We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
778
182
37
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
182
37
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails central valley infinity pool san jose private jacuzzi costa rica botanical gardens overlooking the valley coffee plantation our honeymoon twinkling lights large balcony beautiful grounds rooms are huge main building before flying home dogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
717 - 722 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My wife and I spent 9 days in Costa Rica with our last day at Xandari. Although the hotel is a little further from the airport the ride was more then worth the effort.

We were met by Douglas the hotel manager when we arrived. He could not have been nicer and even upgraded our room. This was a pleasant surprise, one of several during our brief stay. The gardens and orchid house were extraordinary and the hotel has its own trails.

We stayed in room #5. It was spectacular- one of the finest we have experienced. It was furnished beautifully and had a view of the central valley.

The food was excellent- both dinner and breakfast were memorable. We walked the trails and saw the waterfalls. The hotel is a self-contained resort including a spa where the treatments are reasonably priced.

I give the hotel 5 stars plus!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Well located next to San Jose and offering amazing views on the Alajuela valley (and the airport far far away) this is your best bet when it comes to finding a chic but eco place.
5 stars at least in my book.
Pool is something you can't miss, with its dark lining and the statues around it.
Our room (number 24) was simply breath-taking. It is not a room it is a small house with a huge terrace overlooking the valley.
The spa is top-notch
Staff is very friendly.
Restaurant is offering fresh and tasty local food. Don't expect crazy French cuisine. This is simple locale fare.
You can take short hikes right from your room and if you have young kids I bet they will love feeding the baby goats with the milk bottles. The farm next door has very friendly people who will let you play around with the animals (kids love it).
I would go back in a wink!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We spent the last three days of a four week journey in Costa Rica at the Xandari Resort. For the most part our trip in Costa Rica was "rustic" , outdoorsy but amazing.

We decided we wanted the last few days in Costa Rica to have Air Conditioning, no jungle creatures and alot of luxury. The Xandari fit the bill. The staff we friendly and always helpful. The gardens are amazing as are the two incredible swimming pools. The resort is only a 20 minute drive to the Airport , approximately a half hour to Poas Volcano and and hour to the artisan town of Sarchi.

The Xandari is in Alajuela a much more laid back city just outside San Jose, it is a much better alternative to staying in the City of San Jose at the beginning or end of your trip to Costa Rica.

We ate at the restaurant each day and all the meal choices on the menu were excellent

The location is amazing, it is an old coffee plantation that looks onto the mountains and city below. At night the lights of the city below and a passing lightening storm made for incredible views.

Highly recommended at the start or end of a trip to Cost Rica if you are flying into or out of San Jose International Airport

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niko1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Everything in Xandari is beautiful.
The rooms, the swimming pools, the grounds, the spa, the trails....
Just go there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Looking for handicap accessible hotel for myself, husband and wheelchair bound adult son.
We stayed night before leaving Costa Rica. Villa and view beautiful, however, ants and some worm creature in our bath area. Lights in living room so dim you could not read or play cards after dark. Lack of window coverings made it impossible to sleep after 5 am. Needed to get out flashlight in order to see lock on outside gate. Golf cart to take us to room was unsafe for handicapped person. No side to seat or seat belts. Had to hold onto our son to keep him from flying out. There was no bath bench to allow son to take shower. We would not have stayed another day there even if we had been booked there. Bed provided for my son was a section of sofa with sheets on it. Would not have booked here if we had been informed he would not have a bed.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggiecat-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews