We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable overall”
Review of Yue Hua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yue Hua Hotel
Ranked #382 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Overall, the hotel is pretty nice. The rooms are very nice, especially the bathroom. The room with one king was a decent size. It looked clean to me. I think there are two towers, one newer with nicer rooms. I was in the original part but I still thought the rooms were nice.

On the downside, the staff service is below par. The room I stayed in had a definite smoke smell, but the fact is that's normal for many business hotels in China. I had trouble connecting to the wifi and the cable connection was slow.

Our group had lunch in one of the private meeting rooms. Overall it was pretty good quality, but I can't comment on the price since I didn't pay. The breakfast buffet was decent, with a combination of Chinese and western options. Eggs were suspiciously lacking.

Room Tip: try the newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

On my recent quest to find a great western breakfast in Fengxian, This was not it.

The price was double other hotels! and Not as good. "hot" food was luke warm. Salad bar was very week. Sorry Vegitarians. The Blue cheese was nice if your into that. Lots of "non-breakfast type" chinese breakfast food that westerners wont want to touch.

The "manager" was not willing to offer a better price in return for a new frequent customer.
His poor forsight to see the big picture is evident from many of the reviews I have read. However, 1 year ago I swore I would not go back after 3 bad experience in a row. Today (1 year later) it is a bit better, but I will not be going back. Id rather have McDonalds breakfast down the street, better value for my money I think.
Maybe I will see you in another year Yue Hua, when you finally get your act together and get some managers have the foresight and will to do whats right for the hotel and its guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is OK for the money you pay, but make sure that your expectations are in line with the price. My room smelled like fried fish and cigarette smoke. The air conditioner didn't work--hot or cold. The hotel is on a very noisy street intersection (and the Chinese drivers love to honk). The restaurants are very average and the service in them is below average.

On the plus side, the room is a decent size and the bathroom is modern and well equipped. By Western standards, this hotel is nothing more than "ok." I won't stay there again--there are other options in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street sides of the hotel and away from the game room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttommy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ikhoan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OJ_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Dapuqiao
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai
Rayfont Downtown Hotel Shanghai
#2,434 of 5,138 in Shanghai
373 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yue Hua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yue Hua Hotel

Address: No.229 Jianghai Road, Fengxian District, Shanghai 201400, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 4,022 - ₹ 4,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yue Hua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yue Hua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing