We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED this place!”
Review of Hotel Vista Arenal

Hotel Vista Arenal
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vista Arenal
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a school group. Having traveled to Costa Rica several times, this really was one of the best places we stayed. It was not the fanciest, but it was clean, safe and most importantly, hospitable. The manager was very concerned about making sure we had a great stay and treated us like guests in her home. She was always available to help with anything we needed. It is situated in an rural area with wonderful landscaping/jungle-like area to walk around in the back. The food was wonderful homemade and yes, it was open air eating, as is typical in Costa Rica. There were no more bugs than I see in the States in the summer, only different kinds, which was neat for my students to see. I was in 6 or more rooms and didn't see one that was unclean or not secure. Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The main two buildings of rooms are the best. There are two attached to the main office that are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

As a part of a school tour group from the United States, this hotel was chosen by the company that planned our visit. There is no way I or my daughter were staying here; even if it was only for two nights. Our room was on the main level, had no privacy curtain (only a lace drapery), the towels and linens were dirty, there were bugs on the pillows, garbage in the garbage cans from previous guests, and we had no water. In addition, we had an additional guest...a spider the size of my hand! We managed to arrange a room across the road (thanks to a VERY GENEROUS tour guide), and had no troubles at all. After the first night, there was a moth the size of my hand hanging in the very same lace curtains. Major bug problem!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, no matter what the circumstances. Hopefully the school tour company gets it together and starts choosing a different hotel in this region.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel with my tour group and it was the worst experience I have ever had. The rooms were bug infested, staind sheets, and the bathroom was horrible. The food was bad and the kitchen was an open air kitchen. There was a pool but it was not filled up until we left. The rooms were also not clean there were crushed Bug on the curtains and the walls and the ceiling was leaking. They do not change the table settings and the breakfast was two peices of toast and a little fruit. I DO NOT RECEMOND THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepperkreuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

An American school group was just there and a guy was climbing into rooms through the bathrooms. He stole purses and cell phones. It had to be an inside job because he only stole from the adults and the hotel didn't do anything to help. They switched hotels that day. Several hundreds of American dollars, purses and cell phones were stolen. One adult saw the guy climbing in and startled him and he ran away. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrMister2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel was alright, but it had a major bug problem. Our bathroom floor was covered with them! However, I wouldn't say it was too low quality for a hotel in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0 km away
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
#56 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
8 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
118 reviews
0 km away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#52 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0 km away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
0 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#33 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Arenal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Arenal

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 3,973 - ₹ 7,178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing