We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xandari Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Xandari gets me... The owners have truly thought of everything. The villas are so well designed, spacious and functional yet unique and so colorful and vibrant. The hiking trails are magical, the restaurant is wonderful and has a gorgeous view of the city lites of Alejuela (as well as the villas). We had a villa with a little courtyard so the bathroom door opens to it and when you are in the beautiful shower, you are overlooking the courtyard. The sliding doors are huge in the bedroom and in the sitting area so when all the doors are open, it creates a lovely cross breeze. Enjoyed a great book during a downpour with all the doors open, looking across that lovely view. The couple massage in our own jalapa was unbelievable. With a waterfall roaring nearby and the open air view of the rain forest was again, magical. Marcela really went out of her way to accomodate us in every way. Marcos in the restaurant was very sweet and attentive. Xandari is not cheap, but it is very reasonable and they don't nickle and dime you. Free waters, juices, restaurant prices VERY reasonable and great quality and healthy foods. The Xandari special salad is amazing. Plus, they grow many of their fruits and vegetables so the food is sooo fresh. If I ever run away, I will be at Xandari. Can't wait to try Xandari by the sea. I'm sure they have thought of everything!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Xandari Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 623 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

What a great place! I found this hotel using Trip Advisor, and I am SO happy I trusted the other reviews!

Our driver was a delight, he picked us up from the Nature Air Airport in San Jose. He was very curtious with plenty of information and great conversation.
Once arriving to the hotel we were welcomed with more smiling faces and fresh squeezed pineapple juice... which was absolutely delicious!

After being shown our room, which was just beautiful... we had another absolutely delicious moment, our lunch! This restaurant has the BEST food!!
Immediately after our lunch, we began to explore the grounds. This was quite an adventure... everything from the pirvate orchid greenhouse, to the farm animals (which were hillarious), waterfalls, pools, orchards, trails... and last but not least the clouds that came right up to our blacony! I had never been in the clouds before, on foot that is... super cool!!

We had a 5pm Spa appointment that was truly out-of-this-world! We booked 1 hour deep tissue massages with a 30 min jacuzzi after. I can speak for both of us... this was the best deep tissue massage either of us have ever had. Serious Deep Tissue.

Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Our Room, the Staff, the Grounds/ Pool, Etc.... everything here was Superior!

We only had 1 night here at Xandari before we had to fly home, but I would most certainly stay here again. What an ending to our vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Upon arriving late at night in San Jose, my boyfriend and I were happily greeted by the very friendly driver of the hotel at the airport. Xandari is 20 minutes away from San Jose airport in Alajuela and is the perfect place to begin your trip to Costa Rica. Each room is unique and colorful, as the hotel is owned by an architect/artist couple. Each room is clean, bright, and surprisingly large. The grounds are lush and beautiful, with tons of hiking trails and GORGEOUS pools around the property. They grow their own fruits, herbs and coffee on this active plantation, and there are adorable farm animals. Flowering trees and blooming pineapples and exotic plants cover the property (which feels miles away from the city and very safe). The food at the restaurant is excellent, the service was great, and we loved each of the staff members we met. We did have to move rooms, though, because a neighboring dog barked like crazy, but the hotel happily accommodated us. They were very helpful setting up a half-day hiking trip to the Poas volcano, which was worth it! We would definitely stay here again and felt very relaxed and happy here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateUSA628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Xandari was the perfect indulgence for our last night in Costa Rica. From the first inquiry about rooms to the driver dropping us at the airport, everything about Xandari was excellent! The facility itself is gorgeous -- the bright colors are the epitome of Costa Rica! Our villa was very spacious, with a grand view of the Central Valley. We had an opportunity to walk the grounds to the waterfall, and swim in the new west pool. Dinner at the restaurant was very good, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious as well. We were delighted to take a sustainability tour of the hotel and have the opportunity to plant a tree to further beautify the grounds. We would definitely recommend Xandari!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My Sister travelled with me this trip to Costa Rica, She is a big fan of Top Resorts and Spas and insisted that we visit Xandari. We left Boston early AM and then we were quite delayed in Florida as the NorthEast got hit with heavy rain and winds closing down several airports. The resort stayed in touch with us the entire time as we had spa appointments scheduled for the afternoon. After several delays we arrived at Xandari at 6:00 and decided as the spa was closing to wait till the morning. We arrived at our Suite which was so magnificent, the space, the views and the accommodations were absolutely beautiful. We dined that night at their restaurant which boasts the most magnificent view of the central valley and all of the twinkling lights. The Meal and the Staff were both outstanding. The next morning we awoke to some great birding right from our suite. We took breakfast at the restaurant and then to the Spa which turned out to be one of the most spectacular massages I have ever experienced and I get a lot of massages! Konrad the Spa Director is amazing. I definately recommend taking the 1/2 jacuzzi time after your massage in the most relaxing spa treatment rooms with the same spectacular view of the central valley. We had to leave today to head to Quepos where I have a Sportfishing Business, but just for a few days because we are also visiting the Sister Property Xandari by the Pacific which turns out to be just as spectacular. For all of my clients visiting us in Manuel Antonio I will always recommend that you spend at least one night at Xandari Resort and Spa in Alejuela!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.4 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
689 reviews
17.2 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
6.8 km away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
19.2 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xandari Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xandari Resort & Spa

Address: 1 km northwest of El Diamante Bar | Tacacori, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#1 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: ₹ 8,330 - ₹ 26,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xandari Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xandari Resort & Spa offers the quintessential Costa Rica experience. The property’s forest reserve, with five waterfalls and miles of trails for bird-watching, provides the nature guests expect from a visit to Costa Rica. The landscaped gardens, the orchid house, and the farm all provide an additional abundance of tropical goodness. The Spa provides ample opportunity to unwind, to relax, to absorb the surrounding nature. All 24 villas, each uniquely designed and set within lush foliage, have spectacular views. And three times a day, our restaurant demonstrates the role of local cuisine in giving visitors an authentic sense of place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xandari Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari Resort And Spa
Xandari Hotel Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing