We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Costa Rica...”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Annemasse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Costa Rica...”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

... well, the best i have stayed in !
The hotel is easy to find (which is a real plus in Costa Rica), on the road to the Poas volcano and close to the international airport (~ 20 mins).
Great view on the central valley, beautiful gardens, nice little pool, wifi, postal service, coffee and quality souvenir shop, tourist infos, very good restaurant...
But their best asset is their staff !!! Especially Harlem and Coco... These guys there are really friendly, professional and helpful... They went the extra mile for me and made my last couple of days in Costa Rica so much easier !! Thank you guys !!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeromeManera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    216
    58
    17
    7
See reviews for
237
268
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just got back from a great stay in Costa Rica! Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Buena Vista on the front end of our trip and 1 night at the end. it was super easy to get to BV from the airport, which was great. The complimentary shuttle was much appreciated! We stayed in a deluxe balcony room and it was great. Very clean and comfortable. The view was beautiful. We went zip lining at Colinas de Poas (only about 15 minutes away) and also visited Poas volcano.
Everyone we met at the Hotel Buena Vista was so nice and helpful. Harlen was amazing! Was great with his recommendations and made the kids amazing virgin pina coladas. They were thrilled!!
We would stay there again, for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very helpful and efficient. Beautiful place. Very helpful in getting to the airport !
Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was enjoyable. We were able to take one last "bird-walk" on the nice "Coffee Trail before the sun went down.
Thanks to everyone there !

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 545Dan_Martha545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My girlfriend and I took a three week birdwatching trip to Costa Rica and this was our final stop ahead of our morning flight back to the U.S. Our stay at Buena Vista was colored by a traffic fatality that we witnessed earlier that day on the Interamericana Highway near Cartago--a pedestrian fell into the path of an oncoming semi-truck right in front of us. When we arrived at the hotel we were basically still in shock, but the staff was nothing but helpful and understanding of our emotional distress. In particular, Harlem, the evening desk clerk, made several phone calls on our behalf to the driver of the truck, with whom we'd left our information in case he needed our statement about the accident. In addition, Christian, the manager, was also very helpful throughout our stay, and was great company in driving us to the airport the next morning.

Though we were in no condition to enjoy the hotel, I was present enough to note that it was truly beautiful, with a well-tended garden, gorgeous decor and very stylish and comfortable rooms. The food in the restaurant was great, even if our appetites weren't, and Harlem, who changed hats to become our waiter at dinner time, was affable and friendly and went out of his way to help us feel welcome and safe after a truly tough day.

If you're in Alajuela to visit the Poas Volcano or other nearby sights, or are just looking for a convenient spot near the airport, I definitely recommend Buena Vista. (Gracias, Harlem y Christian!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Well this was not our first visit nor will it be our last to Buena VIsta. It is a great simple hotel for a break/layover in your travels through Costa Rica or destination hotel for tours throughout the area. It is close to the airport with a free shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms are nice and very comfy beds. Ask for a newly remodeled room or stay in one of the new villas very private. Great for a family or a romantic stay. The grounds are maintained nicely with a nice small pool for relaxing. All are meals have always been good too. But the number one reason we continue to return to Buena Vista is the staff. They are wonderful. So freindly and helpful. They do everything with a smile on their faces. The owner is usually around and he is always very hospitable. We have had many visit to Costa RIca and stayed in many hotel but I have never experienced such a nice staff. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: villas or newly remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Costaricanfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.4 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
6.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
6.8 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 km away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,750 - ₹ 14,338
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing