We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 112
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 69
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Airport Gardens(Alajuela)
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 256
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (989)
Filter reviews
989 results
Traveller rating
758
177
36
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
177
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolorchid housesan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoonrooms are hugebeautiful groundsmain buildingcity lightsbefore flying homedogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 989 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2007

While the grounds and the food at Xandari were amazing; the walls are paper thin. If you're a light sleeper, you can hear the people in the next room and workers at 6 am. The hike to the falls is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BarbNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

SInce there were not a lot of people at the resort when we were there, they automatically upgraded us to a huge suite. It was absolutely gorgeous with two verandas, a sitting room and large private deck area. Only criticism was the odd shower layout which completely exposed the one in the shower to anyone sitting out on the deck by way of large glass doors which had no curtain. We hung a blanket over them. A small complaint given that everything else was beautiful, relaxing, and gracious. The grounds are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Playafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

NIce place on the whole. Spa treatments a tad expensive and not really top quality ( have had a whole lot better)
Villas are nice, well presented, good layout and nice balconies. Beds a little narrow. Restaurant pomotes healthy eating but menu is poor and choices limited. Front desk disappointing,lacking local knowledge. Owner often in residence and staff seem to forget other guests whilst they look after him
Not somewhere to spend a lot of time, but a decent base for exploring the many attractions in the Central Highlands of Costa Rica

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank horsedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

We spent our first and last nights at Xandari and I've never had an experience quite like it...the rooms, the staff, the FOOD! The food was amazing! We arrived at the hotel early, around 10am, and I didn't know if we were too early to check in, but when we got out of the van were greeted with freshly squeezed pineapple juice and told that our room was all ready.

Xandari is designed with the guest in mind - for sure. Private, beautiful, and with the best little kitty to keep you company. I've heard he will climb into bed with you if you let him.

There are books, games, a nice gift shop with local crafts, and seriously the food was the best I had in Costa Rica.

My only advice, or warning - when they say the restaurant closes at 9:00pm, they mean they close, not that they'll seat you till 9:00pm. On our last night we had just received our entrees when the music turned off, the lights turned up, and we no longer had any server...

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank NYCtravelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

We spent the final day of our six-day trip to Costa Rica at the Xandari, after spending five days at the Lapa Rios EcoLodge. It was more than we expected. On arrival, we were offered pineaple or mixed fruit juice, and then taken to our bunaglow. Since we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, the staff had decorated the room with flowers!

The grounds are lovely, and provided about two hours worth of hiking through a bit of jungle, an orchard and a field of coffee bushes. Our room was gorgeous, with a view of the valley. The staff were friendly and attentive, and all arrangements were as we expected. Xandari arranged both airport transfers (to and from Xandari), and the taxi service was flawless.

We spent only one day at Xandari, enjoying the pool, hiking and dinner. They also offer several outings that seemed reasonably priced, but we were not there a sufficient amount of time to take advantage of these tours.

We highly recommend the Xandari!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EconProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews