We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Bijagua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bijagua
Certificate of Excellence
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Bijagua for three nights and couldn't have chosen a better place. With prime views to Arenal Volcano, a pleasantly cool swimming pool, self-catering kitchen facilities if you want a break from the restaurants and above all else, fantastic and helpful hosts, this is the place to stay when in La Fortuna. For breakfast they drove us to a nearby place that dished up an absolutely fantastic breakfast feast, which was included in the price.

If you come by car you can park it virtually outside your room, rooms are clean with spacious bathrooms. When we left Jorge even gave us a lift to the airport, which we by no means expected. Should we ever head back to La Fortuna, we know where we'll stay.

Thank you again so much Jorge, Cecilia and all the family, you were fantastic!

Room Tip: We've had one of the upstairs rooms with brilliant views of Arenal Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubaachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    58
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
137
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

excellent value for money. Could not get a better view of the volcano! Swimming pool was great, the BBQ area and fridge facilities were fab, with the supermarket next door it was ideal to do a BBQ and salad. The family are so helpful and friendly it was a home from home. The rooms spot less. A very pretty garden feels like your own little oasis. They don't do breakfast at the hotel but give you a voucher for a restaurant down the road and as we hadn't hired a car they gave us a lift there!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

For the price, this place is exceptional! Very clean and comfortable. We had sucha nice view of the volcano. The owners treated us like family. Right next to it is a supermarket and some restaurants. Very convenient! Loved this place. Refer to Angela C's review. She described this place perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My friends and I were traveling on a Budget just last week for our first visit to Costa Rica. We were impressed by the price we paid our rooms were lovely, nicely furnished, with a balcony overlooking the Arenal Volcano. It was just lovely. Since it was off season, we had the swimming pool to ourselves (the water was surprisingly warm and comfy even in the rainy cool climate we found ourselves in that day!)

And Ceclia and her hubby (the owners) were both so gracious and very kind to us. It felt like we were welcomed family members. They made us Gallo Pinto (home made Costa Rica breakfast) with fressh coffee and tea and fruit one morning when were trying to head out super early for one of our adventures. They knew we only bought cereal and milk from the local grocery the night before as her quick fix, and were so nice to us. We stayed there for 3 nights and when it was time to leave we were so sad to go. Our stay ended with lots of warm hugs and memorable pictures.

Definite recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I cannot begin to explain how exceptional this place was for the price and the amenities.

*Amenities:
The outer common area has large picnic table with a full size gas grill, large fridge to store your groceries in if you go shopping at the grocery store that is literally next door. Sink to do dishes and coffee maker with complimentary costa rican coffee for the morning. Along with the price of the room you get a breakfast coupon every morning that you take to a delicious restaurant down the road about 1 1/2 km in the city of La Fortuna.
The pool is very nice, well kept, and clean.

*Rooms:
The hotel is small, maybe about 10 rooms so it is very quiet. When we were there, we only saw a couple of other people, and on the weekend it filled up a bit more. The rooms are small for 3 or more people, but who cares! you're just sleeping there and doing all other activities away from the room. I will say the bathroom was large and careful with the shower water, it gets VERY VERY HOT!

*Staff:
The staff was amazing, they don't speak a lot of English, but if you know even a little Spanish you're in good shape. They showed us where everything was, how to use it and assisted with coffee in the morning...even personally delivered incoming business phone calls to us. There are not phones in your room

*Location:
Edge of the city arriving from Liberia, close to town, slightly off the main highway and has a great view of the the volcano Arenal. and very pretty floral surroundings.

Why pay more money, when you can stay here? I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level (2nd level) have a better view of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
4.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,886 reviews
1.6 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
571 reviews
4.4 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijagua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijagua

Property: Hotel Bijagua
Address: 1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,653 - ₹ 6,602
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bijagua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy family hotel offers the perfect combination of personalized service and comfort in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica.We have 7 rooms equipped with different features to satisfy all your needs. In addition, it is perfectly located near the spring waters and Arenal Lake so you can live the most unforgettable times.You are going to enjoy the most spectacular view of Arenal volcano which amazes and thrills whoever looks at it. It is just the powerful grandness of nature.gps:10.46852,-84.66245Besides, you will have the chance to choose from our diverse list of tours in our tour office located in our lobby. Nature lovers will know that Hotel Bijagua is the best choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bijagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bijagua Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing