We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a guide and enjoy your tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ecocentro Danaus

Ecocentro Danaus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 56.00*
and up
Nature Walk at Ecological Park and Butterfly Garden Danaus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Small private Natural Reserve that takes care of a secundary forest in natural reneration. iT counts with a 600mts trail along the park. Around the facility you will find sloths (2 and 3 toes) a pretty big diversity of birds (Aprox.170spp)Butterfly garden, where you breed close to 20 different species. The frogs are very common, but mostly at night, in the day the msot active one is the blue jeans frog. It also has a small natural lake where Iguanas, Boat billed Herons and Caimans interact together. Besides wildlife, the Ecocentro Danaus supports the Maleku's Indigenous by providing a small facility where they can teach and exhibit their art ( Buying their art is optional )
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Get a guide and enjoy your tour!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We almost took this tour self-guided when a guide stopped by to ask if we wanted him to lead us through. We went back and payed the guided-amount for the tour and it made all the difference.

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and showed us many different species of animals and plans that we would have ignored had we gone on our own. He also showed us a cool trick with our camera which we still use to get impressive photographs!

This tour looks simplistic on some attraction sites but it is chock full of great things to see and do.

We even stopped at the hut where indigenous Maleku people sit and describe their culture. This tour is worth its price for this alone. We really enjoyed everything about our Ecocentro Danaus tour!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    140
    42
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great night tour with Elias”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Everyone loves Elias! He was clearly passionate about nature and gave us lots of great information about all the animals we saw (various frogs, snakes, insects, and birds). We did the night tour with a total of 4 people, so it was a nice small group.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank augusto80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easy hike threw the trails.”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is probably one of the easiest hikes you can do. The price of admission is cheap and the fact that it was once farm land now turned back into wilderness for free roaming animals is a HUGE plus. I would recommend mosquito repellent, because there are plenty of them around due to the lake in the middle of the facility. A guide is not needed, but you will learn a lot more with the help from one.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank m90m90m90m90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worth the trip,,,, but take a guide”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We arrived in the La Fortuna area this week and had an hour to kill before we checked into our hotel, so our guide took us here. It is worth it for the birds alone,,,, so beautiful and colorful. Saw about a dozen differenet species up close. Also saw interesting frogs,,,, like tiny orange ones about 1/2 inch long that make so much noise. and light green frogs that sleep during the day on the bottom of leaves. They have an enclosed area for butterflies and moths,,,, check out the owl eye butterfly and blue morphos butterfly up close. We did not see the sloth or monkeys, but there was enough to keep us occupied for an hour. Plus you will see plenty of them when you visit the Arenal area on nature trails. But i would definitely suggest going with a guide, all guides carry a telescope and you can see birds up close.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SAMD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth coming here”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We came on a whim because we had a couple hours to kill during the day. It was well worth it. Our guide, Elias, shared a wealth of knowledge with us and showed us some amazing wildlife. We did not see monkeys, but butterflys, frogs, sloths, birds, plants and trees and learned so much about each. Having a guided tour is a must. Definitely ask for Elias!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RID7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ecocentro Danaus also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ecocentro Danaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing