We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but perfect hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment for one week, and found this hotel to be perfect for a nice Shanghai experience. The hotel is somewhat dated, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and practical. Service is good, and they always fixed our requests promptly (car service, train tickets etc), but the language barrier can give a feeling that they are brushing you off.
The Hotel is located in the middle of Shanghai with easy access to the metro, local stores and sightseeing. In addition to this we found a fantastic restaurant a few blocks from the hotel (Dreaming Yunnan Gourmet).

Services:
- The laundry service is quick and practical (75 RMB for a washing, folding and delivery of a full machine).
- Breakfast is pricy and not worth it.
- The bar is weird and overpriced, but the awkward service and weird decor is worth one visit
- Next to the hotel you'll find Party World, a popular karaoke joint. Rent a room a sing!

TLDR; Perfect hotel for a larger group interested in a big apartment in the middle of Shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 249 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have lodged in better known hotels in Shanghai, including the Marriott at Tomorrow Square and the Grand Hyatt on top of the Jin Mao Tower, but when it comes to value for my dollars, I always think of New Harbour Hotel and Service Apartments. I have stayed there on a number of occasions, ranging from a few days to a month, so I feel confident in writing a reliable review. First, be honest about it, New Harbour does not have the twinkles and glitters of a five-star establishment. It will not elicit any wows and awes. But if one just wants clean, comfortable, conveniently located modern accommodation for a modest price, I could not imagine a better choice. Its housekeeping is superb, too, and is comparable to any first-rate hotels. My preference is the Deluxe Executive Suite, which is actually the same as its two-bedroom apartment, but with one of the bedrooms refurnished as a simple office (a bookcase, desk and chair). It also has a spacious living room, a small kitchen and a dinning area. My unit also has a combined washer and dryer that is indispensable for a long stay. (Not every suite has it.) For all those, including service charge, I paid approximately US$3,700 a month in April 2011. There was no extra charge for its internet connection. To obtain the monthly rate, I found it necessary to contact the reservation department directly after first booking through their website.

What I like New Harbour best is its location. Even though it is on a side street, partially hidden by some lilongs (traditional Shanghai housing blocks), it is only a short walk to a major subway station, various bus stops, the People’s Square, and the old and new shopping districts in Shanghai. Take a look inside the lilongs if you can because that’s a way of life fast retreating from the urban scene of Shanghai.

Taxis? Taxis are everywhere and cheap. Just raise your hand and you’ll get one. For quick cash, Citi Bank is nearby. There are all sorts of local eateries in the immediate area, not to mention the ubiquitous McDonald’s and Starbucks. Across from the hotel is a noodle and dumpling house that traces its origin back to the time of the last imperial dynasty. On the way to the subway station is a roadside vendor who makes shaobings (sesame pancakes) in a makeshift oven that are popular with the morning commuters. Western tourists seem to prefer a couple of cafes in the same vicinity that serve cappuccinos and French pastries.

Lest I forget, just around the corner from New Harbour, is a street lined with boutiques, both upstairs and downstairs, specializing in acoustic instruments. Be it a Chinese dizi flute or a Steinway grand piano, they have it. And on those moments when pampering yearns, The House of Roosevelt is just 10-minute by taxi away, where one may indulge himself or herself in fine wines, chic western cuisines and a magnificent view of the Bund on its Sky Restaurant and Bar (cleverly called, Lust, Caution Restaurant and Bar, in Chinese as in the title of Ang Lee’s 2007 movie).

Being a retired sociology professor, I found the location of New Harbour offers an exceptional vantage point on the every life of the average citizenry in Shanghai – both the fast fading past and the emerging future. You can feel you are in the vortex of this great social change.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My friend and I decided to book this service apartment for a weekend in Shanghai as we each had our child with us. We reserved the 2 bedroom apartment which has a room with a 'large bed' and another one with a 'single size bed' and thought we could always get an extrabed if need be. It turned out that there were a queen sizebed and an extra large single bed so we didn't need any extrabed. The room was old, although very well kept - parquet floor was clean, sheets and towels smelled fresh and not musty. The kitchen was useful and there was enough storage for those who stay longer. The only setback was there was only one bathroom/toilet and not even separated. The breakfast was really great. The restaurant had obviously just been refurbished very tastefully, and we were very impressed with the quality of food. The receptionists spoke good English and were very helpful and friendly. I will definitely recommend this hotel to budget travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaliTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Second time staying at the New Harbour Serviced Apartments. The one bed-room was spacious. The AC made everything cool and the bed was comfortable. The place has a great, great pool and a fitness center. Stores close by and the mall is a 10 minute walk. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StevefromJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. Took the Maglev to the Longyang Road and then taxi to here..cost 55 yaun.. Room was nice with a big TV . Kitchen was very handy with Fridge keeping our beer cool.Wired Internet available in room..free.. Nice pool on 3rd floor. Supermarket opposite for supplies .Used a lovely pastry shop on the way to the Metro for Breakfast.

Get your sim card from the China Mobile shop next door ..remember to take your passport.Nice pub attached to hotel..Cracking waitress in their..Dont tell my Mrs!!

A bit far from the Bund. But 5 mins to the Metro station or use the Taxi's..

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevethemook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 5,667 - ₹ 8,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing