We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, out-of-the-way retreat”
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tacacori EcoLodge
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Restful, out-of-the-way retreat”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was a great place to unwind after finishing a two-week-long group birding tour, while awaiting departure back to the United States. It is reasonably handy to the airport at San Jose, which was one factor in my choice. The promise of some more leisurely birdwatching to close out my third trip to Costa Rica was another factor, and the web site seemed to promise that. I was thankful that I had printed out the map provided on the web site; my taxi driver relied on it heavily to get me to the property. He knew Alajuela well, but had not previously been to this particular location. Patrick and Nadine were very welcoming, and very responsive to my needs. I stayed in Casita Poro and was most satisfied with the room. It was simply, but tastefully, decorated and very clean. Wireless Internet access is available in the room. This is a B&B, so no lunch or dinner served. There was a small refrigerator in the room, even though the owners request that no food be kept in the room, because of the potential for calling insects; a bottle of water was chilled inside. The nearest eating establishment (and only one within "walking distance") is Xandari Resort, some "600 meters away" (according to the Tacacori web site); as noted on the Tacacori web site, guests here are allowed to use the resort restaurant. Unless you are in reasonable physical condition, I suggest you call for a taxi. The 600 meters is downhill on a steep hill; then, once inside the Xandari gate, you have a steep uphill walk to get to the restaurant. (Take a flashlight if you go at night -- there are only sporadic streetlights along the way.) Once there, though, I thought it was well worth the trip -- a wonderful view of San Jose and the valley below, especially at sunset and at night, and really great food and service. Back to Tacacori. The grounds are well-kept and quite nice. The breakfast, as some other reviewers have noted, is likely less than you may be used to at a B&B -- fruits, juices, coffee and toast with jam. I have to particularly applaud Patrick for his tolerance of my schedule. I was scheduled for a 6 am flight out of San Jose. Patrick arranged for a taxi to leave from Tacacori at 3:45 and also brought me a fruit plate and juice so that I would have something to eat in the morning before I left. For those of you who watch birds, I note that there is a Montezuma Oropendula nest palm on the property; it was great to get a close-up view of these Costa Rican birds. Other birds were present as well in the trees and shrubs on and near the property. As a retreat, a great place to stay. Having a car, as other guests did, would make one's stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    63
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
83
220
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I were very happy with our choice of Tacacori for our last night in Costa Rica. The lodge is away from the bustle and noise of the airport area, but is close enough that you can be there in 20 minutes. Nadine was friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the casita in the gardens was private, with a comfy bed, a great shower, and spotlessly clean. It was great to be surrounded by a beautiful garden, and the continental breakfast on the patio adjoining their house/reception area was perfect. A large plate of 4 or 5 different types of fruit, followed by toast and jam, and a pot of delicious coffee. Nadine gave excellent directions to the airport, along with a map to make sure we didn't get lost.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sakillik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

On our recent trip to CR, we stayed our first and final nights at Tacacori EcoLodge for convenience. We found the B&B to be tranquil and beautiful beyond our expectations. The rooms are spacious, with a lovely terrace to enjoy the gardens from. We stayed in the Poro and Bamboo rooms, and both were quite comfortable. The modern baths are a wonderful touch.

When we left Tacacori after our first night, we rented a GPS device from Patrick & Nadine. Their price was SO much more reasonable than the car rental company (car rental co. wanted $20 per day, Tacacori charged $6 per day for high season!). The GPS saved us a few times when we traveled to more remote locations, as our traditional map did not show certain towns, and road signage in CR is virtually nonexistent in some places.

We were very happy with our stays at Tacacori. Patrick and Nadine were very gracious hosts, and we plan to stay with them again on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rottmom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We took advantage of the Hello Goodbye offer that you can have at the Tacacori ecolodge and so spent our first two nights and last nights at the lodge. Patrick and Nadine were welcoming and our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The garden was beautiful and we saw some wonderful wildlife including a long tailed manikin from our lodge.

One of the reason we chose this lodge was because we wanted to stay somewhere relaxing and tranquil after our long flight from Europe and that is exactly what we got however if I were to stay here again I would arrange to have a car as eating out choices within walking distance are limited to the Xandari Hotel and it gets tiresome having to rely on taxis to go everywhere.

The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, toast and jams which I enjoyed however when we moved on to other B&Bs and lodges in Costa Rica, which provided traditional Costa Rican breakfasts, I realised that in comparison the Tacacori lodge breakfast was lacking a little. The website says they provide a continental breakfast and that is what you get.

Overall I would recommend this place but would advise travellers to hire a car (and a very essential sat nav) and to be aware that they won't get the generous breakfast that they may have become used to at other establishments.

Room Tip: You get to see more wildlife if you stay in the room right at the bottom of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our stay at Tacacori was exceptional in every way. The location is perfect. Close to town, for eating out, close to the airport, for convenience when you come in and leave Costa Rica, and close to volcanoes and coffee plantations and many other activities. Our casita was so nice - clean, comfortable and private with such beautiful landscaping right outside the wall-to-wall window and patio. You couldn't meet nicer hosts - Patrick and Nadine were so gracious and accomodating, treating us as special guests in their home. Patrick even got in his car and chased down the airline delivery van, when they delivered the wrong bag to me. They helped us plan our daily events, giving us directions and ideas on places to see. They were so helpful and nice, yet not intrusive at all. The breakfast that Nadine put together every morning was so delicious, and OH the coffee - wow! There is a small refrigerator in the rooms where you can store some cold drinks and a coffee maker, perfect for on the go people, who don't need a full kitchen. We enjoyed a leisurely morning at the property, looking at the the beautiful flowers and landscaping and watching birds - hummingbirds, flocks of parrots, from our patio chairs, drinking our coffee. Our recommendation is the Casita Poro, as the window and patio are completely private. We took advantage of their "Hello Goodbye" special, staying there our 1st two nights and last night. It was perfect. Great economic place to stay at the beginning and end of your trip and to be near everything, without staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirlsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.4 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
863 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
668 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,278 reviews
6.0 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
130 reviews
19.2 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Property: Tacacori EcoLodge
Address: Calle Burios | Tacacori, Alajuela 20106, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,674 - ₹ 9,306
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing