We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Run down hotel - There are better and cheaper hotels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charms Hotel
Ranked #424 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Run down hotel - There are better and cheaper hotels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I already been to Shanghai more then 10 time.
Usually I go to sleep in Nanjing hotel - The hotel is not expensive, location is great, a good bargin for his price.

This time I wanted to upgrade a little, so I checked the reviews, and decided to take this hotel, and I would like to tell why you should not do it.

I got to the hotel at nught. Once I left the taxi all the pimps offered me girls - This is central spot in Shanghai, they usually do not offer near the hotels.
I went into the hotel - Shady, feeling run down.
I made the check in, and ask for the hours of the GYM - Ohh stupid me, I expected that the GYM would be open in regular hours not from 9AM - 10:30AM, and then 17:30 to 19:00......

I finished the check in and went to the elvators - All the time girls were passing by and offering me sex services - In the hotel, not usual in hotels in Shanghai.

I went to the room, and it was freezing !! they could not open the heating before I come ?
I did not found the heating remote, so I called them. It took them 25 minutes to come when I was freezing at 0 degrees.

The room is big, but run down - The carpets are smelly, the bathroom is not so clean, in conclusion very bad.

In the morning I went to eat the "Breakfast" - Typical Chinese breakfast, but the lowest grade of Chinese breakfast. It was not fresh, or tasted good.

Yes the location is great - 5 minutes from people square, but I would not suggest you to check in for this hotel as the price does not justify the quality......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaSan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    226
    164
    42
    35
See reviews for
28
36
52
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
LionCity
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

It's just 5 minutes walk to the shopping street which is very conveninent. The single room I stayed in may be slightly small but it's clean and bright. However, it took me a while to adjust the hot and cold water taps to get the right temperature. There's a good choice of Chinese and Western food for breakfast. I would definitely stay there again given it's reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I arrived at this hotel after a long journey, and was checked in within problem or extra charge, at 9am. It's very conveniently situated for the Bund and also within walking distance of the East Nanjing metro station (on the same line as Longyang Road where the Maglev arrives).

The staff spoke good English and checkin was prompt. My room was reasonably clean but had no external window, the window looking out over the lobby area of the hotel. I disliked the fact that there were quite so many items for sale dotted around the room - underwear, perfume, etc. The room and bathroom were a reasonable size, the air conditioning worked well and the beds were comfortable. I had some work to do and the desk was useful, but I couldn't find a power point close to it, making it difficult to use the wired internet.

I thought the breakfast was very good, although there's so many places to eat in the area, I'm not sure that I'd paid for it separately (I booked what I thought to be a reasonable bed + breakfast rate through Expedia). There was a good range of Chinese and European food, plenty of reasonable coffee and the food seemed fresh.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

stayed for 1 night. the reception lounge was just ok...front counter ladies can speak very little english. the rooms are small..super hard bed...the only best thing about the hotel is the location is very near to nanjing road and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamarul_Arieffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Charms suffers from a dated decor. By the lifts going to the guest rooms, there was a massive leak in the ceiling that suddenly occurred out of nowhere while we were waiting to check in. The hotel definitely needs updating and possibly a structural check ;)

Our rooms were nicely decorated, but each room was different in shape and size. We had a super-duper air cond in the room that set the room temp to as low as 16C. We kept it at a modest 22C, but it kept on going the whole night (unlike some places in China where mysteriously it switches off for some hours in the night - centrally controlled by the hotel). The mattresses though, are rock hard. Surprisingly, I had a good night's sleep though.

There is free high speed internet - wired and wireless. Amenities are great: Fridge, complimentary water. Breakfast was decent. One of the two days we stayed there, they even had bacon cooked to order alongside eggs. The Chinese food was also very good.

Nanjing Lu/Road pedestrian area is great for shopping. It is 2 blocks away and literally a 5 min walk. There is a nice mall right across the street from the main entrance where you can get branded items. On the other side of the hotel (back entrance) is another small mall that is not immediately obvious. There are many cell phone and laptop/iPad accessories shops there, sportswear etc. Another block down from that side, is Fuzhou Road where there are many bookstores and little eateries. The hotel location is fantastic.

It's also not far from the river cruise area. It is easy to get a taxi from here or walk to a nearby subway station (10-12 mins walk).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krace168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#128 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#190 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#230 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#181 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
People’s Square
Shangfu Hotel Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian
Shangfu Hotel Shanghai Nanjing R...
#2,453 of 4,573 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charms Hotel

Property: Charms Hotel
Address: No.619 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 20001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#296 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,427 - ₹ 7,006
Hotel Class:3 star — Charms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Charms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charms Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing