We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrible noise. Could do a lot better than this place.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pudi Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #177 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible noise. Could do a lot better than this place.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Ultimately, this hotel represents a promising concept poorly executed. This is definitely not a good business hotel and would probably challenge some leisure travelers.

A couple of positives:

The location, on the edge of Fuxing Park, is quite nice. It is convenient to a number of business, cultural and leisure destinations in Shanghai.

The rooms are large and the style is unique. It actually looks like someone poured a fair amount of money into this place, but didn't have enough to finish it properly.

Now the negatives:
The noise from the night club in the same building was horrendous, and I am a very heavy sleeper. It didn't wind down until after 2am. I would steer clear of this place for this reason alone.

Breakfast was a joke. Very limited selection and poor quality. Enough said.

Lousy service. Check in staff was out of it when we arrived and things took much longer than necessary. No bar for a night cap. There was a small gym at the top level and a hot tub that was empty and appeared to be in disrepair.

Basically the noise issue alone merits a bad review. While the room was generously sized and interesting, the hotel did not offer enough in terms of services or amenities to even begin to redeem it.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donggei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Dear
Thank you very much for posting your comments on the Trip advisor Website.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for your unpleasent experience during your stay with us. As you have mentioned in your review that you had stayed with us on March. I am sorry that on that time we failed to cordinate with the nightclub which caused a lot of noisy, now it was completely closed and I am sure this will be no longer a problem for us.

Naturally we are keen to redeem our reputation and with this in mind may I kindly request that you contact me personally on fom@boutiquehotel.cc so that I can investigate all the issues addressed by you.

Kimi Sui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    72
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
25
59
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at the pudi park for 4 nights. Found a web special for free nights that made it seem worth the risk of an un-branded non westernized experience for our first night and our first china experience.

This is a georgous hotel, say a 4 1/2 star quality. Extremely comfortable, safe, new. The rooms are very large and the bathrooms even larger. Luxury materials, beautiful decor, custom features. Huge TV, large bar in the rooms, desk, chair. closets, built-ins, huge soaking tub. Lobby is nice, but small, top floor club floor has a nice, euro style restaurant, food was good, a bit pricey. Workout room just OK with some treadmills and a few weights. Staff was very accomodating, tried hard but made a few mistakes.

The real issue is the neighborhood. It was fine, but it was a quieter local kind of neighborhood, maybe this was a plus, but it depends on the Shanghai Experience you are looking for. It not located near the luxury malls with Louis Vuitton, Prada, Bentley, Apple, Rolex and the top western shopping experiences all around. The immediate street is very local, but certainly safe. Pluses are a great cheap massage place across the street and some decent inexpensive restaurants. One block away is a main (local) shopping street Hua Hai street, which just about a mile away turns into the main luxury shopping district with Prada etc. Cabs are very cheap and Pudi Park is close enough to where you want to go so the location is not a big issue, just more a style of experience situation. We did get around and saw other areas that had other hotels we had considered and frankly we like staying at the Pudi Park better than the other more touristy and very busy areas we traveled to.

Overall we liked the experience and thought it was a great immersion and a super value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtripster90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
On behalf of all the staff of the Pudi boutique hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post these positive comments about your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kimi Sui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Had a lovely week in this gorgeous art deco hotel in the French Concession. Next to Fuxing park it was perfect for exploring what we thought was the most interesting neighbourhood in Shanghai, but you can also easily walk to Xintiandi and the West Nanjing Road. Had a quiet, spacious corner suite on the fifth floor, huge bathroom complete with bath, and plenty of extras such as kettle with tea and coffee etc. Staff were friendly and always helpful especially George and Eric. Didn't eat in the hotel but right opposite is a sweet cafe The Boom cafe which made delicious coffees and breakfast. Nearby The Brick restaurant was also a great find. Also very close to several metro stops, the nearest is South Huangpi Rd, about five minutes walk away. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as streets can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
On behalf of all the staff of the International Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to post these positive comments about your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kimi Sui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

It can be a bit tricky to find the entrance but once you find it and get to your room, you will not be disappointed. The rooms are big and spacious and has a modern layout. The bathrooms are huge and clean.

Only drawback is the noise from neighboring karaoke bars. Make sure to get a room on one of the top floors where the problem should be less prevalent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
On behalf of all the staff of the International Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to post these positive comments about your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kimi Sui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

As a member of SLH club we were accorded a complimentary upgrade to a corner studio room for our 2 nights stay.

Pudi is a stylish 52 rooms boutique hotel in Shanghai French Concession and a short stroll to Xintiandi (dining and entertainment area). Tianzifang (maze of charming art shops, souvenirs, accessories in the old quarter) is also within walking distance.

Each room features contemporary art works by Chinese artists. Breakfast and complimentary pudi tasting (cocktail hour) is served on the 8th floor which has a charming roof terrace.

Service by its front desk and beverage staff is polite but seemingly aloof perhaps due to their lack of fluency in English.

Overall, Pudi's corner studio room is very comfortable, spacious and beautifully furnished. Breakfast spread, though not extensive, allows you to order 2 items from their ala carte western and Chinese menu. Quality is good.

We will stay here again should we return to Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimiPudihotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are currently organizing a English Training for our front office and F&B staffs. Hope there is another chance to serve you in the future.

Kimi Sui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#152 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#126 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#83 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#22 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#158 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Hotel Shanghai
URBN Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Property: Pudi Boutique Hotel
Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,653 - ₹ 14,355
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing