We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Harbour Service Apartment is in a block between Yongshou, East Jingling, Guanxi and Ninghai roads.It is just a couple of blocks from Dashijie Metro, 5 minutes to People's Square, 10 minutes to the mayhem of East Nanjing Road, and 15 minutes walk to the Bund.
New Harbour is a 28 story building, I a one bedroom executive apartment No 2603, with small kitchen (utensils for either Western-style or Chinese cooking have to be rented extra for a small charge), large dining/living area, small office space and double bedroom. All very spacious and with great views from all windows over People’s Square and westward along the elevated (East and Middle) Yan’an Road toward Jing’an and the French Concession.Also great view of the Marriott on Tomorrow Square.
Around the hotel there are still many of the traditional low-rise buildings, with little shops, street vendors and narrow lanes criss-crossing these blocks. The view from number 2603 may not last forever - developers are always on the look-out for more space, but for now it's great.
There is a restaurant on the second floor, serving Chinese and Western-style breakfast and (mainly) Chinese cuisine for dinner. On the same floor is a small gym, a pool and sauna. The business Centre provides PCs and printers. Internet connection in my room was fast and reliable (unfortunately WiFi in my room didn't work but a cable was provided and there was no extra charge).
Off the ground-floor lobby there is a small and friendly bar (ASKA Bar), which is open to about 2am (and serves cold beer - not always the norm in Shanghai)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 277 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

This calls itself a serviced apartment - but basically it is a hotel room that comprises a sitting room, three bedrooms, two bathrooms and something that is supposed to be a kitchen. Our bedrooms were nice but comprised two double beds and a single (as advertised) when surely most guests would rather have had a double bed and three singles...

The kitchen was the disappointment - it had no cooking equipment rendering it all but useless. It did have a fridge - handy for beer and yoghurt - a couple of bowls and a couple of plates. There was also free hot water for tea and cold bottled water in a bubbler. The room had internet access but only with a cable - no wifi - which was useless for our Ioads and Ipods. The only wifi was in the hotel lobby.

The rooms were large and the views were great. The sitting room was large and comfortable but the dining table only had four chairs - for a room that was supposed to sleep five.

The hotel offered very expensive, very ordinary breakfast. There was also a swimming pool which was reasonable but didn't have any water shallow enough for a non-swimming child. On the positive side, though, the staff did find a rubber ring for him to use.

The location is fab - quiet enough but within easy walk of excellent restaurants, ATM machines, supermarkets, a metro station and the bus station. It is also walkable to the gardens and The Bund. I would happily go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Check in took a while but understandable since we were a group of 20. We booked 3 BR apartments and they were big and the furnishing was good. There are English channels on cable TV and that was a plus. Very close to eating places and groceries etc... The cab was not too familiar with the place so we were a bit delayed but got there eventually. Front desk can speak English well enough, not too friendly but willing to answere questions. We would stay again I suppose given the price was pretty reasonable when we booked and has lots of eateries close by :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Really great hotel with attentive service, right near all the action - you can walk everywhere. We were a couple with my mother and the 2-bedroom serviced apartment was a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here twice. At the end of March 2012 and then again again second week in April 2012 as we found the location, facilities and value for money unbeatable. We traveled for business purpuses (and a bit pleasure) as 2 adults and 2 children (11 & 13) and found the 2 bedroom apartment fantastic.

The apartment had a small kitchenette which did not have any cooking utensils or cutlery. Just a Microwave and hot water boiler. This was absolutely sufficient for us as we only used it for tea and coffee. Not much point in cooking yourself if you can go out for dinner and feed the family for about USD15.-.

Free broadband cable connection in the rooms and free WIFI in the reception area and breakfast buffet room. 2 TV's, but we found only 3 English channels out of the 50 or so. But who cares. Great heated swimming pool which we have been looking for to use every single day but we have been so busy every day that at the time we came home to the hotel it was at closing time (9.30pm)

Breakfast room was a stunner, with huge tables and massive chairs, more like a lounge. Choice of food was more on the western side and for RMB88.- per person/day (about USD14.-) it was the most expensive we paid in China but we could not complain because it was convenient.

Location was great, subway about 2 min walk away and all taxi rides are cheap as chips. Most staff spoke some English with the reception having three staff which could understand pretty much everything.

If you need a china SIM card, there is a big China Mobile office in the next building which provides you with a Chinese mobile number within 15min. No passport or credit card was required.
WARNING - Don't buy SIM cards at the Airport as you don't know when they expire. We bought two SIM cards in the China Mobile shop to stay in contact in case we got lost and for 3 weeks I didn't even use RMB50.- and I used mine extensively for business.

First time we stayed on the 5th floor and the second time on the 15th and both times it was very quite and we had no problems with noise.

When we visit Shanghai again, we will certainly try to book a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#63 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 354 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: ₹ 6,426 - ₹ 9,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing