We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People will sneak into your room while you sleep & steal your $$$ & cell phones!”
Review of Hotel Vista Arenal

Hotel Vista Arenal
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vista Arenal
Reviewed 18 June 2013

An American school group was just there and a guy was climbing into rooms through the bathrooms. He stole purses and cell phones. It had to be an inside job because he only stole from the adults and the hotel didn't do anything to help. They switched hotels that day. Several hundreds of American dollars, purses and cell phones were stolen. One adult saw the guy climbing in and startled him and he ran away. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrMister2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel was alright, but it had a major bug problem. Our bathroom floor was covered with them! However, I wouldn't say it was too low quality for a hotel in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I planned to stay one night only in this part of costal rica so we chose this place after looking at their website. Wow the pictures are very deceiving. We thought we were staying in something similar to a reasonably priced holiday inn not a roadside truck stop. The man at the reception area was polite but when we walked in the room I thought it was a bad dream. Fortunately we only have to stay here 7 hours. I hope they fix this place one day because one positive thing it has is a great view of the volcano.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tnycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I was part of a tour group that stayed at Hotel Vista Arenal recently. To a person, every adult in the group said it was the worst hotel they had ever experienced, and these are all well-traveled people. The rooms were dirty, the AC didn't work in many rooms, the construction in several rooms was shoddy, some rooms had dirty linens, the list goes on and on. Every room had a major problem of some kind, and most had multiple issues. The soap dish in my shower was encrusted with what had to be years worth of scum, but that didn't matter because it also had a "Frankenstein shower" with electric wires run to the shower-head to heat the water, so I didn't use it. Additionally, the bed frame was constructed out of plain 2 x 4's, and there was a three-inch gap at the base of the external door. There are many lovely and inexpensive places to stay in the La Fortuna area, so avoid this establishment at all costs! We have contacted the tour provider and urged them never to use this place again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cholt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Excelente vista al Volcán Arenal. Son independientes (tipo cabañas)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rarmand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0 km away
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
Hotel Paraiso Tropical
#56 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
8 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
117 reviews
0 km away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#52 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#33 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Arenal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Arenal

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 59 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 4,000 - ₹ 7,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing