We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, laid back stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2007

This is a wonderful spot, with great views and less severe weather than the coast. I recommend you take one of the free-standing villas, as they have great outdoor space.

The staff here are first rate. They learn your name, and address you personally the next time they see you. I had a phone call to my room while I was having breakfast, they tracked me down and brought the cordless phone to my table.

Food is very good and reasonable. Arroz con pollo and an amazing pumpkin/coconut pie thing were my faves.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kiltboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Xandari Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 726 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2007

While the grounds and the food at Xandari were amazing; the walls are paper thin. If you're a light sleeper, you can hear the people in the next room and workers at 6 am. The hike to the falls is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BarbNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

SInce there were not a lot of people at the resort when we were there, they automatically upgraded us to a huge suite. It was absolutely gorgeous with two verandas, a sitting room and large private deck area. Only criticism was the odd shower layout which completely exposed the one in the shower to anyone sitting out on the deck by way of large glass doors which had no curtain. We hung a blanket over them. A small complaint given that everything else was beautiful, relaxing, and gracious. The grounds are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Playafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

NIce place on the whole. Spa treatments a tad expensive and not really top quality ( have had a whole lot better)
Villas are nice, well presented, good layout and nice balconies. Beds a little narrow. Restaurant pomotes healthy eating but menu is poor and choices limited. Front desk disappointing,lacking local knowledge. Owner often in residence and staff seem to forget other guests whilst they look after him
Not somewhere to spend a lot of time, but a decent base for exploring the many attractions in the Central Highlands of Costa Rica

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank horsedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

We spent our first and last nights at Xandari and I've never had an experience quite like it...the rooms, the staff, the FOOD! The food was amazing! We arrived at the hotel early, around 10am, and I didn't know if we were too early to check in, but when we got out of the van were greeted with freshly squeezed pineapple juice and told that our room was all ready.

Xandari is designed with the guest in mind - for sure. Private, beautiful, and with the best little kitty to keep you company. I've heard he will climb into bed with you if you let him.

There are books, games, a nice gift shop with local crafts, and seriously the food was the best I had in Costa Rica.

My only advice, or warning - when they say the restaurant closes at 9:00pm, they mean they close, not that they'll seat you till 9:00pm. On our last night we had just received our entrees when the music turned off, the lights turned up, and we no longer had any server...

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NYCtravelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.4 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
17.2 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
6.8 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
19.2 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: ₹ 8,445 - ₹ 26,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing