We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly handcrafted souvineers”
Review of Souvenir Museum

Souvenir Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Alajuela
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Authentic handicraft, handmade in Costa Rica. Shopping with purpose!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We stopped by this place on the way to the airport. The concept of a souvineer museum is new to me. There are some unique souvineers here and there are also some that can be found at the airport. I purchased a wood carving here then I saw similar products at the airport that appeared to be of lower quality and lower artistic talent a similar price. Hence, I was glad I stopped by the souvineer museum first. My wife bought a coloring book for her nephew that was also for sale at the airport at a cheaper price, so she wishes she'd waited. I guess it's hit or miss. With this purchase, the shopkeeper said he would email us on the history of each piece we bought with additional information of the region the piece came from. 1 week later and I'm still waiting for that email.

Thank Prince_of_Vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello Prince of Vacay!

We are so glad you visited us and discovered the quality of Souvenir Museum’s handicrafts and the artistic talent of our Costa Rican artisans.

Souvenir Museum is a fair trade enterprise which prices are fair for our visitors, but also for our artisans, artists, and designers. These prices are strictly determined by our policy of fair trade.

We are sorry that you have not read the story we sent you by email yet. But, according to our digital records, you and your wife visited us on October 28th and your receipt was created at 10:24 am, at 11:51 am we emailed you the stories of the handicrafts. Our server says it was successfully delivered but, you are right, it have not been opened yet. Please, check the spam folder just in case the email was addressed there.

Respecting your privacy, we are attaching the screenshots of our digital record to your email. Please answer the email and let us know if you receive the stories, if not we will send them again.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for giving us the opportunity of solve this issue.

Our commitment is to offer authentic handicraft and a exceptional customer service.

Best regards,
Souvenir Museum Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 3 reviews
"small shop"
in 2 reviews
"costa rica"
in 6 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 5 reviews
"culture"
in 5 reviews
"artisan"
in 3 reviews
"indigenous"
in 3 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2016

Really high quality locally sourced gifts. Bought sloth earingings and necklace - not available in London!!
Recommend it.

Thank Wifwaf1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Gerente at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Hello Wifwaf1954, thank you so much for recommending Souvenir Museum!
The earrings and necklace are more than a souvenir, they are the opportunity to continue improving the quality of life of Costa Rican artisans.
You buy, you give!
Greetings from Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a small store conveniently located not far from the airport that offers locally made artisan items. The beauty of this business is not only are you getting authentic items, but you are supporting local artisans by purchasing souvenirs here. We were enthusiastically greeted, informed of the mission of the souvenir museum, and after purchasing items we were sent a follow up email with the stories behind the items we purchased. I love this place.

Thank acr0cker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Gerente at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Hello acr0cker. Thank you very much for sharing your experience! We really love receiving visitors like you and we are so glad you have enjoyed the authentic Costa Rican handicrafts that our artisans make and the personalized attention that our visitors receive at our museum-store. We hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Gorgeous space inside with amazing items! Think of a Museum of Art Gift Store with Costa Rican artifacts!

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Manager at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Hello Laura! We love when our visitors discover the wonderful crafts we have and theirs stories. Thank you for you feedback! We are going to think if there is a better name that describe the authentic handicrafts we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Very good place if you want to get to know about the culture in Costa Rica. You will learn about all the handcrafts in Costa Rica and where and how they are produced. Of course you can also buy all of the displayed souvenirs in the shop for a fair price and thereby support the local communities. All the souvenirs are of high quality and 100% made in Costa Rica.

1  Thank keepcoding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Propietario at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Morning Keepcoding!

Is a pleasure for our social enterprise to know that you learned about the Costa Rican culture and identity through the experience in the Souvenir Museum and the quality crafts. You left your social footprint during your trip to Costa Rica.

Your comment fill us with inspiration. Thank you very much !!!

Greetings,
Team Verdes&Colores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souvenir Museum also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Souvenir Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing