We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
800
195
40
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
195
40
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails central valley infinity pool ultra villa san jose costa rica botanical gardens overlooking the valley private garden coffee plantation twinkling lights rooms are huge beautiful grounds main building dogs barking before flying home longer stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The check in process was lengthy, done by rude, snippy staff members. The shower has no curtain and unless guests lock the entrance door (NOT the room door which of course is locked), people entering the area can see guests in the shower. The view was good, but the food was overpriced and only average. No one in our group could find the waterfalls on the walk, so don't expect to see it. The resort would not even mail my postcard, so don't expect guest service. Stay somewhere else.

Room tip: Rooms near the restaurant are noisy.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahrenmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaSolano, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank your for your candid feedback. I am sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the competence of our front desk team. Our unique villas design let you enjoy the surrondings without the worring of been disturb because no one will access a room when the gate to the garden is close, in 20 years we never got an incident regarding this matter. We have 5 waterfalls in our property and the trails are marked to easily find them it imposible to miss them just following the trails no even using the property map.

We checked with our Front Desk team and they informed us that you didn't agree on paying the postage for you past card, we are happy to send it to postal mail office in the near town without a charge but the postage needs to be cover by the guest.

Please email us with a phone number or email address so we can discuss your issues personally.

Pura vida!

Eugenia Solano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our last stop to enable an overnight prior to flying back to the UK. A very good choice as the hotel was located within its own large ornamental park, created some years ago by the owner. Lovely to walk round. Has three pools and the lounge and rooms are chock full of interesting art works. High above San Jose and the restaurant overlooks the city from some height. Twinkling lights during the evening meal and a fine view during breakfast. Food very good. fish dishes recommended. Also managed good cocktails, not always the case in Cost Rica! All the rooms are located external to the main hotel and all with private entrances, via garden paths..

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank searcher452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaSolano, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest: Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you back soon at Xandari and may be you could stay longer to have the chance to explore the waterfalls, Spa, green house and much more that we offered to all our guests.

Pura Vida!

Eugenia Solano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night as are flight didn't arrive into San Jose until 17:00 and the plan was to travel to Tortugero the following day. The hotel is very nice, lovely view back to the city and grounds. My only negative point and its not an issue with the hotel its self, but more the time it takes from the airport to the hotel. Due to the extremely busy traffic in San Jose, although the hotel is only a couple of miles outside the city centre it took over an hour to drive from the airport to the hotel. Our driver said it can take unto 2 hours on some days, so if you are in transit and only need a bed for the night I would look at more central hotels.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonEmmaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaS665, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that it took you more time than usual from the airport to our Resort ussually during rush time it is busier however it will never take the time your driver told you, we are only 7km from the airport and it takes no more than 30 minutes to travel to and from the airport to the hotel.

On your next visit, we are happy to share with you a sample itinerary that will help you maximize your stay in the area and stay longer with us. I hope to see you again soon.

Pura vida!

Eugenia Solano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Easily the best hotel gardens and walks on Costa Rica. Rooms are huge, quirky bordering on unique. Staff very good with that personal touch. But, while the food isn’t bad it’s just not served hot enough for dinner and breakfast lacks real choice (hence my 4 stars). That said this place is pretty damn good. Did I mention the restaurant view, it’s unrivalled. Recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 236miket236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Gerente at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that the temperture of the food didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used internally to improved. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at Xandari!

Pura vida!

Eugenia Solano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved it here. A lovely relaxed hotel set in amazing grounds, which we enjoyed walking around. We were only sorry that we had just the one night here. Eclectic furniture with fab artwork. Our villa had a spacious terrace with amazing views out to San Jose. The food in the restaurant was excellent. My husbands grilled red snapper was outstanding and he said it was the best meal he had eaten on our whole trip. The restaurant has spectacular views. Loved it.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cat050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Gerente at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Gracias! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your comments and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our team and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back at Xandari in the near future.

Pura vida!

Eugenia Solano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews