We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveller rating
789
189
39
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
189
39
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central valley hiking trails infinity pool ultra villa san jose private jacuzzi costa rica botanical gardens overlooking the valley coffee plantation large balcony twinkling lights beautiful grounds rooms are huge main building before flying home dogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful grounds and swimming pools. The rooms are spacious and distinctive.

The only negative is that the restaurant is a little small (so you can have to wait for a table), and the food is not quite as good as at other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica - but it was good enough.

Date of stay: December 2010
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LondonSquiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Situated 20 minutes from and overlooking the San Jose airport, this property is managed by a pleasant and efficient staff. However the duplex casitas are uncomfortable concrete boxes far out of scale for their beautifully landscaped surroundings and for human comfort. Overly high vaulted spaces cannot be secured against often cold winds of the Central Valley, and we were chilled through. The buildings at the resort were painted in a clownish assortment of garish hues. Our bath was ful of towels, but offered no shelf in the shower for a bottle of shampoo. The metal toilet door often slammed shut in the winds. Barking dogs in adjacent neighborhoods kept up a canine conversation throughout the night. Food at the one restaurant was good, but unimaginative.

Date of stay: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonshadower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Xandari is awesome. Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms where every comfort has been anticipated and delivered. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our 10 day trip in Costa Rica. The food was very good with friendly service (especially Marco) and the restaurant was so comfortable, relaxed and in a lovely setting - we were happy t to linger over our meal (we ate 3 breakfasts and 3 dinners at Xandari). We used the front desk service to plan two day outings (although the trails, flowers, pools and artwork on the property are so extensive you could happily spend the whole time exploring the property). On both of our day trips our driver was William. Not only did he do an expert job of navigating the tricky Costa Rica roads, but he also was a terrific ambassador for his country, sharing with us interesting facts and discussions about Costa Rica ranging from history, to current events, politics, wildlife, nature, and food preparation. What a treat for us. Our first day trip was to La Paz and Volcan Poas (both worthwhile stops), and our second trip was to the Tirimbina Biological Reserve. At Tirimbina there were no Naturalists available to give us a tour, so William offered to accompany us and shared with us a wealth of information about the flora and fauna at the reserve. The drive through Braulio Carrillo park on the way back was breathtaking. William spotted some toucans and howler monkeys along the way and stopped so we could get photos.
You cant go wrong booking a stay at Xandari - next time we plan to visit both the Alajuela and Pacific Coast Xandari resorts. Enjoy!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Second time I have stayed here. Not as nice as 10 years ago but still very well designed hotel with stunning artwork everywhere and good views of the valley, plus hiking trails on site. Restaurant good, staff all very attentive. Sadly there are dogs in the local vicinity who bark all night and you need a vehicle to go anywhere else since the surrounding neighbourhood is quite poor. It is a good spot to spend a night or two en route into or out of the airport. We were not charged extra for the small snake who appeared under our patio door. Like most of Costa Rica, insects, birds, reptiles abound and most of them seem able to get into your room. They are harmless though. Leave no food out as ants will come in their millions.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rallyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Wow, what a beautiful place with incredible landscaping and many walking areas. When we first checked in, I was in awe of a most unique and beautiful work of art and was even luckier to get to meet Charlene, the artist. We discovered she has created the beautiful and colorful paintings you see everywhere plus her many other creations using colorful tiles, etc. The room we stayed in was decorated using Costa Rican woods & decor and then mixed in was a bit of art deco. The room also had a fridge and coffeepot. The bathroom and shower area was unique, great towels and robes if you needed one. The deck had a marvelous view of San Jose. We had a late lunch which was very good and priced well, I expected it to cost more. The breakfast buffet had many delicious fresh choices. The staff was very attentive. Also, the rooms have a book that gives you lots of information and they even have many tours to choose from. I hope my pictures do Xandari justice but I doubt they will.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56Stargazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews