We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place near, but not too near the airport.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 62 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed at Alegria the first night and the last night of our honeymoon. George, the owner, met us outside of Customs at the airport with a sign with our names on it. He drove us to his hotel. The 'Hotel' is a large 5-bedroom house with 5 bathrooms. It is like staying in someone's home as a guest, not at all like a hotel. The yard is beautiful and the house is very clean. We spent time in the living room relaxing and there is free WIFI. Georgo made us breakfast, even very early in the morning. He also drove me to pickup my rental car in the morning. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is located in a residential neighborhood on the north side of Alajuela. It is quiet, but can be a little tricky to find. Make sure that George sends you a map. For the price ($50/$60), this place is perfect. Much better than staying by the airport. It is only about 10 minutes from the airport, and 5 minutes from downtowen Alajeula. I strongly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdavflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

George is such a wonderful guy and host! I was having credit card problems and he let me use his Skype to make a call, he will go out of his way to make you happy. Alegria is clean, comfortable, and the rooms are great. George helped us with places to go out to eat and more friendly people (just a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city). Such a great place to start our trip and gave us a great impression of the city and Costa Rica as a whole. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoandbeyond82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

My friend and I stayed at Alegria B&B as we, half-heartedly, arrived back to Alajuela for our last night in Costa Rica. George, the owner, keeps a clean and flora-filled environment, an over all charming establishment. Guests can sit back and exchange adventure stories in the living where George invites all to make themselves at home. We got a clean and comfortable room, great dinner recommendation as well as a free lift to the airport in the morning and a breakfast to go. The accommodations were clean, friendly and easy going. Would recommend to others, as well as stay there myself again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfbreeze23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Like someone else said we came as a visitor left as a friend. This is a great place to stay for anyone wanting a convenient clean and safe place to stay near the airport. George was more than helpful and suggested great places to eat and shop. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanRickelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed at Alegria for a couple of nights (on entering and leaving Costa Rica). It's a really convenient place to stay for the airport (only 5 minutes away) and George (the American owner) is a great guy who goes above and beyond in terms of hotel service. For example, my girlfriend's flight was delayed until around 1 a.m. and George offered to pick her up - what service!

The rooms are really nice, the beds are extremely comfortable and the whole place is wonderfully decorated. The breakfast is awesome - some egg/potato concoction, gourmet sausages, tons of fruit, beautiful blueberry muffins. Generally the food in Costa Rica is not good, so it was great to get this mini feast on arrival and leaving. Overall, Alegria is terrific value for money too. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sach160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 km away
Vida Tropical B and B
Vida Tropical B and B
#8 of 62 in Alajuela
257 reviews
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.0 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Residencial Alajuela, Pueblo Nuevo Apartado, Alajuela 1901-4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: ₹ 3,236 - ₹ 4,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing