We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
369
315
144
69
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
315
144
69
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chalet room butterfly garden junior suite costa rica infinity pool horseback riding winding road jacamar tours howler monkeys main building an adventure amazing views every morning tour guide hiking trails hanging bridges san jose
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Upon arrival, there was a cold tropical drink waiting for us- along with breath taking views from our windows and the nicest staff waiting on our every whim. The room itself was beautifully designed and clean. Cozy jazzuzzi and contempo-rustic feel. The horse ride, tour, and excursion were a treat. The hotel is located few miles on top of the mountain- perfect for those who really want to get into the tropical atompsophere. But what a gorgeous view- I can't stress that enough. Yes, it is located 20 minutes away from the town, but who wants to be suffocated by the touring crowds when this gem of a hotel is the perfect picture of tranquillity? For those complaining clouds over the mountain: dont visit the RAINforest and expect no fog. And as for those complainging about the bugs and frogs, let me say there are also monkeys and toucans and parrots....Costa Rica is not for those who cannot appreciate mother nature.

Room tip: we traveled during September adn got an upgrade.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zkoolest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Our stay at Arenal Lodge was a bit of a mixed experience. We stayed 3 nights in one of the chalets and the view of the volcano is absolutely stunning – especially in the early mornings! The chalet itself seems rather run down, but the room was clean and the coffee mashine excellent. If there is a world championship in towel origami, the maid at Arenal Lodge will get the first price – we loved the various towel animals that were waiting for us every day!! The main lobby and restaurant also seems rather run down and there was a strong smell of mildew in the restaurant – a real shame as the view from the restaurant was amazing and the staff really nice. The garden is beautiful, but the pool smaller than it looks at the pictures. The Jacuzzis were nice though with superb views to the volcano. Included in the hotel stay was a guided walk in the hotel’s tropical forest and a horse ride on the hotel grounds. Our guide was Miguel – a really nice guy with a great knowledge on all plants and animals and a fantastic ability to spot animals. This could be such an amazing place if the buildings and grounds were cared for a bit more. If you are in Arenal for the view and wildlife experience, then I would recommend spending a night or two in a chalet.

Room tip: Definitely go for a chalet - preferably top floor if you have the option!
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The location and grounds of this facility are quite good. My biggest criticism is the upkeep and the aesthetics. The room was not as clean as it could be and the fixtures were very dated. I had no problem with the rustic vibe, what I did not care for was the grunge element almost everywhere I looked. I was slightly uncomfortable laying down at night and using the restroom. The workout area was also grossly lacking, boasting a leaky roof and equipment that was rusty and not completely functional. The staff was quite friendly and accommodating but the place needs a face lift and a thorough cleaning...get out all the cobwebs.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The staff was pleasant and accomodating and the property has a nice view. However, the property lacks warmth, a sense of being inviting, and overall dated. The front desk area/reception area, restaurant, and rooms looked like they are more southwestern that a rich, warm, tropical feeling place that Costa Rica is. It really looked liked a dated Best Western in Arizona or Nevada than the beautiful mts of Costa Rica and was overall dirty looking and upkept. The rooms had a dated, blah, and minimalist look. For being a mountain resort, it had no nice shampoo/condition, soap, or bath robes; just shampoo/condition in a pump on the wall. For being categorized as a mountain resort is an understatement. It looked like the place had been decorated from a tag sale with twenty plus year old furniture. If the current owner doesn't want to put money into the property, SELL IT!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freebiefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Costa Rica. Unfortunately the Arenal Lodge was the first hotel of our vacation package. The property is located in a beautiful area with great views of the volcano. However, the goat trail from the main road to the hotel is a nightmare, especially at night. The staff is cordial and friendly however, the entire property is need of updating. The beds are the hardest I've ever experienced. From what we understood the owner has little interest in making improvements because this is a losing investment for her. One night would have been tolerable but three nights was a test. We were happy to move on.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews