We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique & Cool place with Reactive management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #32 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked a garden-view room at URBN based on numbers of positive comments on TripAdvisor.
UBN is a very special and unique place, with alternative and vintage taste.
Rooms are spacious, "different" and very pleasant.
The overall atmosphere is so "cool" that sometimes, the staff gets caught into this coolness ...
On our first day, there was a small incident, which did not make us too happy! We made it known and management reacted immediately and applied corrective measures swiftly. From then on, we were fully pleased and satisfied about our stay.
Ferguson, the F&B manager deserves a particular and warm "thank you" for his customer-focused attitude and great friendliness.
If you are looking for something different, don't hesitate to try URBN !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 327 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

The rooms arr very tastefully and uniquely decorated. The staff is very attentive and genuinely caring, which more than makes up for the small trouble we were put through. The hotel has a very bizarre structure where some rooms are in between floors. This is probably due to the fact that the hotel is converted from a historical post office. However the wifi connection is very spotted in these rooms, which was the first room we were put in. We ended up getting switched to a bigger room, unfortunately the ac was not working. When we talked to the front desk about this problem, they fixed it the next day and sent us a bottle of wine to compensate for our trouble. This we appreciated very much and we would definitely stay here again when we come back. P.s. the complementary happy hour everyday from 5 to 7 is not to be missed! The goat cheese canape is a must have.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great location hotel in heart of Shanghai. If you don't like big corporate hotels then this one for you: it's relaxed , cool and very comfortable. Minimal design rooms but with all the comforts and great bathrooms. Feature bath in the room great looking but slightly incongruous with the eco image. Took me 2 days to discover the bar fridge and as I was not paying attention was slightly confused that I was on floor 2 1/2! Tried to get the manicure they advertise and reception did not know about it and tried to change some US$ and they did not have any Chinese RMB cash, maybe the downside of a small hotel. Don't order the wilted spinach and poached eggs for breakfast unless you really like a lot of garlic at breakfast! But these are small gripes and all the fun and style of the place more than made up for these. Never want to stay anywhere else in Shanghai than here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsonandthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Fab hotel - will definitely stay again. We recently stayed four nights after a couple of nights at a big name five star hotel in the Bund.

Urbn is a stylish relaxing retreat from the energy of Shangai. Only two blocks from the metro and in a nice neighbourhood - and not too far from the beautiful French concession area.

Rooms are very comfortable and appear just as photographed on the hotel's website. Lovely design including sofas/day beds you can easily fall asleep on. Vines hung down over our window which birds visited. One thing I particularly liked was that you could open a window and also hear sounds from outside - something that bugs me about big name five star hotel chains.

The restaurant is great - western style menu - and the outside courtyard is a lovely place to sit in the afternoon and enjoy snacks and a glass of wine. Breakfast menu is lovely.

The only thing I'd suggest for the hotel is that it provide four drinking water bottles per day per room for free instead of two. It can take two people more than two bottles of water to brush their teeth each day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the garden have vines falling over their windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank le_chat_gris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have been here a number of times, mainly to have lunch or dinner at the restaurant downstairs so will focus this review on the restaurant.

As for how hotel restaurants go DOWNSTAIRS which is operated by Laris group (which own a number of other popular F&B spots across Shanghai) this one is not ridiculously priced. You can expected a fusion of mainly western with some fusion chinese dishes on the menu. (The owners are Australians). One of my favourite reasons to come to this restaurant is because of the privates garden courtyard area -- perfect for a relaxing afternoon sundowner with friends or casual brunch.

A number of friends have stayed in the rooms and only have nice things to say.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jil33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,518 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#29 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,029 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#107 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 9,164 - ₹ 15,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown. A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing