We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chill Out Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chill Out Backpackers
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

It is one of our best decisions of the trip to stay at this hostal. Ronny was very helpful even before we arrived. I have been comparing the price of the tours extensively before our trip to Costa Rica, and none of the options I found beat the price that Ronny offered. I believe he sacrifice some of the profits he can make for the people who stay at his hostal. The hostal was clean and comfortable. Best bed of our trip to Costa Rica. The hot water was unfortunately not working when we arrived late the first night. But Ronny did everything he could to help us. He let us use the shower in the other rooms, and switch us to another room the next day as soon as it is available. I will stay here if I come to La Fortuna again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
25
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

After arriving in a group to La Foruna from Monteverde a lot of the travellers headed for Gringo Petes, but we liked the sound of Sleeper´s. Our first night wan´t that great - the local church band across the road seemed to be practising the same song over and over. But it was probably the heavy rain that spoiled the day more than anything.
However, we ended up loving this cheap and secure hostel and stayed at least 3 more day than we originally intended. Owner Mauricio was happy, helpful and chatty; helping us book both the Arena and rafting tours at really short notice. He also hired us 2 of his brand new mountain bikes and gave us directions to the local hot springs.
The wifi was good, the free breakfast was really nice, and the private room with cable tv was a treat when the La Fortuna downpours kicked in.
Big thanks to Mauricio!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrendonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We arrived in Arenal a day earlier than expected so didn't have our accommodations booked. Our hostel in Tamarindo arranged for us to stay with Mauricio at Sleepers. For $25 a night for a private room, it was a great value. It's just off the main road of La Fortuna, in the southwest end of the town. It looks and feels more like a small motel, and less of a social hostel. Our room was simple, with a double bed, a bunk bed, private bathroom and a fan (no AC). There were some ants crawling around the bathroom but we weren't too fussed about it. Everything else was clearn. The room rate includes a nice breakfast with fruit, cereal and milk, toast and eggs. Plus, Mauricio was very helpful in answering our questions about La Fortuna and giving us information on tours (without being pushy).

Room Tip: The room described in the review was #207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at Sleepers Sleep Cheaper knowing that coming from Nicaragua, Costa Rica overall would be a more expensive experience. We booked 3 nights here and 3 nights in the sister hostel in Monteverde. We arrived a day early, which was seemingly no problem at all for our gracious hosts Ronny and Maricio. They welcomed us heartily and were very accomodating. We got a room w/o bathroom, and upon first inspection, it was a bit musty. Hard to avoid in the area with all the rain, however, and even with my girlfriend's sensitive allergies we had no problems whatsoever.

We booked our activities easily and for the best rate with Sleepers, rented nice bikes, and also a nice breakfast is included with the room rate. Jeep-boat-jeep ride to Monteverde right to their sister hostel is convenient and cheap. This hostel is conveniently located next to the church and Parque Central and was very easy to find. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling on a budget and in this area, as it is a high tourist area with many expensive developments. It was a gem to find!

Room Tip: It might be worth the money (5$ or something) to get a room with bathroom, as these are upstairs wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacita
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

You feel immediately at home at this place as Mauricio gives you a warm welcome. He is helpful at giving tips where to go and what to do. Otherwise just hang out in the garden, having the Arenal volcano right "in front" of you. Rates are fair, private rooms are very good value. Dorm is a bit dark. Good kitchen, good location, the place is clean and you even have a little breakfast included. Had a very good time there, thanks Mauricio!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 km away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#12 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 km away
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad Hotel
#25 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#11 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.3 km away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 38 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill Out Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Out Backpackers

Property: Chill Out Backpackers
Address: 100 meters W of the bus stop | Next to Gringo Pete's II, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 119-5655, Costa Rica (Formerly Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,021 - ₹ 3,335
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Out Backpackers is under new ownership and moved location. We are the ultimate and economical place to stay in La Fortuna with rooms only 10 dollars per person. Free Breakfast, Free Internet and Kitchen use is included. Located in the center of La Fortuna, only 100 meters west from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chill Out Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chill Out Backpackers Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing