We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
364
311
141
69
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
311
141
69
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chalet room butterfly garden junior suite costa rica infinity pool horseback riding winding road kids room an adventure amazing views jacamar tours howler monkeys every morning tour guide tour desk hiking trails hanging bridges
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

While visiting this beautiful local I fell and hurt my ankle. While the rest of my traveling party went on to see the hanging bridges The owner drove me down to the local clinic to get xrays.We went to lunvh together after and she showed me the local places in the city.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Greetings from Arenal Lodge.
Mrs. Tere. Say hello, and she is happy to hear from you.
For us is great to know that you had a good vacation with us in Arenal Lodge.
Hoping to see you soon.

Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

I only give this a 4 out of 5 because it is dated to the point that beds and pillows are not what you would expect, not terrible but still not that comfortable. However, the service and location are spot on. Especially if you want to be close to things but away from the chaos!

I will say I'm not sure about the view from all areas. We stayed in one of the chalets and it was stunning, especially when the clouds cleared out.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat! Remember, the view is weather dependent! We felt very fortunate to have a few glimpses of the lake and even more so the top of the mountain!

Room Tip: If you want a view of Mount Arenal make sure you specify that with the lodge. They have a variety of views so be clear.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BrynneLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you very much for commenting. Very nice to hear that you enjoyed the view from the chalet. That is even better, when you go horseback riding and get to the top of the property, because in a suny day you can see the volcano and lake Arenal + the lake of Nicaragua.
Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing place, although hard to reach, is worth the ride. Breathtaking view waits for you if you’re in one the uphill villas. Early in the morning, howling monkeys can be heard ! Beautiful pool with volcano view.
A place no one can ever bored with.

Two weak points though : nearly no wifi, restaurant food pricey and not tasty.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for commenting.
We Hope you visit us again.
Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

After a trip to Monteverde, Arenal and Samara in Costa Rica, I cannot say enough good things about the country, our excursions and each area we visited. Our other two hotels were great. I wish I could say the same thing about Arenal Lodge. It seems that this resort was likely incredible when it first opened, but has unfortunately come into some disrepair over the past few years. For example, our room toilet leaked and there were no screens on the windows in our room. The grounds are still beautiful but not as manicured as they likely once were. Service was the larger issue. The staff was very good, but management was non-reponsive and some were rude. The front desk person, Joe, never greeted anyone and always seemed bothered if you asked for anything. The other gentlemen, Aldo, at the front desk was excellent. The bar was typically unattended and the few times we were able to get drinks, it always felt like we were bothering the guy. The person that would come to the bar seemed like he was a manager or owner and didn't' want to bothered with the bar. He didn't even know how to turn on the blender. I showed him and he said nothing. It really felt like this was the place to be in the early 90's but now there are other options much closer to La Fortuna, Costa Rica and the Arenal Lodge owners are not investing into the property nor management staff. Accurately represented at three stars if it was not for the poor management service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hill offer stunning views, but require a lot of steps.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H4338TFerict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Greetings from Arenal Lodge.
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had.
We have a compromise with the satisfaction of our clients and is very important for us to have this feedback.
We are taking care of this issues and will correct it. Hope you give us another opportunity to see you in Arenal Lodge.
Thank you very much for your visit and hope that you had a very nice trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

My husband and two kids (age 12 and 9) stayed 2 nights in a chalet in August 2018 and loved it here. Lots of birds to watch from the giant chalet windows above the lodge with a great view of the volcano. The long driveway up the mountain was so interesting, steep and through the forest. Although the location is not near town, and you cannot walk to another restaurant, the on-site restaurant was fine. There is a neat hiking trail through the forest reserve behind the hummingbird garden.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Operaciones at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you very much for your visit and comment.
Is good to realize that you had a good time with your family at Arenal Lodge.
In this moment Arenal Lodge is working to provide high speed internet connection to the rooms so in your next trip you will have this service.
Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews