We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had 3 bedroom apartment for 5 days and initially I was a bit disappointed in the hotel-its slightly tired, liitle musty at first , no pots , no cutlery ,no toaster ,no jug BUT it is China and its good no matter where one travels you need to be flexible and creative!!

We hired a frypan for 2RMB- you can do a lot in a frypan, there is a hot/cold water dispenser machine ( we usually travel with mugs for coffee/tea and a knife /spoon),supermarkets are everywhere and close , unit is very clean ,quiet ,spacious and best of all in a GREAT location .
We could walk everywhere -the Bund,Nanjing Road,Shanghai Times Square etc Metro is easy, cheap and close by .
The staff were pleasant and helpful where possible ..usually there was someone with a good understanding of English. They organised our train tickets for us and wrote addresses in Mandarin for taxis.

We had one meal there ...pretty underwhelming - but it is Shanghai and there is fabulous food everywhere ,so explore and eat out !
By the end of our Shanghai time, New Harbour had become our comfortable home .
Regards,
Fran

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FranNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for New Harbour Service Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 257 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the New Harbour Serviced Apartment for five nights in early May. My family took two apartments (a one bedroom apartment on the 9th floor and a two bedroom apartment on the 17th floor). Both apartments were large and had a lot of natural light. The 9th floor one bedroom apartment was in need of renovation, the furnishings were quite worn and the walls and fittings showed signs of use/age. The 17th floor two bedroom apartment was in much better condition and had a full kitchen. Both units had ample storage space and come with water tanks with potable water. If possible try to get a room overlooking the park and People's Square.

Housekeeping was good, but the bedding was not changed until we requested it (day 4!). Shanghai is a beautiful but grimy city (air quality and pollution) - sheets need to be changed more often.

We had the hotel breakfast one morning (85 rmb per person). The breakfast was very good, but breakfasts can be found at much lower prices since the hotel is so centrally located.

Front desk service was poor, with staff often not speaking English. Probably what was most disconcerting was the laughing that ensued amongst the front desk staff while I was trying to make my requests understood (ie. changing the bed linens).

The hotel self-service laundry, located on the third floor, is a gem. For the cost of 25 rmb (which includes soap), you can do a full load of laundry.

The hotel is well located, and is a five minute walk to the subway. The subway is an amazing value, with local trips costing 3 yuan (about 50 cents). We used the subway to get from the airport to the hotel (7 yuan or $1.15) - the trips takes a little over an hour allowing for transfer between lines. The taxis costs between 150 and 200 yuan for the same journey and takes about thirty minutes.

We would consider staying at the New Harbour Service Apartments again. The location and price are too good to pass up.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dalight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Even though I last stayed in New Harbour in 2010, I've had the pleasure of calling and negotiating with David Ding and he has given great service each time.

The rooms we stayed in were long-term leases meaning that washing machines were included.

They weren't huge, but they were fine. The best part is that New Harbour is so close to Dashijie subway station, and 15 minutes walk down to the Bund.

I really recommend this as a basic, easy and Western-friendly hotel for business trips, families or anyone who wants a bit more than the local backpackers.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if it's a smoking floor or not, if you're a non-smoker.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mob_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed 3nights here, room is clean and well kept. Staff service is fine. Rather home-like feeling with kitchen. There's only shower gel, got to prepare shampoo yourself. This type is good for business usage or family with more members where you can stay together.
Rather close to MTR station in 5mins walking distance, very convenient.
If you bring only iPad, then only 1/f & 2/F got wi-fi to use. In-room got cable for internet.

If girls coming here alone would best have a company.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

With 3 adults and 2 children we booked the 3 bedroom apartment. Although the building is quite old for Chinese standards it is well maintained. The decoration is simple and practical. Don't think about cooking in the kitchen because there are no utensils for short-stay guests.
The swimming pool was frequently visited by us.
A bit annoying was the fact that the apartement sleeps 5 but only 4 towels etc. were available, The staff did not do the math to correct it. Breakfast ok, although a bit expensive for the choice offered.
The location is dead in the middle between bund, old town, Huaihai road and people square. Quite a bit of the old Shanghai streets can be found close by.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBObackNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 5,793 - ₹ 8,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing