinguished in your review as one of the best hotels in Costa Rica. Tabacon is a unique destination, located in the middle of the Tropical Rain Forest with the most stunning natural Hot Springs, the best place for the most memorable vacation. Tabacon has several pools with different temperatures for our customers to choose what they prefer. Look forward to your next visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort.

Best regards

Daniel Pape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,155
    760
    265
    101
    65
See reviews for
785
1,642
58
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We spent a lot of money to do our honeymoon here, but unless you're getting the honeymoon suite (read: $$$) don't expect any special treatment. We got a sad plate of fruit, but that was it--at another hotel that cost far less they at least made a little more effort. It seemed like they nickel and dime you on EVERYTHING--even down to the $6 bottle of water in the room. The food was very expensive and mediocre, and you're isolated from other options unless you take a $10 cab ride to Fortuna. The last day there I gritted my teeth over ordering a $19 club sandwich and $5 can of crappy beer. Even the internet was chinzy--it's free, but they cut us off at the stroke of midnight on the day we were checking out. Why?! And the gift shop charged $2/per postcard for postage--c'mon here! The staff was perfectly nice and gracious, but when I'm paying that much money to stay somewhere, I didn't appreciate my wallet getting put thru the ringer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erikka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Erikka B

I appreciate that you took the time to write us your experience and I am happy that you found our staff perfectly nice and gracious. It is our aim that our guests have a nice experience with us. We are not hiding our prices, our colleagues from the sales department would be more than happy to give all the information decried before making a reservation. It is a pity that we did not speak personally during your stay as we always look that our clients have a nice experience.

My best regards

Daniel Pape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

I urge anyone thinking of staying here to think again. When we arrived at 3pm our room was not ready. I understand that checking is 4pm so I was not upset.However, they gave us our room number and I hear the man next to me checking out of our room!! If checking is 4pm, they should adhere to their checkout policy of noon! When we finally got into the room, it was clear they rushed because we realized they had just thrown a sheet over the featherbed. When we went to bed we realized we didn't have a blanket. We called and they brought us a duvet and blanket that we had to assemble at 11pm after traveling half the day! Not 5 star service at all! They DO NOT have free wifi as they say. You can have one device for free. You cannot log off and use another unless you pay $10. The drinks are $12 and the service and food are terrible. Everything smells musty and the hotel needs to be remodeled. The springs are nice but if you lose their worn old towel expect to pay $20. One other important note. The springs are not located on the property and you need to take a shuttle

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Carney G

We appreciate you took the time to comment your experience. It is right that we do have established our guaranteed check in time at 4pm and our check out time at noon. However if our clients like to stay longer than 12 in the afternoon in their room on their departure date we do have the option of a late check out for an additional charge and according to availability of course. In these cases our Housekeeping team is very well organized and they do work together in teams of four if necessary to guarantee the handover of the rooms perfectly cleaned latest at 3:45 pm to assure the checking of the room as well before our clients can enter their room. I am really sorry that we failed with this best practice in your case. You are absolutely right that it is not according to a five star rated hotel if a guest has to take care of his bed and I do really understand that this situation was very inconvenient for you.

In regards to our Wifi service it is true that we offer free access for one device per room. Additionally we do have computers in the Lobby area where we provide as well free internet access and of course we do inform our clients regarding any additional charges in advance.

Our dining and drinking options are differing and we do offer a wide choice of different dishes and meals as well as drinks throughout the hotel and Hot Springs trying to fit different tastes.

Carney G, it is a great pity that we did not had the chance to talk personally during your stay here in Tabacon. It is very important for me and my team that all our clients do have a great time with us and find perfect relaxation. Once again I like to beg your pardon for not giving you the service you expected and I would be very pleased if you would give us the chance to turn your experience in a completely positive one and I would be more than happy to welcome you again.

My best regards

Daniel Pape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmore, N.Y.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We arrived at the Tabacon Spa on July 28th for a 2 night stay and were greeted at the front desk with a refreshing fruit drink. The entire property layout was explained to us and we proceeded to our room. The room was twice the size of a normal hotel room and clean and well appointed.We had a garden view and on a clear day you could see the outline of the Arenal volcano. The staff went out of their way to attend to all of our needs and responded immediately if there was a problem. We could not get the wifi to work and they worked on it right away but found it could not be fixed until morning. We had heard that the meals on property were quite expensive so we cabbed it into La Fortuna ($15 each way). Menes was recommended and it was very good and very reasonable. After returning from dinner we had our fist experience with the hot springs, all I can say is Wow! The pools seemed to get warmer the higher you go upstream and the gardens are beautiful. I felt really great after a good soak. The following morning we ate at the resort for a buffet breakfast ($28 per person) there was a good variety of food and a omelet bar. Then we spent the day at the hot springs including lunch and drinks at a swim up bar in a hot pool. That night we went back to La Fortuna for dinner at Don Ruffino. A bit more expensive than Menes but delicious meals and desserts. I highly recommend this resort not only because you get access to the springs longer but also for the service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrtinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for our honeymoon, in the honeymoon suite. The room was beautiful with a view of Arenal. The room was also located right next to a utility closet. The staff went into this closet about every 15-30 minutes. Morning noon and night. It was quite frustrating. Each time the door closed it slammed really loudly. It was around $400 per night and they didn't have another room to move us into. They also didn't want to give us something in return for a poorly placed utility closet. The food at Tabacon was pretty bad. Breakfast was decent, one day for lunch I ordered a basic salad because we only had 30 minutes until our next activity. It took almost 25 minutes to get the salad, mind you we were the only people in the restaurant at the time. When the salad came it was wilted and some rotten greens. They offered to replace it but we were out of time. Another day i ordered Arroz con Pollo and it was pretty greasy and my wife ordered a veggie sandwich and it was quite bland. I would recommend going into La Fortuna for food if you have the opportunity. The spa service was a transcending experience. Everything about the spa was professional and well thought out. We did a couples massage in private huts in the pouring rain, the thundering sound of the rain added to the allure. We also did the free cleansing ritual that was kind of brutal with the extreme heat (I am a cold weather person) but i was a great experience to connect with nature and the earth. The hot springs were another amazing experience, during the day it is touristy with kids running around everywhere. During the night its mostly hotel guests and its quite large where you can have whole areas to your self. Whats nice is you can "control" the temperature by going upstream for hotter and downstream for cooler waters. Do not wear light colored bating suits because of naturally occurring algae. Bottom line, I would try and find deals for this hotel if possible and eat in La Fortuna. We visited in August 2011.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite at the end of the building is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.7 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
4.1 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
3.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
4.6 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
5.0 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,190 - ₹ 27,853
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing