We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, family friendly hotel!”
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, VA
1 review
“Excellent, family friendly hotel!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I went to Costa Rica with my daughter, then 15 months, and stayed at this hotel. They were SO helpful and friendly with me and my daughter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without kids. Also, the hotel is close to the airport, the breakfast is included and is very good! Excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaW916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    80
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
96
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The staff at this hotel was very good. The shuttle service was good and the hotel is very close to the new highway. They are fixing up the grounds and there is a nice little pool. Breakfast was very good.
The room unfortunately was very basic. My husband was quite surprised to find the hot water tap in the sink was not hooked up. The beds were very hard and the television did not have good reception. We were only there for one night and did not use the shower, it was not particularly inviting. Free wifi is available but we were not close enough to the main office to use in our room. There is no mini fridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredtraveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburg, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel robledal is family owned and ran. Very clean and the people were great. We arrived very late at night and they were there to meet us at the airport. We spent two nights there before going to the coast. They arranged a city tour of San Jose for us and took us to where we were to meet the tour group. They spoke very good English and took time to visit with us. The only problem was not knowing how to operate the a/c and didn't figure out their was a remote for it until the next day. Food was very good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

One bed was comfortable; the other was very hard. Room was stuffy, and also quite noisy with voices from the pool. The hot tub was not hot. No hot tap water.

Saving grace: the staff was extremely accomodating of our late arrival and need for a *very* early airport shuttle. Five stars for the staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stjarnisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel Robledal is very convenient if you need to overnight near the San Jose airport. It is a safe, quiet and comfortable place to stay if you want to avoid going into San Jose. They offer easy reliable free airport transfer and it's only a 10 min drive to/from the airport. The rooms are clean, and nice. The breakfast (included) is excellent and their suppers are simple but delicious! the pool is a bonus as well. The hotel is run by a lovely family and they will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Emmanuel will tailor excursions for you if you have time - we went to Poas volcano and the Doka coffee plantation with him. He is a warm, friendly and knowledgeable guide. Sure the hotel is pretty isolated and there isn't really anywhere to walk to, but if all you need is the comfort and proximity to the SJO airport then this is your place, you won't find nicer hosts! We wanted to avoid the "big city" so this was perfect for us.

Room Tip: They're all quiet and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you Susan for your nice comments..! We hope to have you back in the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
4.6 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Property: Hotel Robledal
Address: Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble 400, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,782 - ₹ 7,561
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing