We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George and Alegria B&B are a super find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 62 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I stayed at Alegria B&B for three one-night stays at the beginning, middle and end of my Costa Rica adventures....glad I did! George has created almost a home-stay experience - his guest rooms are all comfortable, the common areas offer great spaces to relax and his gardens are lovely. George was quick to communicate when reserving, helpful, informative, interesting to talk with, passionate about Costa Rica, and a great cook - he even packed me a fantastic breakfast when I had a very early flight out one morning! Alegria is in an ideal location, fairly close to the airport and the center of town but tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood.

Many other reviews recommended staying in Alajuela instead of San Jose, and while I don't have first-hand experience staying in SJ, I'm thrilled I chose Alajuela and Alegria!

Room Tip: I stayed in two rooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 twins-both very comfortable and with acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Wonderful, friendly, and comfortable place to stay. Centrally located and near enough to the airport to make for a great 1st few days and last few days of traveling Costa Rica. Breakfast is delicious and the hosts are very warm & friendly!
Loved my stay here, THANK YOU!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank March M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

So glad we found this place! After a long travel day it was so nice to have George waiting right at the airport exit for us. It's a nice quiet neighborhood only a few minutes drive from the airport. George was full of advice on how to spend our time in Costa Rica and the breakfast in the morning was amazing. Banana bread was the best of the trip! I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in to stay at Alegria after flying in to SJO and before heading out to the Osa peninsula the next day. It was a brief stay but George was a very hospitable host, and made us feel right at home! Our breakfast was absolutely amazing and very filling, just what we needed before a long drive. Definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hannibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Wonderful and spacious B & B. George the owner will pick you up at the airport and bring you to his B & B. His comfortable and clean home will allow you to rest and gather yourself for your holiday travels. We have stayed here on several trips and always have enjoyed the amenities, including a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 km away
Vida Tropical B and B
Vida Tropical B and B
#8 of 62 in Alajuela
257 reviews
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 km away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.0 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Residencial Alajuela, Pueblo Nuevo Apartado, Alajuela 1901-4050, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: ₹ 3,236 - ₹ 4,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing