We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
774
182
37
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
182
37
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolsan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricabotanical gardensoverlooking the valleycoffee plantationour honeymoontwinkling lightslarge balconybeautiful groundsrooms are hugemain buildingbefore flying homedogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We only booked one night here and it was NOT enough! This place is beautiful, the grounds are so amazing! Our room was beautiful with a great view of San Jose. We took advantage of the hot tub in the evening and only had time to hike only one of their trails to see one of the breathtaking waterfalls on the property. We really wished we had more time to hike the rest of their trails. The food was fresh and very good. This was my favorite place to stay in our travels in Costa Rica.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, General Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Sherry: Muchas gracias for staying with us at Xandari Resort & Spa, it is always a great pleasure having guests who appreciate the beauty of the blessed grounds where the hotel is located and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Pura vida!

Eugenia Solano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice resort. However, not a very good nights sleep due to 3 dogs barking almost all night long. These were very close to our villa and maybe even on the resort grounds. On the plus side, Spectacular views and a nice room. Another negative was a poor wifi signal. Probably would give it another try next time we are in the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Sumbuca360sux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate your comments, we don’t have dogs at the resort, however our neighbors do, so sometimes we have this situation of barking noise since the hotel it is located on the hillside of the area and the sound travels always up. We are working on replacing all the cabling to improve the internet signal but to the location of the hotel there is only one provider that can assist us on this so we are on waiting list to get a better internet service hopefully in the next 4 weeks.

We would love to have you back at Xandari soon.

Pura Vida!

Jimmy Hernadez
Manager
Xandari Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My wife, 21-year-old daughter and I stayed one night at Xandari in July at the start of our two-week Costa Rica vacation and we highly recommend it. Xandari arranged shuttle transportation from the airport, $35 for three people, and it was well worth it. Traffic around the airport was gridlocked and chaotic and having our car delivered to us the next morning at Xandari was perfect.

The Xandari staff was very friendly and helpful. We were offered water or juice at check in by Luis, who was very welcoming. After we checked in, the staff called and asked if we wanted a dinner reservation. They later called to see if we needed a car the next day, not realizing we had already arranged for a car rental.

Our room was very spacious, colorful and beautiful. We had a large private balcony overlooking the valley. Each room had a colorful outer wall offering a private secure courtyard. The only downside to the room was that we had booked a triple, which in addition to a queen bed, had a narrow couch with sheets over it, which our daughter fell off during the night. But she loved the room anyway!

The restaurant was open air with a broad view of Allejuela in the valley in the distance. The included breakfast offered assorted meats, cheeses, tropical fruits, cereal, juices, banana bread, homemade granola bars, and the best coffee we had in Costa Rica. For an additional cost, we could have ordered hot foods, but we didn’t need that given the excellent free breakfast. The dinner was excellent—we had the salmon and shrimp. The next day, on 15-minute notice, the restaurant was able to prepare three delicious portabella sandwiches and French fries to go for lunch, which made our getaway day much easier.

There were lush tropical garden on the property with well-maintained trails. We enjoyed hiking the waterfall trail and gardens, where we were thrilled to see toucans. Given our short time, we did not get to experience all of the expansive trails. We also enjoyed soaking in the warm pool and hot tub. In all aspects, Xandari is a great choice and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TonesterPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, General Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for the comments, our staff cares about the service we provide to our customers day by day so that our guests have an unforgettable experience in our resort.

Pura vida.
Jimmy Hernandez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

I visit this place for coffee every now and then. The view of the Central Valley is terrific and one of a kind. At sunset or at night, you get a nice atmosphere while you enjoy their coffee and delicious dessert (or the meal). The staff is really kind and professional. It is very close to Alajuela downtown and the international airport.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, General Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you very much for your comments, it will always be a pleasure to have you again at our resort.

Pura vida.
Jimmy Hernandez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We are a family of 4 and had the pleasure to stay in the 2 bedroom villa. It was simply unbelievably beautiful. The modern villa had all the modern comfort and the view over the Central Valley was superb. The food in the restaurant was very good. The service was impeccable. In conclusion : a fantastic hotel and probably the best we had during our trip in Costa Rica .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philippe17297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews