We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special store”
Review of Souvenir Museum

Souvenir Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Alajuela
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Authentic handicraft, handmade in Costa Rica. Shopping with purpose!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Costa Rica is not known for its arts and crafts, but this store does function as a museum and provides wonderful examples/sale items from Costa Rican's indigenous cultures and contemporary artisans. You will learn a lot and have a chance to buy unique gifts (while helping artists and indigenous citizens).

Thank GretchenTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello GretchenTee!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Souvenir Museum!

We are pleased that you have summarized our goals so well.

Souvenir Museum is a place to:
- Learn about the Costa Rican culture and identity.
- Create real opportunities to improve the quality of life of our artisans, artists, and designers.

The best of Costa Rica is in our Museum-Store.

We hope you can visit us soon and see you again!

We will practice more Spanish next time.

Best regards,

Souvenir Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 3 reviews
"small shop"
in 2 reviews
"costa rica"
in 6 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 5 reviews
"culture"
in 5 reviews
"artisan"
in 3 reviews
"indigenous"
in 3 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We were so frustrated wanting to bring back something special for our kids, but couldn't find anything that wasn't mass produced. Robert, at Souvenir Museum, was great in explaining all of the products. They were a bit pricier (but there was very much a range of priced items), but I left feeling better that our purchases would benefit Costa Rica.

Thank kringlachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Hello kringlachick!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Souvenir Museum! We are so glad your kids have special gifts from Costa Rica.

Our goals is to offer authentic crafts for all budgets, give the opportunity to leave a footprint in Costa Rica and take with you a story to share.

When you buy, you give!

We hope you can visit Costa Rica soon and see you again!

Best regards,
Souvenir Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved our visit, unlike the normal souvenir shops, this one actually has a very knowledgeable guide to educate you on the different Costa Rican, indigenous cultures, there geographical locations, their artistry, their customs, and significance of their craft. We loved learning about them !! Plus Robert was awesome in guiding us to other sights not to miss....

Thank Aidacurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hello Mrs. Curtis!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience!

We love that our shop is also a museum! This allows us to share the culture and identity of our people through our crafts and guide you to experience the authentic Costa Rica.

It is great you have learned more about our country. We also learn with every visitor who honors us coming to our shop, we really enjoy to welcome persons as kind as you and your daughter.

We hope you enjoy crafts you purchased and we hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,
Souvenir Museum Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

A friend and I went there and was greeted by Robert. He was extremely knowledgeable and explained the story behind the pieces. The prices were very fare and the craftsmanship was beautiful. This is not somewhere you are going to find mass produced items. This is truely a gem that I found and I can’t wait to go back in about a week!!! It’s going to be really hard to find anywhere that will stand up to the standards of this unique stop. Thank you for your time, knowledge, and kindness Robert!

Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello Kim C!

We are indeed fortunate to have visitors like you!

We were proud to show the quality and authenticity of our crafts and it is always a pleasure to share the culture and traditions of Costa Rica through our service.

We will be happy to welcome you again before you leave our country.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It allows us to continue doing our best.

Best regards,
Souvenir Museum Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped here because we wanted to get some authentic fair trade souvenirs to bring home with us.

Unfortunately when we got there we discovered that were going to be closed the whole week for holiday week. But much to our joy Melissa was coming in to do some work in the shop and she offered to open up for us and when we entered the shop she spent a long time explaining the different regions of Costa Rica and why each item represented that region.

Everything was beautifully made and it was very reasonably priced. If you are looking for something to take back with you, make sure you stop here it's got something for everyone.

Thank danjacks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Director General at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello danjacks33!

It was a beautiful coincidence to meet with you at the Museum-Store!

It is always a pleasure to welcome our visitors and share our values and the history behind each craft.

We love being part of an enterprise that stands out for its principles of sustainability, fair trade and authenticity.

We thank you for spending part of your time in Costa Rica with us, it was a privilege to assist you.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and for sharing your experience!

We hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,
Souvenir Museum Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souvenir Museum also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Souvenir Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing