We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly charming!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valley Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Valley Head B&B and Inns
Hazel Green, Alabama
1 review
“Perfectly charming!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a wonderful relaxing weekend!! We had an amazing breakfast and we WERE Not served leftovers! The french toast casserole was incredible! My husband loved the bacon!! Jim and Leslie were wonderful hosts and so welcoming. We are both huge Alabama football fans so Jim's history with Alabama football was an added bonus. We will definitley be back!!

Room Tip: There are multiple rooms depending on your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichMc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I read all the reviews of this wonderful B&B...there is one negative review...can't imagine they stayed in the same place I did. Rooms were wonderfully comfortable and restful and the breakfasts were awesome...Jim and Leslie were the consummate hosts...I cannot imagine a better place to stay...family room downstairs with flatscreen and pool table was an added plus.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ministrycreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed two nights at Winston Place and enjoyed incredible hospitality and conversation with Jim and Leslie. They made us feel like their home was our home. The accommodations were nice and with well appointed decor. Coffe on the veranda in the mornings or drinks in the evening was a treat. Living in the space where many have lived since 1831 was an incredible experience. There are many quality activities nearby which are well kept secrets,...wineries, incredible parks, arts and crafts vendors. Thank you Jim and Leslie,...you have a wonderful home. A treasure.

Room Tip: Just ask Jim or Leslie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txfoster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I went for a short getaway to Valley Head. I had selected the Winston Place because of its Alabama Football connection as well as its rich history. My husband is the history buff and I'm the Bama Football fan. We really enjoyed our stay. Both Jim and Leslie were delightful to visit with over breakfast and on the front porch in the afternoon. Leslie's parents are just wonderful and full of great stories too. I must say the highlight of our visit was when we got home and Jim had mailed my 9-year-old daughter a signed Alabama football. She was just so overjoyed. We would highly recommend the place. The breakfasts were cooked to order by both Jim and Leslie's dad. The war stories that Leslie's father shared with my husband, also in the Army, were just great. It really was just like spending a weekend with old family friends!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamaFan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Winston Place recently and we couldn’t have been more pleased. Situated in picturesque Valley Head Alabama, it provided a wonderful opportunity to relax and take in all the history and beautiful scenery. Jim and Leslie Bunch were great hosts and went out of their way to make or stay a memorable experience.

Winston Place is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of Alabama. It is located just a short drive from Little River National park which offers unbelievable views of the mountains with lots hiking trails.

Chattanooga is also close by with tons of attractions and activities to enjoy.

Minutes away is the quaint town of Mentone. We had one of the best meals I can remember at the Wildflower restaurant in Mentone one night. Not only was the food exquisite, but affordable as well.

Overall we had a wonderful experience. We will definitely return to Winston Place many times in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubbercake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valley Head
19.5 km away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
13.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
34.6 km away
Days Inn Trenton
Days Inn Trenton
#1 of 1 in Trenton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
19.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion

Property: Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion
Address: P.O. Box 165, 353 Railroad Street, Valley Head, AL 35989-0165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Valley Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valley Head
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,789 - ₹ 9,649
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Winston Place: An Antebellum Mansion Hotel Valley Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing