We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 190
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 134
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 256
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Airport Gardens(Alajuela)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
234
27
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
27
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2010

George is such a wonderful guy and host! I was having credit card problems and he let me use his Skype to make a call, he will go out of his way to make you happy. Alegria is clean, comfortable, and the rooms are great. George helped us with places to go out to eat and more friendly people (just a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city). Such a great place to start our trip and gave us a great impression of the city and Costa Rica as a whole. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoandbeyond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

My friend and I stayed at Alegria B&B as we, half-heartedly, arrived back to Alajuela for our last night in Costa Rica. George, the owner, keeps a clean and flora-filled environment, an over all charming establishment. Guests can sit back and exchange adventure stories in the living where George invites all to make themselves at home. We got a clean and comfortable room, great dinner recommendation as well as a free lift to the airport in the morning and a breakfast to go. The accommodations were clean, friendly and easy going. Would recommend to others, as well as stay there myself again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfbreeze23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Like someone else said we came as a visitor left as a friend. This is a great place to stay for anyone wanting a convenient clean and safe place to stay near the airport. George was more than helpful and suggested great places to eat and shop. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanRickelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed at Alegria for a couple of nights (on entering and leaving Costa Rica). It's a really convenient place to stay for the airport (only 5 minutes away) and George (the American owner) is a great guy who goes above and beyond in terms of hotel service. For example, my girlfriend's flight was delayed until around 1 a.m. and George offered to pick her up - what service!

The rooms are really nice, the beds are extremely comfortable and the whole place is wonderfully decorated. The breakfast is awesome - some egg/potato concoction, gourmet sausages, tons of fruit, beautiful blueberry muffins. Generally the food in Costa Rica is not good, so it was great to get this mini feast on arrival and leaving. Overall, Alegria is terrific value for money too. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sach160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Alegria Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful place to stay. We spent four nights at Alegria, and George was an attentive and gracious host the entire time. He picked us up at the airport, drove us back at the end of our stay, and provided great recommendations each day. Our first evening at Alegria, George invited us on his trip to the local Tico outdoor market, which gave us a phenomenal look at the Tico goods and a glimpse at Tico life away from the tourism spots. As for Alegria itself, the home is large and spotless, and very comfortable. A taxi stand is a short two blocks away, and during the rain George makes arrangements for front door taxi service. George's breakfasts are a great way to start out each morning as well. We will definitely be staying with George at some point during our next visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilistineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews