We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
234
27
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
27
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This was our first intro/exposure to Costa Rica and it was so comfortable and pleasant, we booked a night for our return trip home. George offered to pick us up from the airport as we arrived at 9:30 p.m.

Loved just about everything of this bed & breakfast-- the price, the room, the location, the vibe. George is an especially good, welcoming and professional host. His complimentary breakfast was tons of fresh fruit, homemade perfectly-baked muffins, juice, coffee and eggs. George arranged to have his friend Luis, an excellent, english-speaking native guide, transport and start our trip to the Arenal volcano area the next day marvelously. We toured the whole day, stopping along the way to view many places and things (famous wood factory, coffee plantations, waterfalls, unique picture shots, etc.) George offered us access to his computer (complimentary to guests).

If you're looking for a luxury spa experience, this won't be the place for you, but if you're looking for a comfortable, inexpensive base, close to the airport, and not far from the downtown area (shopping, some nightlife, food and public transportation), this little gem is hard to beat.

We certainly recommend a stay at this wonderful place, and would definitely visit there again!
D. Smith (Dallas) and Lina (Italy)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dsmith2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed at Alegria the first night and the last night of our honeymoon. George, the owner, met us outside of Customs at the airport with a sign with our names on it. He drove us to his hotel. The 'Hotel' is a large 5-bedroom house with 5 bathrooms. It is like staying in someone's home as a guest, not at all like a hotel. The yard is beautiful and the house is very clean. We spent time in the living room relaxing and there is free WIFI. Georgo made us breakfast, even very early in the morning. He also drove me to pickup my rental car in the morning. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is located in a residential neighborhood on the north side of Alajuela. It is quiet, but can be a little tricky to find. Make sure that George sends you a map. For the price ($50/$60), this place is perfect. Much better than staying by the airport. It is only about 10 minutes from the airport, and 5 minutes from downtowen Alajeula. I strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdavflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

George is such a wonderful guy and host! I was having credit card problems and he let me use his Skype to make a call, he will go out of his way to make you happy. Alegria is clean, comfortable, and the rooms are great. George helped us with places to go out to eat and more friendly people (just a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city). Such a great place to start our trip and gave us a great impression of the city and Costa Rica as a whole. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoandbeyond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

My friend and I stayed at Alegria B&B as we, half-heartedly, arrived back to Alajuela for our last night in Costa Rica. George, the owner, keeps a clean and flora-filled environment, an over all charming establishment. Guests can sit back and exchange adventure stories in the living where George invites all to make themselves at home. We got a clean and comfortable room, great dinner recommendation as well as a free lift to the airport in the morning and a breakfast to go. The accommodations were clean, friendly and easy going. Would recommend to others, as well as stay there myself again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfbreeze23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Like someone else said we came as a visitor left as a friend. This is a great place to stay for anyone wanting a convenient clean and safe place to stay near the airport. George was more than helpful and suggested great places to eat and shop. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanRickelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews