We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botanical gardens”
Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 56.00*
and up
Nature Walk at Ecological Park and Butterfly Garden Danaus
More Info
US$ 65.00*
and up
Butterfly and Fauna Garden at Danaus Eco-Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Botanical gardens”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Nice gardens, good orchid garden, nice frog pond. Worth a morning's walk.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    150
    43
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely learning experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

It was better than I expected. It was part of a group day tour that we went on with others from our hotel, and it was the first stop. Our group guide acted as our tour guide there, which worked out very well as she was well informed and often referred to her books to show us reference images. Going with a guide familiar with CR flora & fauna is a must! They know what to look for and are knowledgeable about local birds and animal noises.

The history of the Ecocentre is interesting; be sure to stop and see the picture of the differences in the land over time. I think the purpose of the centre is great and very educational. It's a lovely and quiet way to spend a few hours.

Because we had more to do on the tour, it wasn't as long as some others, but probably about 90 minutes. I can't even remember all the animals and frogs we saw. Bring binoculars - they'll come in handy.

The butterfly conservatory was the best part for me. We got to see different butterflies at different stages, including some monarchs that had just come out of cocoons and were trying to stretch out their wings. Lovely photo ops in the butterfly tent, but those with some good cameras and zoom will likely get some better shots as the butterflies don't always settle near the tourists.

We had a history presentation by a member of the Maleku tribes and he explained their art and some of their traditions, which was informative. The masks are wonderfully made. Outside the presentation building is a little herb garden, where we sampled some of the plants (under the guide's supervision, of course).

Back at the main building, the guide put out some food to entice the brightly coloured birds to come, which they did, along with two guinea-pig like animals, agouti. It gave us an opportunity to see the birds close up, along with giving us time to peruse the gift shop, which was better stocked than I expected for an out-of-the-way site.

Overall, a quiet, lovely educational trip for everyone. Good for the family.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ecologically oriented, lots of wildlife”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Despite the rainy conditions we enjoyed our tour, learned both about the wildlife and the indigenous Indian tribe.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it !! Great experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I have nothing but great things to say about this place. In fact, we can't stop talking about it ever since we came back from Costa Rica.

We did La Fortuna waterfall in the morning that day and it was about 2:30 PM in the afternoon by the time we finished lunch. This left us with very few choices for tour activities and we weren't even thinking of Ecocentro Danaus. Our tour operator suggested this place when we asked for some place that we could go close by to watch birds, frogs etc. Since the center officially closes at 4:00, he called them ahead to let them know we were coming. They were happy to host us beyond 4:00 PM

Without much expectations, we took a taxi (10 minute drive from La Fortuna) to the center. We were offered both options - guided or non guided. We decided to go with a guide which ended up being a great choice.

Elias, our guide was the highlight of this tour. He is very knowledge about bird/buterfly species and is very friendly and helpful.Thanks to him, we saw several kinds of birds including Tanagers, Toucans, Parakeets, storks. Also saw a sloth. Elias carried his binocs with him and we were able zoom in on these these birds and animals. Our 16 month old daughter loved touching and playing with the butterflies in the butterfly garden. Elias took some great pictures for us using our camera. We got an amazing click of the famous costa rican green frog.

Overall, a great experience at the center. Make sure you take the time to stop and observe. As some other reviewers have said, If you walk quickly, you will miss many things. Recommend using a guide - Ask for Elias if he is available

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem_AK_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant excursion - don't rush through it!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We spent 2 or 3 hours at the center and really enjoyed it. We did not use a guide, but had our binoculars and bird book with us. I think the trick is to take it SLOWLY. We moved quietly and slowly, really taking the time to look at all the weird and interesting plants and flowers. By doing so, we also saw many butterflies and birds. We also enjoyed the Malaku exhibit, and appreciated the low key approach to selling some of the artwork. At the end our self-guided tour, a young guy came over to tell us there was a sloth out in the parking lot. One of the employees from the nature center came out with his scope and we got some great views and great pictures of a 3-toed sloth. This employee told us many interesting facts about the sloth as he moved around the trees. Similar to other experiences in CR, we were very impressed by his friendly and helpful attitude. It was a fun afternoon. We did not have a car, but a taxi taxi from La Fortuna was less than $10 (I think it was $7).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing