We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place!”
Review of Souvenir Museum

Souvenir Museum
Ranked #2 of 6 Shopping in Alajuela
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Authentic handicraft, handmade in Costa Rica. Shopping with purpose!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very nice place, with a wonderful girl who explain lot of things!! Really interesting!
We bought a fabulous buruca mask (blue one)!
Thanks again for all!


Marion and Laurent. (France)

PS: could you send us by email the little description card which was with the mask we bought? :)

Thank Killzelolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Owner at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Marion and Laurent!

It was great to have you at Verdes&Colores, we’re glad you enjoyed the experience and were able to find a special souvenir.

Thank you very much for your feedback, it encourages us to continue working with our artisan communities and developing our store/museum concept.

By visiting Verdes&Colores you’re making ​​a difference, helping us veer the tourism industry into a sustainable process benefiting everyone involved, which is what we’re aiming for!

As to the description card, no problem we’ll be emailing it to you shortly.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

As others have said, a visit here is fascinating and worthwhile. Learn about authentic Costa Rican arts and artisans. Everything is top quality and well-priced. Makes you feel good about supporting these young business people and their sustainable and fair traded products.

Thank CAtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Loved this place. Melissa (I think that was here name) was very helpful. Besides speaking excellent english, she has an excellent command of Costa Rican history and culture. They offer a wide assortment of sustainable and fair trade gifts. Everything there is made in a way that helps preserve the peoples and cultures who have made Costa Rica what it is. Everything is from Costa Rica, and most if not all the gifts are made in the traditional way. This helps preserve the indigenous cultures who have been hurt and exploited by commercial copies of what they tediously create.

If you care about meaningful gifts that actually represent the country you are visiting, this is the place for you. If not, there are 50 million other stores that sell the same thing shipped from China that has your name on it.

1  Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Propietario at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Mrs. Jesee, thank you for the comment!!
Thanks to people like you, we continue to support artisan communities from Costa Rica. Through the authentic memorabilia gifts, we can take the stories and tell about our traditions beyond the borders.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Costa Rica.

Regards, Team Souvenir Museum Verdes&Colores®

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had the pleasure to visit the Souvenir Museo in Alajuela i found the products very beautiful with interesting stories that the people told me, if anyone is in Alajuela it is a good place to visit before you leave the country, because if you buy something you´ll help the artists that create the beautiful products and today we need to help the sustainable culture. Please go and visit for some nice gifts. it´s only 1 km from Central Park and i walked easily.

Jeffrey

Thank 929jeffreym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Propietario at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Mr. Jeffrrey
Thanks for the comment!
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Souvenir Museum. Thanks to customers like you we can continue to support the growth of local communities through sustainable development.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a amazing shop if you are in the area you need to go. I was very impressed with the knowledge and information that these three young people had about their country.

I learned a great deal of information that I would have missed had we not stopped in for a tour. I was very happy to learn that we were bringing home souvenir's that the people of Costa Rica had made and I hope that in some small way we helped the artists who had made them.

I would like to Thank Mellssa Mana Jose and Jucn Jose
For there wonderful smiles and lots of laughter.
All the best with your Souvenir Museum Your Canadian friends Petra & Albert den Otter

Thank eyesgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUVENIRMUSEUM, Propietario at Souvenir Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Mrs. Petra
Thank you very much for the comment!
Thanks to people like you, we can continue to support local communities through a sustainable development and raise awareness of our history and traditions as a country.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband in our Souvenir Museum. We can't wait for the next time you are in Costa Rica.
Regards, Verdes&Colores's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souvenir Museum also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Souvenir Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing