We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 145
US$ 126
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 181
US$ 134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 127
US$ 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 137
US$ 122
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 163
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 80
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 326
US$ 293
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
427
154
36
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
154
36
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarbon neutral hotelrecycled materialsreclaimed wooda garden view roomthe penthousegreat designjing'an districtsmall hotelbustling cityold french concessionlounge arearooms are spacioushome away from homeroxettechinasuitcasestub
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great location hotel in heart of Shanghai. If you don't like big corporate hotels then this one for you: it's relaxed , cool and very comfortable. Minimal design rooms but with all the comforts and great bathrooms. Feature bath in the room great looking but slightly incongruous with the eco image. Took me 2 days to discover the bar fridge and as I was not paying attention was slightly confused that I was on floor 2 1/2! Tried to get the manicure they advertise and reception did not know about it and tried to change some US$ and they did not have any Chinese RMB cash, maybe the downside of a small hotel. Don't order the wilted spinach and poached eggs for breakfast unless you really like a lot of garlic at breakfast! But these are small gripes and all the fun and style of the place more than made up for these. Never want to stay anywhere else in Shanghai than here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsonandthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Fab hotel - will definitely stay again. We recently stayed four nights after a couple of nights at a big name five star hotel in the Bund.

Urbn is a stylish relaxing retreat from the energy of Shangai. Only two blocks from the metro and in a nice neighbourhood - and not too far from the beautiful French concession area.

Rooms are very comfortable and appear just as photographed on the hotel's website. Lovely design including sofas/day beds you can easily fall asleep on. Vines hung down over our window which birds visited. One thing I particularly liked was that you could open a window and also hear sounds from outside - something that bugs me about big name five star hotel chains.

The restaurant is great - western style menu - and the outside courtyard is a lovely place to sit in the afternoon and enjoy snacks and a glass of wine. Breakfast menu is lovely.

The only thing I'd suggest for the hotel is that it provide four drinking water bottles per day per room for free instead of two. It can take two people more than two bottles of water to brush their teeth each day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the garden have vines falling over their windows.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank le_chat_gris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have been here a number of times, mainly to have lunch or dinner at the restaurant downstairs so will focus this review on the restaurant.

As for how hotel restaurants go DOWNSTAIRS which is operated by Laris group (which own a number of other popular F&B spots across Shanghai) this one is not ridiculously priced. You can expected a fusion of mainly western with some fusion chinese dishes on the menu. (The owners are Australians). One of my favourite reasons to come to this restaurant is because of the privates garden courtyard area -- perfect for a relaxing afternoon sundowner with friends or casual brunch.

A number of friends have stayed in the rooms and only have nice things to say.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jil33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

the URBN hotel is a great little retreat, situated on a quiet sidestreet in a very idylic quarter of Shanghai - many bars, nice restaurants and small shops in this neighborhoos.
Thats great for people who just want to explore the "real" Shanghai for some days or those seeking a hideaway place with a special ambience.
Its slightly less ideal for business-travelers who need to get around a lot in short time, as we found taxi-drivers have trouble finding the place and its not so easy to get a taxi quickly.

Room we stayed was very spacious, had a elegant interiour deco, and as highlight a small courtyard outside and a private outside jacuzzi to relax.
very comfortable, large bed with a firm mattress and cozy pillow - great sleeping quality !

The whole hotel has a very inviting stylish ambience to it. From the lobby, bar and restaurant area to the rooms, the sweetspot of the hotel though is definitely the garden.
Given the weather is good enough its just a fantastic place to hang out and/or eat outside in the garden - places like that are rare in china.

We were lucky with the weather during our stay and had lunch there which was fantastic.
Breakfast wasnot bad either, but (probably due to the small size of the hotel) they dont have a buffet, but menus to choose from.

a great alternative hotel with a unique ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Hotel is centrally located, very easy to get around in Shanghai. Friendly staff, unique and private environment. loved the food there. great job to the F&B Manager Fergus! I will come back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariano d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews