We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money and centrally located!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Me and my friends stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment (June 25-june 28 – 15th floor and July 4-July 7th 23rd floor)

Positive
-clean and spacious room
-the bathroom, whereas one of the was connected to one of the bedrooms.
nice living room
-Good service, and the people at the reception could speak and understand english
- Free wifi
- Centrally located on the east side of Shanghai – Huangpu. 15 minutes walk to Nanjing Road and the metro station there (Nanjing east road metro).
- Could borrow umbrellas on rainy days – but you had to pay a deposit (you get it back when you return the umbrellas)

Negative
-No glas in the kitchen, only chinese soup bowl and plates
-Only used the pool once, as a friend of mine saw that the people that cleaned the pool spit in the pool and threw the water that they have cleaned the pool with back into the pool. UGH!!!

- Would defintiely recommend this hotel. If I ever go back, I would consider staying at this hotel again. But I would not recommend using the pool...! Unless you would like to swim in other people spit!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here for a longer time - ask for an apartment with washing machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great convenient and secure location, large rooms and bathroom. More of an apartment then a hotel, nevertheless service at the front desk was outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apatahunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is centrally located between People's Square and Old Town, and blocks away from the Dashijie subway station making the entire city readily accessible. Traveling with a group of friends from college, we booked a two-bedroom suite on hotels.com for a price that was considerably lower than most western chains that were nearby. We got an incredible amount of space and amenities for the money (full living and dining room, kitchen, nice pool/spa area, access to business center, slippers, laundry services etc.). It is true that the hotel could use some updates in some of the upper corridors, the a la carte rental of cookware is a hassle, and wi-fi in the room would have been nice, but rooms and common areas were clean and comfortable. Also, our room had a great view of the Pudong skyline at night. In our experience the staff were attentive and helpful in all parts of the hotel (housekeeping, front desk, bell staff, restaurant) and most spoke English.

I would not bother with the hotel restaurant or the breakfast packages. The food was so-so and it was quite pricey given the options. It is not a problem because there are numerous restaurants within a few blocks, and 3 nearby supermarkets to stock up on snacks and breakfast items. Also, in the morning there are tons of street vendors and bakeries in the neighborhood selling delicious items to people on their commutes and that is a much more fun experience than a western breakfast buffet.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhail384230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I booked on their website for a special , non-refundable deal for a 3 day stay in a 2 bedroom apartment; before re-reading my plane tickets and realising that I only had 2 night and not 3 nights in Shanghai! My own fault of course.
I tried to email them several times but never received any response or acknowledgement. So I arrived with at the hotel with a slightly sour taste in my mouth to start with. However, when I explained my predicament, the receptionist put me through to the sales department. The lady on the line apologised that they could not refund the third night as it was a special deal but was happy to offer us 8 free breakfasts for our family of four. I was pleased with this as the value of the breakfast was good.
It was served in a beautiful large dining room and although not massive, there was quite a good spread of both western and a few chinese choices ( my only complaint would be that there were not enough Chinese choices- in China, I would have preferred to eat more local food).
There were also a few types of juices and a egg station ( who was able to cook dh's sunny-side up eggs more perfectly than the chefs on the Royal Caribbean cruise we had just disembarked off).
The first morning, we mis-read the timing and arrived at 10am just as they were closing the breakfast buffet but they were still happy to serve us with smiles and urged us to overfill our plates as they were going to remove the buffet spread.
The apartment was large and had a large master bedroom with a king size bed and ample wardrobe space. The second bedroom was tiny and had a "single bed" but actually it was a super-single big enough for 2 teenage boys to share.
The main drawback was that there was only 1 combined bathroom and toilet. This was well-provided with toiletries and amenities including slippers, sewing kits and all other niceties. But with 4 people sharing the apartment, mornings and nights did take a long time.
There was a large sitting and dining area, the size of most normal homes.
The kitchen had a stove and microwave and there was also a large fridge in the dining area, There was also a kettle and teabags, no coffee. However, it was quite useless as it was not supplied with any cooking utensils, just a few bowls, chopsticks and mugs. Forget about pots, there was not even a knife, fork or spoon in sight. You couldn't even buy back a western style take out meal to eat in the apartment.
For short stay rooms, they would have done better to just have converted the kitchen to a second bathroom and put the microwave in the dining room.
We discovered a food street with many snack and seafood restaurants just round the corner and had a fabulous dinner at the Yunnan Dreaming restaurant there.
This hotel is very central to all the tourist attractions and we were able to walk to the Yuyuan and the bazaar in the area. Taxis were so easy to pick up and cost so little more for the 4 of us compared to a metro ticket that we did not bother to look for the metro station in the area.

I would stay there again if I visit Shanghai again with the family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment for one week, and found this hotel to be perfect for a nice Shanghai experience. The hotel is somewhat dated, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and practical. Service is good, and they always fixed our requests promptly (car service, train tickets etc), but the language barrier can give a feeling that they are brushing you off.
The Hotel is located in the middle of Shanghai with easy access to the metro, local stores and sightseeing. In addition to this we found a fantastic restaurant a few blocks from the hotel (Dreaming Yunnan Gourmet).

Services:
- The laundry service is quick and practical (75 RMB for a washing, folding and delivery of a full machine).
- Breakfast is pricy and not worth it.
- The bar is weird and overpriced, but the awkward service and weird decor is worth one visit
- Next to the hotel you'll find Party World, a popular karaoke joint. Rent a room a sing!

TLDR; Perfect hotel for a larger group interested in a big apartment in the middle of Shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 5,667 - ₹ 8,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing