We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spot on!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great staff, great acco, great location - perfect for a layover on arrival after a long flight. Friendly helpful people who act as real hosts to start your holiday and orientate you before you set off andenjoy this great country on your own

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razorfishsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    190
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
215
235
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here on a Headwater trip. This is a nice hotel with lovely views over the Central Valley of Costa Rica - our rooms did not have spectacular views but were still good quality with all necessary facilities. Good food. A nice first stop in Costa Rica up above the cities. Small but nice pool.

Room Tip: If you want the good views then you will need to upgrade to one of the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenity65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here after arriving from US and the night before we flew back - very nice rooms (ask for the new rooms), tasty breakfast and very helpful service - loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemasse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

... well, the best i have stayed in !
The hotel is easy to find (which is a real plus in Costa Rica), on the road to the Poas volcano and close to the international airport (~ 20 mins).
Great view on the central valley, beautiful gardens, nice little pool, wifi, postal service, coffee and quality souvenir shop, tourist infos, very good restaurant...
But their best asset is their staff !!! Especially Harlem and Coco... These guys there are really friendly, professional and helpful... They went the extra mile for me and made my last couple of days in Costa Rica so much easier !! Thank you guys !!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeManera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just got back from a great stay in Costa Rica! Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Buena Vista on the front end of our trip and 1 night at the end. it was super easy to get to BV from the airport, which was great. The complimentary shuttle was much appreciated! We stayed in a deluxe balcony room and it was great. Very clean and comfortable. The view was beautiful. We went zip lining at Colinas de Poas (only about 15 minutes away) and also visited Poas volcano.
Everyone we met at the Hotel Buena Vista was so nice and helpful. Harlen was amazing! Was great with his recommendations and made the kids amazing virgin pina coladas. They were thrilled!!
We would stay there again, for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
1.4 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.0 km away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#6 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
6.8 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#8 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
13.4 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,370 - ₹ 14,978
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing