We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again Pura Vida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was my third trip to the Xandari in the Central Valley. We had a wonderful relaxing stay. This is one of my favorite places to stay, everyone is so friendly and the hotel is still beautiful. Thanks to Jose and his wonderful bird walk tour of the Xandari 40 acres and Marco's and all the wonderful staff at the restaurant ( great food).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbiB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Xandari Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 608 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful grounds and swimming pools. The rooms are spacious and distinctive.

The only negative is that the restaurant is a little small (so you can have to wait for a table), and the food is not quite as good as at other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica - but it was good enough.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank LondonSquiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Situated 20 minutes from and overlooking the San Jose airport, this property is managed by a pleasant and efficient staff. However the duplex casitas are uncomfortable concrete boxes far out of scale for their beautifully landscaped surroundings and for human comfort. Overly high vaulted spaces cannot be secured against often cold winds of the Central Valley, and we were chilled through. The buildings at the resort were painted in a clownish assortment of garish hues. Our bath was ful of towels, but offered no shelf in the shower for a bottle of shampoo. The metal toilet door often slammed shut in the winds. Barking dogs in adjacent neighborhoods kept up a canine conversation throughout the night. Food at the one restaurant was good, but unimaginative.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonshadower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Xandari is awesome. Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms where every comfort has been anticipated and delivered. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our 10 day trip in Costa Rica. The food was very good with friendly service (especially Marco) and the restaurant was so comfortable, relaxed and in a lovely setting - we were happy t to linger over our meal (we ate 3 breakfasts and 3 dinners at Xandari). We used the front desk service to plan two day outings (although the trails, flowers, pools and artwork on the property are so extensive you could happily spend the whole time exploring the property). On both of our day trips our driver was William. Not only did he do an expert job of navigating the tricky Costa Rica roads, but he also was a terrific ambassador for his country, sharing with us interesting facts and discussions about Costa Rica ranging from history, to current events, politics, wildlife, nature, and food preparation. What a treat for us. Our first day trip was to La Paz and Volcan Poas (both worthwhile stops), and our second trip was to the Tirimbina Biological Reserve. At Tirimbina there were no Naturalists available to give us a tour, so William offered to accompany us and shared with us a wealth of information about the flora and fauna at the reserve. The drive through Braulio Carrillo park on the way back was breathtaking. William spotted some toucans and howler monkeys along the way and stopped so we could get photos.
You cant go wrong booking a stay at Xandari - next time we plan to visit both the Alajuela and Pacific Coast Xandari resorts. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Second time I have stayed here. Not as nice as 10 years ago but still very well designed hotel with stunning artwork everywhere and good views of the valley, plus hiking trails on site. Restaurant good, staff all very attentive. Sadly there are dogs in the local vicinity who bark all night and you need a vehicle to go anywhere else since the surrounding neighbourhood is quite poor. It is a good spot to spend a night or two en route into or out of the airport. We were not charged extra for the small snake who appeared under our patio door. Like most of Costa Rica, insects, birds, reptiles abound and most of them seem able to get into your room. They are harmless though. Leave no food out as ants will come in their millions.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rallyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.4 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
17.2 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
6.8 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
6.0 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: ₹ 8,400 - ₹ 26,696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing