We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View Ever”
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed in the Arenal Lodge for three nights in October. While our first room (#24) had a great view, the decor and room was a little stale. With this said, I think that Costa Rica has a lower standard for hotels when comparing them to the US. Without an extra charge, we were moved to the chalets (#210) on top of Arenal Lodge. Let me tell you, this room had the best view that I've ever seen on one hotel room. Simply beautiful views of the volcano and the lake. Again, the room is dated and could be cleaner, but with a view like that, who cares.
Take note that the 2.5km drive up their "driveway" was long and bumpy. The food was very tasty at the Lodge. The servers were great! The pool and hot tub were a nice treat too. Don't count on the fitness center though. It has seen better days, probably a few years ago.
The hotel itself is so quite and peaceful! Nothing but nature can be heard here. There is a local macaw named Stephanie who stays close to the Arenal Lodge and may even been found sitting outside your door.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldsbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 485 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Upon arrival, there was a cold tropical drink waiting for us- along with breath taking views from our windows and the nicest staff waiting on our every whim. The room itself was beautifully designed and clean. Cozy jazzuzzi and contempo-rustic feel. The horse ride, tour, and excursion were a treat. The hotel is located few miles on top of the mountain- perfect for those who really want to get into the tropical atompsophere. But what a gorgeous view- I can't stress that enough. Yes, it is located 20 minutes away from the town, but who wants to be suffocated by the touring crowds when this gem of a hotel is the perfect picture of tranquillity? For those complaining clouds over the mountain: dont visit the RAINforest and expect no fog. And as for those complainging about the bugs and frogs, let me say there are also monkeys and toucans and parrots....Costa Rica is not for those who cannot appreciate mother nature.

Room Tip: we traveled during September adn got an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zkoolest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Our stay at Arenal Lodge was a bit of a mixed experience. We stayed 3 nights in one of the chalets and the view of the volcano is absolutely stunning – especially in the early mornings! The chalet itself seems rather run down, but the room was clean and the coffee mashine excellent. If there is a world championship in towel origami, the maid at Arenal Lodge will get the first price – we loved the various towel animals that were waiting for us every day!! The main lobby and restaurant also seems rather run down and there was a strong smell of mildew in the restaurant – a real shame as the view from the restaurant was amazing and the staff really nice. The garden is beautiful, but the pool smaller than it looks at the pictures. The Jacuzzis were nice though with superb views to the volcano. Included in the hotel stay was a guided walk in the hotel’s tropical forest and a horse ride on the hotel grounds. Our guide was Miguel – a really nice guy with a great knowledge on all plants and animals and a fantastic ability to spot animals. This could be such an amazing place if the buildings and grounds were cared for a bit more. If you are in Arenal for the view and wildlife experience, then I would recommend spending a night or two in a chalet.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a chalet - preferably top floor if you have the option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The location and grounds of this facility are quite good. My biggest criticism is the upkeep and the aesthetics. The room was not as clean as it could be and the fixtures were very dated. I had no problem with the rustic vibe, what I did not care for was the grunge element almost everywhere I looked. I was slightly uncomfortable laying down at night and using the restroom. The workout area was also grossly lacking, boasting a leaky roof and equipment that was rusty and not completely functional. The staff was quite friendly and accommodating but the place needs a face lift and a thorough cleaning...get out all the cobwebs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff was pleasant and accomodating and the property has a nice view. However, the property lacks warmth, a sense of being inviting, and overall dated. The front desk area/reception area, restaurant, and rooms looked like they are more southwestern that a rich, warm, tropical feeling place that Costa Rica is. It really looked liked a dated Best Western in Arizona or Nevada than the beautiful mts of Costa Rica and was overall dirty looking and upkept. The rooms had a dated, blah, and minimalist look. For being a mountain resort, it had no nice shampoo/condition, soap, or bath robes; just shampoo/condition in a pump on the wall. For being categorized as a mountain resort is an understatement. It looked like the place had been decorated from a tag sale with twenty plus year old furniture. If the current owner doesn't want to put money into the property, SELL IT!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freebiefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
9.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,950 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,657 reviews
8.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
601 reviews
8 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,328 reviews
12.9 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 6,541 - ₹ 11,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing